Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

croatia.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Canada-Kosovo Relations

Kosovo declared independence from Serbia on February 17, 2008. Canada recognized Kosovo on March 18, 2008, and has since established full diplomatic relations.
In Kosovo, Canada is represented by the Embassy of Canada in Croatia.

Kosovo is in the process of determining its diplomatic and consular representation for Canada.

Bilateral relations between Canada and Kosovo are good, and show potential for continuing development as the relationship between the two countries matures. Canada is satisfied that Kosovo’s Parliament has committed itself to the protection of the rights of minorities, including its cultural and religious heritage, and notes that the country’s constitution reflects these commitments. The development of Kosovo into a democratic, multi-ethnic state that fully respects human rights is essential for peace, political stability, and economic progress in the Balkans.

In the fall of 2008, Canada deployed 5 Canadian Forces personnel to the NATO-led Kosovo Force (KFOR) to work as defence planners. Also, through the Canadian Police Arrangement (CPA), Canada will deploy up to five police experts to the EU rule of law mission (EULEX), which assists Kosovo authorities in supervising and monitoring minority rights.

Through the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), Canada has provided $135 million in development assistance to Kosovo since 1992. CIDA’s Balkans program will be phased out by 2010. In support of the planned transition of the region from a donor-recipient relationship to one that reflects broader Canadian interests, CIDA is completing its last cycle of programming in rule of law, health and education in the Western Balkans.

Trade relations: Kosovo’s economy is developing and is showing progress in the transition to a stable and market-based system.  The government is working to further improve the business environment and to attract foreign investment.

April 2009

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-11-22

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

croatie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Relations Canada-Kosovo

Le Kosovo a proclamé son indépendance de la Serbie le 17 février 2008. Le 18 mars 2008, le Canada a reconnu le Kosovo et a établi des relations diplomatiques avec ce dernier.

Au Kosovo, le Canada est représenté par l’Ambassade du Canada en Croatie.

Le Kosovo est en train d’organiser sa représentation diplomatique et consulaire au Canada.

Le Canada et le Kosovo entretiennent de bonnes relations bilatérales qui, nous l’espérons, continueront à s’intensifier au fur et à mesure que nos liens se resserreront. Le Canada se réjouit que le Parlement du Kosovo se soit engagé à protéger les droits des minorités, y compris le patrimoine culturel et religieux, et constate que la constitution du pays tient compte de ces engagements. Pour garantir la paix, la stabilité politique et la prospérité économique dans les Balkans, il est essentiel que le Kosovo devienne un État multiethnique et démocratique, qui respecte pleinement les droits de la personne.

L’automne dernier, en 2008, le Canada a déployé cinq membres des Forces canadiennes auprès de la Force pour le Kosovo (KFOR) dirigée par l’OTAN. Ceux-ci agiront à titre de planificateurs de la défense. De plus, grâce à l'Arrangement sur la police civile au Canada, nous enverrons cinq policiers spécialistes qui participeront à la mission « État de droit » de l'Union européenne au Kosovo (EULEX), dont le rôle est d’aider les autorités kosovares à faire respecter les droits des minorités.

Depuis 1992, le Canada a fournit 135 $M d’aide au développement au Kosovo par l’intermédiaire de l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI). L’ACDI prévoit supprimer le programme dans les Balkans d’ici 2010. Il est prévu que la relation donateur-bénéficiaire qui existe actuellement entre le Kosovo et le Canada se transforme en une relation qui servira davantage les intérêts canadiens. À cette fin, l’ACDI complète en ce moment le dernier cycle de sa programmation dans le domaine de la primauté du droit, de la santé et de l’éducation dans les Balkans.

Relations commerciales : L’économie du Kosovo se développe et s’apparente de plus en plus à un système de marché stable. Le gouvernement travaille fort pour améliorer le contexte commercial et attirer les investissements étrangers.

Avril 2009

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2011-11-22