Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

costarica.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Embassies in Costa Rica and Panama Unite for Women’s Rights

Bookmark and Share


Kimberley Bautista (left) presented her documentary on violence against women in the region.
   

Ambassador Sylvia Cesaratto discusses the issue at the Embassy in Panama.
   


Canadian Ambassador Wendy Drukier, highlighted Canada’s role as one of the first countries to sign and ratify the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women.
   

According to the World Health Organization, one in every three women is a victim of gender violence.

A 2012 report by the Inter-American Commission of Women (CIM) indicates that in Latin America, many women are killed just because they are women, and that in some cases this issue is so serious that it reaches “close to pandemic levels". 

Laws targeting offenders and combatting femicides have only just begun to be approved in a select number of countries, while others who already have laws in place have difficulty in putting them into practice.

Canada was one of the first countries to sign and ratify the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women, which set international standards for the elimination of gender discrimination.

With this in mind, the Embassies to Costa Rica and Panama united to bring award-winning Colombian-Irish-American film director Kimberly Bautista to both countries to present her documentary Justice for my Sister.

Canada is committed to making a difference for women’s rights in Latin American countries and around the world.  

Costa Rica and Panama: Shared Solutions for a Shared Problem

The Panamanian Observatory against Gender Violence indicated that from 2009 until mid-2013, 290 women died in a violent way, of which 187 were considered femicide. The figure has already risen this year to an increase of 15 deaths over the same period in 2012. 

In October of 2013, Panama passed a law which criminalizing violence against women; but it is too soon yet to measure its effectiveness. 

In Costa Rica, authorities received on average 222 reports of domestic or gender violence each day of 2011. The number of femicides had increased consistently over the past three decades.

Although the Costa Rican government and local NGOs have a wide range of support and prevention programs for children, youth and women, prompt justice and protection for those who report abuse continues to be an issue.

Documenting Violence and Advocating for Accountability

Justice for my Sister won “Best Feature Film Documentary” in the 2013 Icaro Festival in Guatemala, and was also awarded “Best Documentary" at the International Latino Film Festival in Los Angeles and “Best Foreign Film" at the International Film Festival in Nevada. 

Bautista’s documentary, narrated by famous Mexican actress Kate del Castillo, tells the true story of Guatemalan Adela, 27, who left home one day to work and never returned. Her ex-boyfriend beat her beyond physical recognition and left her lying at the side of a road. 

This story is common in Guatemala, where 6000 women have been murdered in the last decade and only 2% of murderers were convicted. The story revolves around Adela’s older sister, Rebeca, who is determined to see that the murderer is identified and charged for his actions.

In Costa Rica, the Canadian Embassy partnered with the Dutch Embassy to put together the program, while Panama partnered with UNWomen and L’Alliance Francaise. The presentations coincided with Human Rights Day and Canada’s National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence against Women.

After each film screening, Bautista made herself available for questions and answers.

Bautista’s story captivated the audience, many of whom raised questions to the filmmaker regarding the challenges of the justice system in Central American countries. Others requested more details on the current reality of Adela’s family, and many took advantage of the space to discuss their own concerns with this issue in their communities.

Documentaries like Bautista’s and events like those hosted at the Canadian Embassies to Panama and Costa Rica provide opportunities for women and their advocates to come together to address shared challenges.

Footer

Date Modified:
2014-02-21

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

costarica.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Ambassades au Costa Rica et au Panama unies pour défendre les droits des femmes

Partagez et faite un signet


Kimberley Bautista (à gauche) a présenté son documentaire sur la violence faite aux femmes dans la région.
   

L’ambassadrice Sylvia Cesaretto discute de la question à l’ambassade au Panama. 
  


L’Ambassadeure du Canada Wendy Drukier a souligné le rôle du Canada comme l’un des premiers pays à signer et ratifier la Convention sur l'élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l'égard des femmes.
   

Selon l’Organisation mondiale de la santé, une femme sur trois est victime de violence.

Un rapport publié en 2012 par la Commission interaméricaine des femmes (CIM) indique qu’en Amérique latine, un grand nombre de femmes sont tuées uniquement parce qu’elles sont des femmes et que, dans certains cas, cette situation atteint « des proportions presque pandémiques ».

On commence à peine, dans quelques pays, à adopter des lois pour traduire en justice les agresseurs et lutter contre le fémicide, tandis que dans d’autres pays où de telles lois sont déjà en vigueur, il est difficile de les appliquer.

Le Canada a été l’un des premiers pays à signer et ratifier la Convention sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l’égard des femmes, qui a établi des normes internationales visant l’élimination de la discrimination fondée sur le sexe.

Dans cette optique, les ambassades au Costa Rica et au Panama ont uni leurs efforts et invité la cinéaste colombienne-irlandaise-américaine Kimberly Bautista à présenter dans ces deux pays son documentaire Justice for my Sister (Justice pour ma sœur).

Le Canada s’est engagé à favoriser les droits des femmes dans les pays d’Amérique latine et partout dans le monde.

Costa Rica et Panama : des solutions communes pour un problème commun

Selon l’Observatoire panaméen contre la violence sexiste, entre 2009 et le milieu de 2013, 290 femmes ont connu une mort violente, dont 187 par fémicide. Ce chiffre continue de croître cette année, montrant une augmentation de 15 morts en comparaison de la même période en 2012.

En octobre 2013, le Panama a adopté une loi criminalisant la violence faite aux femmes, mais il est encore trop tôt pour mesurer son efficacité.

Au Costa Rica, les autorités ont reçu en moyenne 222 signalements de violence conjugale ou sexiste par jour en 2011. Le nombre de fémicides a augmenté constamment au cours des trois dernières décennies.

Bien que le gouvernement costaricain et les ONG locales aient mis en place de nombreux programmes de soutien et de prévention pour les enfants, les jeunes et les femmes, la lenteur du processus judiciaire et la protection des plaignants continuent de poser problème.

Documentation de la violence et promotion de la responsabilisation

Justice for my Sister a remporté le prix du « meilleur long métrage documentaire » au Festival Ícaro, au Guatemala, ainsi que celui du « meilleur documentaire » à l’International Latino Film Festival de Los Angeles et du « meilleur film étranger » à l’International Film Festival du Nevada.

Le documentaire de Mme Bautista, dont la narration est effectuée par la célèbre actrice mexicaine Kate del Castillo, raconte l’histoire vécue d’Adela, une Guatémaltèque de 27 ans qui est partie de chez elle un matin pour aller travailler et n’est jamais revenue. Son ex-petit ami l’a battue à mort et a laissé son corps méconnaissable sur le bord du chemin.

Une telle histoire est chose courante au Guatemala, où 6 000 femmes ont été tuées au cours de la dernière décennie et où seulement 2 % des meurtriers ont été condamnés. Le film raconte l’histoire de la sœur aînée d’Adela, Rebeca, résolue à voir le meurtrier identifié et jugé pour ses actes.

Au Costa Rica, l’ambassade du Canada s’est jointe à l’ambassade des Pays-Bas pour organiser le programme, tandis que celle de Panama s’est associée à ONU Femmes et à l’Alliance française. La présentation a coïncidé avec la Journée des droits de la personne et la Journée nationale de commémoration et d’action contre la violence faite aux femmes du Canada.

Après chaque projection du film, Mme Bautista s’est prêtée aux questions de l’auditoire.

L’histoire racontée par Mme Bautista a captivé les spectateurs, dont plusieurs ont questionné la cinéaste au sujet des lacunes du système judiciaire dans les pays d’Amérique centrale. D’autres voulaient en savoir davantage sur la réalité actuelle de la famille d’Adela, et bon nombre ont profité de cette tribune pour exprimer leurs propres préoccupations à l’égard de cet enjeu au sein de leurs propres communautés.

Les documentaires comme celui de Mme Bautista et les événements comme ceux organisés aux ambassades canadiennes au Panama et au Costa Rica donnent aux femmes et à leurs défenseurs l’occasion d’unir leurs voix pour faire face à des défis communs.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2014-02-21