Canadian Embassy Co-Sponsors Fair for People with Disabilities


Participants at the Fair


Canadian Ambassador at the Honour Table

Santo Domingo, November 29, 2013: Tha Canadian Fund for Local Initiatives in the Dominican Republic co- sponsored a day long fair at the “Plaza de la Cultura” organized by La Red Iberoamericana, as a launch activity for the project “Promoting Employability and Independent Living of disabled people”.  Red Latinoamericana,  an institution with track record providing support to disabled audiences throughout Latin America and Spain, gathered several private, non-profit and government entities including the Ministry of Public Works, Water and Sewage Authority, the  Vice President’s Office, TRICOM Telecom, the Spanish Cooperation Agency (AECID), the Dominican Association for Rehabilitation, Telecom provider, Association of Hearing Impaired and Association of Physically Impaired.

The opening act was marked by the presence of the Canadian Ambassador in the Dominican Republic, Mr. Georges Boissé, as part of a panel comprised of representatives from the Vice Presidency,  the Association for the Physically Impaired, the Dominican Federation of Disabled, Circle of Women with Disabilities, La Red and AECID.

At the event, several stands showcased products elaborated by disabled people with technical abilities. The products ranged from wooden kitchen crafts, electrical home inverters, cleaning aides and general artistry. Also, simultaneously, an exchange took place between several disabled people associations and current employers of people with disability where examples were illustrated on current disabled professionals working for institutions like the Ministry of Public works as engineers and managers.

The School for Hearing Impaired of Santa Ana manifested its intent to distribute throughout the fair 25 resumes from disabled professionals in areas of architecture, business administrations, engineering and various others. Since 2009, La Red spearheads a Job Placement Exchange (SIL) which to date has placed close to 82 individuals in formal job positions.

The CFLI project with la Red Is programmed to hold several luncheon meetings with business community in Azua, San Juan de la Maguana and Santo Domingo where materials will be distributed to promote and sensibilize companies in attempt to forge working agreements and promote the 2%-5% hiring quota part of the enacted Equal Treatment of People with Disability Law (5-13). The project would also hold workshops with disabled people’s family members in order to promote their independent living.

Foire d’emplois pour personnes handicapées coparrainé par l’Ambassade du Canada


Personnes présentes à la foire


Ambassadeur du Canada à la table d’honneur

Saint Domingue, Dimanche 29 Novembre 2013: Le Fond Canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL) a coparrainé une foire d'emploi pendant une journée à « Plaza de la Cultura », organisée par le Réseau Ibéroamericain (Red Iberoamericana), en tant qu’activité de lancement du projet "Promotion de l'employabilité et la vie autonome des personnes handicapées". Le Réseau, une institution avec une vaste trajectoire dans le soutien aux personnes handicapées dans toute l'Amérique Latine et l'Espagne, a réuni plusieurs institutions privées, organisations à but non lucratif et gouvernementales, dont le Ministère de l’Infrastructure (MOPC), l'Institut National de l’eau potable et des égouts (INAPA), la Vice-Présidence de la République Dominicaine, la compagnie Téléphonique TRICOM, l'Agence de Coopération Espagnole (AECID), l'Association Dominicaine de Réhabilitation (ADR), un fournisseur de télécommunications, l'École pour les Sourds de Sainte Ana, et l'Association des Personnes ayant un handicap physique moteur et mobilité réduite (ASODIFIMO).

L'Ambassadeur du Canada en République dominicaine, M. Georges Boissé, était présent à l'acte d'ouverture, et faisait partie d’un panel de discussion intégré par les représentants de la Vice-présidence, l’Association des personnes avec un handicap physique moteur et mobilité réduite (ASODIFIMO), la Fédération Nationale des Handicapés Dominicains (FENADID), le Cercle des Femmes Handicapées (CIMUDIS), Le Réseau Iberoaméricain et l'AECID.

Au cours de l'événement, plusieurs stands ont présenté des produits fabriqués par des personnes handicapées ayant des compétences techniques. Parmi les produits exposés il y a avait de l'artisanerie en bois pour la cuisine, des « inverseurs électriques » pour la maison, des auxiliaires de ménage et d’art général. Il y eu aussi un échange entre les différentes associations de personnes handicapées et les employeurs de personnes étant handicapées. Un exemple de ceci, fut la présence de  professionnels handicapés qui travaillent actuellement pour des institutions telles que le Ministère de l’Infrastructure en tant qu’ingénieurs et cadres.

L'École pour les Sourds Sainte Ana a exprimé l'intention de distribuer tout au long de la foire 25 CV de professionnels handicapés du domaine de l'architecture, gestion d’affaires, ingénierie entre autres. Depuis 2009, Le Réseau est à la tête du Service d’Intégration du Travail (SIL), qui à ce jour a placé environ 82 personnes dans des postes d’emplois formels.

Le projet FCIL a prévu d'organiser avec le Réseau des lunchs avec des hommes d'affaires à Azua, San Juan de la Maguana et Santo Domingo, où des matériaux seront distribués pour promouvoir et sensibiliser les entreprises dans le but de conclure des accords de main-d'œuvre et promouvoir 2%-5 % d’embauche en vertu de la loi de l'égalité de traitement des personnes handicapées (5-13). Le programme prévoit également organiser des ateliers avec les familles des personnes handicapées en vue de favoriser leur autonomie.