Bookmark and Share

Human rights take centre stage in Kinshasa


Ados Ndombasi and Christiana Tabora performing in the play Helen’s Necklace.
   

View of the stage for the play The Ventriloquist.
   

The Canadian Embassy in Kinshasa joined forces with the artistic director of Toronto’s Theatre Asylum, Jennifer H. Capraru, for a dramatic reading of excerpts of Canadian plays chosen for their universal themes of peace, the search for identity, and poverty.

As the Democratic Republic of Congo works toward post-conflict development and reconstruction, many stakeholders focus their advocacy efforts through conferences and roundtables. In addition to these more traditional opportunities for dialogue, the Embassy decided to experiment with a new approach to discussing the importance of democratic principles, respect for the rule of law and the value of human rights.

Recognized for her artistic engagement in humanist and social debates, particularly in Rwanda, where she founded the ISôKO company (www.isoko-rwanda.org), Ms. Capraru worked with recognized Congolese actors to present these excerpts of Canadian plays to representatives from civil society and human rights organizations.

The event also premiered the work of Wajdi Mouawad, Carole Fréchette, Michel Tremblay and Larry Tremblay in Kinshasa, all of which stimulated political and cultural discussions with everyone in attendance.  The Embassy hopes that these new approaches to advocacy will strengthen Canada’s ties with the Congolese community.

Ms. Capraru’s stay in Kinshasa was made possible by a grant from the Canada Council for the Arts.

Bookmark and Share

Les droits de la personne à l’avant-scène à Kinshasa 


Ados Ndombasi et Christiana Tabora jouant dans la pièce « Le Collier d’Hélène » / Ados Ndombasi and Christiana Tabora performing in the play Helen’s Necklace.
   

Vu de la scène de la pièce « Le ventriloque »
   

L’ambassade du Canada à Kinshasa et la directrice artistique du Théâtre Asylum de Toronto, Jennifer H. Capraru, ont uni leurs forces lors d’une lecture d’extraits de pièces d’auteurs canadiens choisies pour leurs thèmes de portée universelle – la paix, la recherche de son identité, la pauvreté.

La République démocratique du Congo est actuellement en phase de reconstruction et de développement après de multiples conflits meurtriers. De nombreux intervenants concentrent leurs efforts autour de conférences et de tables rondes. Outre ces interventions classiques en faveur du dialogue, l’ambassade a décidé d’adopter une nouvelle approche pour aborder certaines questions comme l’importance des principes démocratiques, le respect de la primauté du droit et la reconnaissance des droits de la personne.

Connue pour son engagement artistique dans les grands débats humanistes et sociaux, particulièrement au Rwanda où elle a fondé la compagnie théâtrale ISôKO (www.isoko-rwanda.org), Mme Capraru a collaboré avec des acteurs congolais pour présenter ces extraits de pièces canadiennes à des représentants de la société civile et des organismes de défense des droits de la personne.

Ce fut l’occasion de présenter pour la première fois à Kinshasa des créations de Wajdi Mouawad, Carole Fréchette, Michel Tremblay et Larry Tremblay – un événement qui a suscité des discussions d’ordre politique et culturel entre tous ceux qui y ont assisté. L’ambassade espère que ce type d’approche renforcera les liens entre le Canada et la société congolaise.

Le séjour de Jennifer Capraru à Kinshasa a été rendu possible grâce à une subvention du Conseil des Arts du Canada.