Canada sponsors women programs at the Dominican Republic - Haiti border


Gender Violence Forum.


Ambassador Georges Boissé talking to the members of the association of women.

December 12, 2013, Comendador, Elias Piña: The Canadian Fund for Local Initiatives launched the project  “Preventing and Detecting  Violence Against Women in Elias Piña” with the support of Medicos del Mundo Argentina as the partner entity which organized the project’s  first public Forum of Collective Health  in the municipality of Comendador, located at the border of Dominican Republic and Haiti.  The main objective of the event was to build public opinion through a first exchange of ideas with sector stakeholders of civic society and local government regarding the growing problem of health and various types of violence against local and migrant women. 

At the event, 60 people were present representing the following organizations: Dominican Red Cross, Dominican Medical Association, Border Network, Colectiva Mujer y Salud, CONAMUCA (Federation of Peasant Women), FIDES, CESFRONT (Border Patrol), Local Municipality, Provincial Hospital, Province Public Health Division, Women’s Issues Local Office, Ministry of Education and the National Guard Division.

Canada was represented by the local Head of Mission Mr. Georges Boissé, who exchanged relevant topics with various members of the local women network, the Federation of countryside women, Public Health Province Director and health education staff of Medicos del Mundo.

The project is slated to continue through implementing an integral campaign which includes using the local women network to distribute educational material to local recipient population regarding types of violence, detection and preventive measures. Another important deliverable is the generation of an information system to assess the current local situation.

Canada soutien des programmes d’aide pour les femmes à la frontière


Forum sur la violence basée sur le genre.


Ambassadeur Georges Boissé s’adressant aux membres de l’association de femmes.

12 décembre 2013, Comendador, Elias Piña: Le Fonds Canadien d'initiatives Locales a lancé le projet «Campagne de prévention et détection de la violence contre les femmes à Elias Piña » avec l’appui de Médecin du Monde Argentine en tant qu’agence chargée de la mise en œuvre du projet. L'agence a organisé le premier forum public de la santé collective dans la municipalité de Comendador situé dans la province d'Elias Piña. Le principal objectif de cet événement était de créer un espace d'opinion publique à travers lequel il soit possible de susciter un débat avec les acteurs du secteur de la santé, la société civile et les autorités locales sur les questions santé et de violence, qui affligent les femmes locales et les immigrants de la région.

A l’événement ont assisté 60 personnes en représentation des organisations suivantes: Croix-Rouge dominicaine, Collège des Médecins, Réseau des Frontières, collectivité « La Femme et la Santé », CONAMUCA, Fédération des femmes Paysannes, FIDES, CESFRONT, municipalité, le centre hospitaliere l’Hôpital Provincial, Directions Provinciales de la Santé, Ministère de l’Éducation et Défense Civile.

Le Canada était représenté par le chef de mission, M. Georges Boissé, lequel a discuté du sujet avec les membres du réseau local des femmes, la Fédération des Femmes Paysannes, le Directeur du Bureau Provincial de la Santé et personnel de l'Education et de la Santé ainsi que de Médecin du Monde Argentine.

Le projet devrait se poursuivre en continuant de mettre en œuvre la campagne par le biais du réseau des femmes locales pour distribuer du matériel didactique à la population locale sur les types de violence ainsi que sa prévention et détection. Un autre des résultats attendu est la collecte d'informations pour évaluer la situation locale comme base de référence.