Corporate Social Responsibility at the heart of La Francophonie in Kinshasa


The speakers, including Ms. Carole Robert

Each year, countries around the world celebrate the French language.

In Kinshasa, Canada united this celebration of Francophone legacies and culture with a modern take on Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) as it relates to resource development in the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) is a country with great mining potential. Many foreign companies, several of which are Canadian, make use of its natural resources. And yet, many populations close to the mining areas live in great poverty.

It was with this in mind that the Canadian Embassy organized a conference-debate to discuss "Corporate Social Responsibility: From theory to practice".

According to Senator Flungu, President of the Commission on Natural Resources, the notion of social responsibility remains ambiguous in the DRC’s current Mining Code, as the scope and breadth of the mining companies’ obligations are unclear.

The event was designed not only to improve the Congolese public's understanding of CSR but also to promote Canadian companies as sensitive, experienced and responsible partners who contribute to the development of local communities.

Exhibits were presented by Congolese experts in the field and by one Canadian woman who brought a very promising perspective to the table. The audience was able to hear Senator Flore Flungu; the Director of the NGO South African Resources Watch; and the Head of the Legal Department of the Mining Registry that, among other things, handles the distribution of lands for prospection and exploitation. Ms. Carole Robert, founder of the Canadian NGO Biotechnology for Sustainable Development in Africa, closed the presentation with a case study of practical and sustainable CSR implementations.

The diverse audience—ambassadors, international organizations, a former deputy prime minister, business leaders, union and civil society members, senior public administration representatives, academics, as well as media representatives—not only listened to the presentations with interest, but participated actively in the lively debate that followed.   

The event brought together Francophone economic and social concerns in one package that is sure to spark continuing conversations in the future. Canada is committed to fostering economic prosperity and responsible resource development in the DRC and around the world.

La responsabilité sociale des entreprises au cœur de la Francophonie à Kinshasa


Les conférenciers, dont Mme Carole Robert

Chaque année, des pays du monde entier rendent hommage à la langue française.

Lors de la célébration de ce patrimoine et de cette culture francophones à Kinshasa, le Canada a introduit le concept contemporain de la responsabilité sociale d’entreprise (RSE) qui est étroitement lié au développement des ressources en République démocratique du Congo.

La République démocratique du Congo (RDC) est un pays au potentiel minier immense. Un grand nombre d’entreprises étrangères, dont plusieurs canadiennes, exploitent ses ressources naturelles. Pourtant, bien des habitants des secteurs miniers vivent dans la misère.

C’est avec cette situation à l’esprit que l’ambassade du Canada a organisé une conférence-débat autour de la « Responsabilité sociale des entreprises : de la théorie à la pratique. »

Selon le président de la Commission des ressources naturelles du Sénat, M. Fungu Musendu, la notion de responsabilité sociale est pour le moins ambigu dans le Code minier de la RDC, car l’étendue et l’ampleur des obligations des entreprises minières n’y sont pas clairement définies.

La conférence-débat visait à sensibiliser le public congolais à la RSE, mais également à faire la promotion des entreprises canadiennes comme des partenaires sensibles, expérimentés et responsables qui contribuent au développement des collectivités locales.

Des spécialistes congolais du domaine ont présenté leurs arguments, et une conférencière canadienne a soulevé un point de vue très prometteur. L’auditoire a pu entendre le sénateur Flore Musendu Flungu, le directeur de l’ONG South African Resources Watch et le chef du département juridique du Registre des Mines qui, entre autres attributions, s’occupe de la répartition des droits de prospection et d’exploitation. Mme Carole Robert, fondatrice de l’ONG canadienne Biotechnologie pour le développement durable en Afrique, a conclu la présentation avec une étude de cas sur la mise en œuvre pratique et durable de la RSE.

Un public diversifié – ambassadeurs, organismes internationaux, un ancien vice-premier ministre, dirigeants d’entreprise, membres de la société civile et du milieu syndical, cadres de la fonction publique, universitaires, et représentants des médias – s’est montré intéressé par les exposés et a pris une part active au débat passionné qui a suivi.  

La soirée a mis en lumière des préoccupations économiques et sociales au sein de la francophonie sur un sujet qui va certainement susciter d’autres conversations à l’avenir. Le Canada est résolu à favoriser la prospérité économique et l’exploitation responsable des ressources en RDC et dans le monde.