Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

costarica.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Canada serves up culinary delights in Costa Rica

Ambassador McKay converses with the Costa Rican Trade Minister.
 
Ambassador McKay converses with the Costa Rican Trade Minister.

Costa Rican consumers now have the opportunity to enjoy the finest Canadian beef at their tables. To mark the arrival of Canadian beef to Costa Rican markets, Canadian Ambassador Cameron MacKay hosted a culinary celebration at the official residence in San José. The event, dubbed Savour Canada, featured the renowned Chef Edgar Alvarez and an impressive menu focussing on various Canadian agricultural products.

Ambassador McKay and Chef Edgar Alvarez whip up a tasty Canadian creation.
Ambassador McKay and Chef Edgar Alvarez whip up a tasty Canadian creation.
   

In addition to Canadian beef, attendees – who included international buyers, media representatives, and Costa Rican government officials –  sampled dishes made from pork, maple syrup, canola oil, wheat, beans, peas and lentils.

“Canada produces some of the best beef in the world and our beef producers continue to deliver the taste and quality that keeps customers coming back for more,” said Ambassador MacKay. “This excellent quality starts with the finest livestock, raised in Canada’s clean, natural environment and nourished with quality feed.”

Ambassador McKay and Chef Edgar Alvarez put on a show to demonstrate the diverse culinary applications of Canadian food products.
Ambassador McKay and Chef Edgar Alvarez put on a show to demonstrate the diverse culinary applications of Canadian food products.
   

The arrival of Canadian beef is indeed cause for celebration in Costa Rica, as it is much sought after by the tourism and retail industries in many Latin American markets. In 2010, Canada-Costa Rica agricultural trade was valued at US$265.3 million. And with the introduction of Canadian beef to Costa Rica, this successful – and tasty – relationship is bound to continue.

>> Read and share more stories about Canada’s activities around the world - follow Eyes Abroad.

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-08-08

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

costarica.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Le Canada sert des délices culinaires au Costa Rica

L’ambassadeur McKay s’entretient avec le ministre du Commerce costaricain.
 
L’ambassadeur McKay s’entretient avec le ministre du Commerce costaricain.

Les consommateurs costaricains ont maintenant la possibilité de profiter du bœuf canadien le plus raffiné qui soit à leurs tablées. Pour souligner l’arrivée du bœuf canadien sur les marchés costaricains, l’ambassadeur canadien Cameron MacKay a organisé une célébration culinaire à la résidence officielle de San José. L’évènement, surnommé Savourez le Canada, mettait à l’honneur le chef de renom Edgar Alvarez et un impressionnant menu insistant sur les divers produits agricoles canadiens.

L’ambassadeur McKay et le chef Edgar Alvarez confectionnent une création canadienne succulente.
L’ambassadeur McKay et le chef Edgar Alvarez confectionnent une création canadienne succulente.
   

En plus du bœuf canadien, les convives – parmi lesquels se trouvaient des acheteurs internationaux, des représentants des médias et des élus du gouvernement costaricain – ont goûté à des plats faits de porc, de sirop d’érable, d’huile de canola, de blé, de fèves, de pois et de lentilles.

« Le Canada produit l'une des meilleures viandes de bœuf du monde et nos producteurs de bœuf continuent d’offrir la saveur et la qualité qui incitent les clients à revenir de plus belle », a déclaré l’ambassadeur MacKay. « Cette qualité supérieure prend racine dans le bétail le plus raffiné qui soit, élevé dans l’environnement propre et naturel qu’offre le Canada et nourri d’aliments de qualité. »

L’ambassadeur McKay et le chef Edgar Alvarez en mettent plein la vue pour montrer les diverses applications culinaires des produits alimentaires canadiens.
L’ambassadeur McKay et le chef Edgar Alvarez en mettent plein la vue pour montrer les diverses applications culinaires des produits alimentaires canadiens.
   

L’arrivée du bœuf canadien est, en fait, la cause de la célébration au Costa Rica, puisqu’il est un produit couru des industries touristique et de vente au détail sur de nombreux marchés latino-américains. En 2010, le commerce agricole Canada-Costa Rica se chiffrait à 265,3 millions de dollars US. Et avec l’avènement du bœuf canadien en sol costaricain, ce lien fructueux – et savoureux – a bien des chances de se prolonger.

>> Pour en savoir plus sur les activités du Canada à l’étranger ou raconter les vôtres, Coup d’œil sur le monde

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2011-08-08