Launching of the project of the Mining Tool Kit      


Audience present during the launching.


Ambassador Georges Boissé during the Mining Tool Kit Launching.

During the  Dominican Geological Congress - sponsored by the Dominican Society of Geology (SODOGEO), the Canadian Embassy in the Dominican Republic introduced the project "The Mining Tool Kit in Dominican Republic," a guide designed to promote awareness of the mining cycle among citizens and in particular, in the communities near the mining operations.

The kit will contain an informative manual, brochures and a user guide to didactically explain the different stages of the medium and large scale mining.

The purpose of this material is to encourage an active and informed participation of local people in the various stages of development of a mining project

This Mining tool kit originated in 2006 as part of an initiative of Natural Resources Canada for the purpose that this educational tool contributed to a better understanding of the process of the mining industry by the members of the communities associated with the extractive activity.

Countries like Peru, Guatemala, and Chile have already adapted this manual to their reality, seeking to create an opportunity for local communities and government authorities that regulate the extractive sector to be involved and participate in this process

This tool also promotes the dialogue between communities, industry and the state as part of the Corporate Social Responsibility policy, adopted by many Canadian companies.

The Canadian Ambassador to the Dominican Republic, Georges Boissé stated that with this project, Canada recognizes the importance of developing productive working relationships with the communities involved in the mining process. For Canada, this project exemplifies transparency and social responsibility, which are values ??promoted by the country, starting with mutual respect, trust and dialogue

This information tool will be especially adapted to the Dominican context and aims at promoting opportunities for dialogue between communities, the mining industry and the state.

Government officials, diplomats, businessmen, individuals involved in the extractive industry, mining students from ITECO, among others, were present at this activity. All supported this initiative and stated this to be relevant and necessary within the current national context.

The promotion of corporate social responsibility is an essential element of the Canadian global brand; therefore, the launching of this training tool will support and promote the exercise of corporate social responsibility at the national level, thus reinforcing the commitment of the Government of Canada to the Dominican Republic in the responsible and sustainable development of the extractive industries.

Lancement du projet de la « Trousse d’Information sur l’Industrie Minière »


Le public present au lancement.


Ambassadeur Georges Boissé pendant le Lancement de la Trousse d’information sur L’Industrie Minière.

Au cours du Congrès Géologique Dominicain - parrainé par la Société Dominicaine de Géologie (SODOGEO), l'Ambassade du Canada en République dominicaine a présenté le projet  de "La trousse d’information sur l’Industrie Minière en République Dominicaine", un guide visant à promouvoir la sensibilisation du cycle minier parmi les citoyens et en particulier, dans les communautés proches de l'exploitation minière.

La trousse contient un manuel d'information, des brochures et un mode d'emploi pour expliquer de façon didactique les différentes étapes de l'exploitation minière à moyenne et grande échelle.

Le but de ce document est d'encourager une participation active et informée des populations locales dans les différentes étapes du développement d'un projet minier.

Cette trousse d'outils d'exploration s’origine en 2006 dans le cadre d'une initiative de Ressources Naturelles Canada dans le but que cet outil pédagogique contribue à une meilleure compréhension du processus de l'industrie minière des membres des communautés associées à l'activité extractive.

Des pays comme le Pérou, le Guatemala et le Chili ont déjà adapté ce manuel à leur réalité, en cherchant à créer une opportunité pour les communautés locales et les autorités gouvernementales qui régissent le secteur de l'extraction de participer à ce processus.

Cet outil favorise également le dialogue entre les communautés, l'industrie et l'État dans le cadre de la politique de responsabilité sociale des entreprises, adoptée par de nombreuses entreprises canadiennes.

L'Ambassadeur du Canada en République dominicaine, Georges Boissé, a déclaré qu’avec ce projet, le Canada reconnaît l'importance de développer des relations de travail productives avec les communautés impliquées dans le processus de l'exploitation minière. Pour le Canada, ce projet illustre la transparence et la responsabilité sociale, lesquelles sont des valeurs promues par le pays, à commencer par le respect mutuel, la confiance et le dialogue.

Cet outil d'information sera spécialement adapté au contexte dominicaine et vise à promouvoir les possibilités de dialogue entre les communautés, l'industrie minière et de l'État.

Les représentants du gouvernement, des diplomates, des hommes d'affaires, les personnes impliquées dans l'industrie extractive, les étudiants de Géologie, entre autres, étaient présents à cette activité. Ils ont tous soutenu cette initiative et ont indiqué que cela est pertinent et nécessaire dans le contexte national actuel.

La promotion de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises est un élément essentiel de la marque mondiale du Canada et, par conséquent, le lancement de cet outil de formation va soutenir et promouvoir l'exercice de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises au niveau national, renforçant ainsi l'engagement du gouvernement du Canada avec la République dominicaine dans le développement responsable et durable de l'industrie extractive.