Canadian Embassy in Costa Rica

The Canadian Embassy in San José has overall Consular responsibility for the Canadian Embassies in the Republic of Honduras and the Republic of Nicaragua.

The Canadian Embassy is located in Sabana Sur:
Behind the “Contraloría” in the
Oficentro Ejecutivo La Sabana
Building 5, Third floor
Map (IMG 26 KB)

Postal address:
Canadian Embassy
PO Box: 351-1007, Centro Colón
San José, Costa Rica

(506) 2242-4400

(506) 2242-4410 - Administration, Assistance to Canadians (Consular), Public Affairs
(506) 2242-4411 – Political Affairs
(506) 2242-4415 – Commercial Affairs


Hours of operation –  Consular section (Assistance to Canadian citizens)

Monday to Friday from 8:00 am to 12:00 pm only.

The Consular Section provides assistance to Canadians who are in difficulties and also offers services linked to passports, Canadian citizenship and legalization of documents.  More detailed information on consular services offered can be found at

Notary services (authentication of signatures – general, power of attorney, travel authorization for minors and others) by appointment only.

The Consular Section does not provide information about immigration or visas to Canada.  Please visit

Hours of operation –  Other sections

Monday to Thursday from 8:00 AM to 12:00 and from 12:40 to 4:00 PM. Friday from 7:30 AM to 1:00 PM.

Telephone: (506) 2242-4400                
Fax (Consular and passports): (506) 2242-4410

Emergency assistance outside normal business hours
(for Canadian citizens only):

Collect calls: (613) 996-8885 / (613) 944-1310 (TTY)

The Emergency Operations Center of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Trade operates 24 hours a day, 7 days a week (in English and French only). An experienced officer is always available to answer emergency calls from anywhere in the world. You can also phone the numbers above and follow the recorded instructions to communicate with the Emergency Operations Centre.

In many countries you can also call the Operations Center toll-free 24 / 7 (only in English and French).

Statutory Holidays - 2015

Our offices are closed on the following days:

January 1New Year’s Day
April 2Holy Thursday
April 3Good Friday
May 18Victoria Day
July 1Canada Day
August 3Civic Holiday
September 15Independence Day
October 12Thanksgiving Day
November 11Remembrance Day
December 25Christmas Day
December 28In lieu of Boxing Day