Canada helps girls realize their full potential in Côte d’Ivoire 

Welcoming prominent speakers at the panel discussion.
“I invite all of you to defend and protect human rights, at all levels, with determination and conviction.”
Canadian Ambassador to Côte d’Ivoire Patricia McCullagh.

Ivorian Minister for Solidarity, Family, Women and Children, Anne-Désirée Ouloto.
 

Obstetrician-gynecologist Frédérique Yavé.
 

Canada’s ambassador to Côte d’Ivoire Patricia McCullagh responds to journalists’ questions.
 

The Trapped Childhood documentary film

In partnership with the United Nations Population Fund, the Canadian Embassy organized a panel discussion on child, early and forced marriage (CEFM). 

A short documentary “The Trapped Childhood” telling the story of a young Burkinabe girl who was forced to marry a man her father’s age, was shown to raise the audience’s awareness and lay the foundations for the event. 

The film was followed by a panel discussion on CEFM from a number of different perspectives to underline that efforts are needed from all facets of communities: a senior legal officer, an obstetrician-gynecologist, a Muslim religious leader, a sociologist, and a psychologist, all presented the negative effects of CEFM on girls.  The speakers engaged in an insightful dialogue on child marriage issues, each offering perspective from their respective professions.  All participants agreed that a strategy is needed to end CEFM. 

The event saw active participation and engagement from the media, civil society organizations, UNICEF, the African Union, and government representatives. The Ivorian Minister for Solidarity, Family, Women and Children, Anne Desiree Ouloto, in her opening statement, publicly affirmed the Ivorian government’s commitment to combat CEFM. 

Working together to end child marriage 

The panel discussion helped to forge new collaboration opportunities across various organizations working to end CEFM in Côte d’Ivoire. These partnerships will help to accelerate the momentum towards ending child marriage, so that girls around the world have the opportunity to live healthy and empowered lives.

Le Canada aide les filles à réaliser leur plein potentiel en Côte d’Ivoire

Accueil des éminents conférenciers à la table ronde.
« Je vous invite tous et toutes à défendre et à protéger les droits de la personne, à tous les niveaux, avec détermination et conviction. »
Patricia McCullagh, ambassadrice canadienne en Côte d’Ivoire.

Anne-Désirée Ouloto, ministre ivoirienne de la Solidarité, de la Famille, de la Femme et de l’Enfant.
 

Frédérique Yavé, obstétricienne-gynécologue.
 

L’ambassadrice canadienne en Côte d’Ivoire Patricia McCullagh répond aux questions des journalistes.
 

Documentaire L’enfance piégée

En partenariat avec le Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population, l’Ambassade canadienne a organisé une table ronde consacrée aux mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés (MEPF).

Un court documentaire intitulé L’enfance piégée racontant l’histoire d’une jeune fille burkinabé forcée d’épouser un homme de l’âge de son père a été projeté pour sensibiliser le public et poser les bases pour l’événement.

La projection a été suivie par une discussion sur les MEPF selon des angles différents afin de souligner le fait que des efforts sont nécessaires à tous les niveaux des communautés : un juriste, une obstétricienne-gynécologue, un leader religieux musulman, un sociologue et un psychologue ont présenté tour à tour les répercussions négatives des MEPF sur les filles. Les intervenants ont mené un dialogue fructueux sur les problèmes liés au mariage d’enfants, chacun offrant la perspective spécifique à sa profession. Tous les participants ont convenu qu’une stratégie est nécessaire pour empêcher les MEPF.

Les médias, les organisations de la société civile, l’UNICEF, l’Union africaine et des représentants gouvernementaux se sont mobilisés et ont participé activement à l’événement. Dans sa déclaration introductive, la ministre ivoirienne de la Solidarité, de la Famille, de la Femme et de l’Enfant, Anne Desirée Ouloto, a publiquement affirmé la détermination du gouvernement ivoirien à combattre les MEPF.

Travaillons ensemble pour empêcher les mariages d’enfants

La table ronde a contribué à dégager de nouvelles possibilités de collaboration entre les diverses organisations qui s’efforcent de mettre fin aux MEPF en Côte d’Ivoire. Ces partenariats aideront à accélérer l’élan visant à mettre un terme au mariage d’enfants, pour que les filles du monde entier aient la possibilité de mener une vie saine et autonome.