Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

cuba.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Canadian Success at the 2013 Havana International Fair

Bookmark and Share


The Canadian Pavilion at FIHAV 2013
   

FIHAV map and list of participants by country
   

Attracting Attention at FIHAV 2013
   

RCMP Officer with horse at FIHAV 2013
   

Inside the Canadian Pavilion at FIHAV 2013
   

With over a million Canadians visiting Cuba every year, many are excited about the possibility of extending their stay and doing business with this warm and friendly island nation.

Those with business savvy soon learn of the Havana International Fair (FIHAV), which is the largest annual multi-sector trade fair in Cuba and a key venue for new businesses to make their mark in the last communist stronghold in the western hemisphere.

Canada and Cuba share a long history of mutually beneficial relations dating back to the 18th century. Today, Canada and Cuba continue to grow their economic and commercial relations with the help of the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service.

The 31st edition of FIHAV took place from November 3-9, 2013 and welcomed over 1,400 companies from 65 countries. Canada has had its own pavilion for over 17 years and consistently welcomes an increasing number of Canadian companies.

This year 57 Canadian exhibitors and 54 visitors participated, including representatives from the Canadian Commercial Corporation (CCC), and company delegations lead by the Government of Québec and Nova Scotia Business Inc.

FIHAV Leads the Way to Success

FIHAV is important because it gives businesses an unparalleled opportunity to access publicity, strategy and results.

Publicity through local media is very limited in Cuba and is often based on word-of-mouth. In this centralized economy, Cuban decision-makers view participation as an exhibitor in the Canadian pavilion as a strong endorsement from Canada.

Cuban buyers rarely seek new business opportunities through conventional methods like calls for bids, terms of reference or purchase orders. They select a small group of companies — often on an informal basis — that they approach individually. FIHAV is part of this selection process.

Since this year was such a success, the Canadian Embassy in Cuba will begin taking reservations for next year’s FIHAV in the spring of 2014. For more information, please contact: havan-td@international.gc.ca

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-12-17

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

cuba.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Succès du Canada à la Foire internationale de La Havane 2013

Partagez et faite un signet


Le pavillon canadien à la FIHAV 2013
   

Carte de la FIHAV et liste des participants par pays
   

Attirer l’attention à la FIHAV 2013
   

Agent de la GRC avec son cheval à la FIHAV 2013
   

À l’intérieur du pavillon canadien à la FIHAV 2013
   

Plus d’un million de Canadiens visitent Cuba chaque année, dont bon nombre envisagent la possibilité de prolonger leur séjour et de faire des affaires dans ce pays insulaire chaleureux et amical.

Les gens d’affaires avertis ne tardent pas à découvrir la Foire internationale de La Havane (FIHAV), la plus importante foire commerciale multisectorielle de Cuba et une occasion idéale pour les nouvelles entreprises de se faire connaître dans le dernier bastion communiste de l’hémisphère occidental.

Le Canada et Cuba entretiennent des relations mutuellement profitables depuis le dix-huitième siècle. De nos jours, le Canada et Cuba développent leurs relations économiques et commerciales avec l’aide du Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada.

La 31e édition de la FIHAV, qui a eu lieu du 3 au 9 novembre 2013, a accueilli plus de 1 400 entreprises de 65 pays. Le Canada a son propre pavillon depuis plus de 17 ans et y accueille un nombre sans cesse croissant d’entreprises canadiennes.

Cette année, 57 exposants et 54 visiteurs canadiens ont participé, dont des représentants de la Corporation commerciale canadienne (CCC) et des délégations d’entreprises dirigées par le gouvernement du Québec et par Entreprises Nouvelle-Écosse inc.

La FIHAV ouvre la voie du succès

La FIHAV est importante, car elle offre aux entreprises une occasion sans pareille d’obtenir publicité, stratégies et résultats.

La publicité est très limitée dans les médias locaux à Cuba et, le plus souvent, fondée sur le bouche-à-oreille. Dans cette économie centralisée, les décideurs cubains considèrent la participation des exposants au pavillon canadien comme un solide témoignage d’appui du Canada.

Il est rare que les acheteurs cubains recherchent de nouvelles occasions d’affaires en utilisant des méthodes conventionnelles comme des appels d’offres, des mandats ou des bons de commande. Ils sélectionnent plutôt un petit groupe d’entreprises – souvent de façon informelle – et communiquent avec elles individuellement. La FIHAV fait partie de ce processus de sélection.

Vu le succès de l’édition 2013, l’ambassade du Canada à Cuba commencera à prendre des réservations pour la FIHAV de l’an prochain dès le printemps 2014. Pour en savoir davantage, communiquez avec havan-td@international.gc.ca

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-12-17