Canada supports journalists and freedom of expression in Ecuador and Honduras


Ambassador Gort during Press conference.

The threat is real: 63 journalists and communicators were killed in Honduras between 2001 and 2015. Fear of punishments has contributed to self-censorship and eroded the quality of journalism in Ecuador and Honduras. Training, professionalization and public support by the international community are needed.

A thirst for knowledge in Ecuador

The Embassy of Canada to Ecuador was thrilled to partner with Journalists for Human Rights (JHR), Canada’s leading media development organization working to help journalists put human rights on the front page.  Montreal-based trainer Susan Nerberg led a two-day journalism and human rights training session in Quito, Ecuador.

Geared primarily towards journalism students and journalists starting their career, the training also attracted the participation of a few veteran journalists, who used the opportunity to share practical knowledge and expertise with more novice trainees.

The training was highly interactive and participatory, encouraging journalists to portray stories with a human rights angle more effectively. As one participant described it, the training was the “first human rights journalism training course that has ever been offered in Ecuador”.

The Canadian Ambassador to Ecuador, Marianick Tremblay, opened the training session by underscoring the importance that Canada places on defending human rights around the world.  Stating that “no country is perfect”, she remarked that we “all need to use our voices and pens to report on human rights stories, so that our freedoms can be protected and that societies can change for the better”.  “It takes effort in our daily lives to remain engaged and concerned with what is happening in the world around us.  I encourage the journalists present at this training to embrace their responsibility to challenge, inspire, and inform the public through their stories”.

Building a foundation of freedom in Honduras

More than 30 journalists from the capital city and rural regions gathered for the first day of the JHR training in Tegucigalpa. The participants indicated that they would like nothing more than to report better on human rights issues. JHR partnered with the Honduran organization C-Libre, and called on Honduran and international experts to complement the JHR training modules.

Because of the particular security risks faced by journalists in Honduras, Peace Brigades International (PBI) shared its knowledge and strategies to enhance the personal security of journalists investigating sensitive judicial cases or human rights violations.

According to the Canadian Ambassador to Honduras, Michael Gort, “Journalists have a responsibility to safeguard and strengthen human rights. And we must all acknowledge that their actions don’t threaten the rule of law – they strengthen it.”

Participants were engaged and the training was greatly appreciated:

“Thank you for the great contribution to us, journalists who are committed to the integral development of our peoples.  I hope that you can soon follow up with projects aimed at strengthening and building a country with greater equity.”

 - Wenceslao Canales, journalist who participated in the workshop

Strengthening societies

Canada strongly believes that freedom of expression is at the core of human individuality and is one of the essential foundations of a safe and prosperous society. Our offices around the world are working to advance press freedom and empower journalists to cover human rights stories objectively, effectively, and freely.

Le Canada soutient les journalistes et la liberté d’expression en Équateur et au Honduras


L’ambassadeur Gort durant la conférence de presse, à Tegucigalpa.

La menace est réelle : 63 journalistes et communicateurs ont été tués au Honduras entre 2001 et 2015. La crainte de représailles a contribué à l’autocensure ainsi qu’à l’érosion de la qualité du journalisme en Équateur et au Honduras. De la formation, la professionnalisation ainsi que le soutien de la communauté internationale sont devenus nécessaires.

La soif de connaissances en Équateur

L’ambassade du Canada en Équateur est ravie d’avoir collaboré avec l’organisme Journalists for Human Rights (JHR), chef de file canadien du développement des médias, afin d’aider les journalistes à mettre les droits de la personne en une des journaux. Susan Nerberg, formatrice basée à Montréal, a animé une séance de formation de deux jours sur le journalisme et les droits de la personne à Quito, en Équateur. 

Destinée principalement aux étudiants en journalisme et aux jeunes journalistes, la formation a également attiré quelques journalistes chevronnés qui ont profité de l’occasion pour faire part de leurs connaissances pratiques et de leur expertise aux participants plus novices. 

Cette formation extrêmement interactive et participative avait pour but d’équiper les journalistes d’outils leur permettant de présenter des histoires racontées sous l’angle des droits de la personne et de mieux les mettre en lumière et.  Comme l’un des participants l’a souligné, cette formation était, « à [leur] connaissance, le premier cours de journalisme sur les droits de la personne dispensé en Équateur. » 

L’ambassadrice du Canada en Équateur, Marianick Tremblay, a ouvert les séances de formation en soulignant l’importance que le Canada accorde à la promotion et la défense des droits de la personne à travers le monde. Elle a souligné qu’« aucun pays n’est parfait » et a évoqué « le besoin d’utiliser nos voix et nos stylos pour raconter des histoires sur les droits de la personne afin que nos libertés soient protégées et que nos sociétés changent pour le mieux ». « Cela prend des efforts au quotidien afin de demeurer engagés et préoccupés de ce qu’il se passe dans le monde autour de nous. J’encourage les journalistes présents à la formation d’honorer leurs responsabilités à défier, inspirer et informer le public à travers leurs histoires ».

Construire les bases de la liberté au Honduras

Plus de 30 journalistes de la capitale et des régions rurales se sont réunis pour le premier jour de formation de JHR à Tegucigalpa. Les participants ont indiqué qu’ils seraient ravis de mieux rendre compte des enjeux liés aux droits de la personne. JHR s’est associé à l’organisation hondurienne C-Libre et a fait appel à des experts honduriens et internationaux afin de compléter les modules de formation de JHR.

Tenant compte des risques à leur sécurité auxquels font face les journalistes au Honduras, l’organisme Peace Brigades International (PBI) a fait part de ses connaissances et de ses stratégies pour accroître la sûreté personnelle des journalistes en ce qui a trait aux enquêtes sur des affaires judiciaires délicates ou à des violations des droits de la personne.

Selon l’Ambassadeur du Canada au Honduras, Michael Gort, « les journalistes ont la responsabilité de sauvegarder et de renforcer les droits de la personne. Et nous devons tous reconnaître que leurs actions ne sont pas une menace pour l’état de droit – elles le renforcent. »

Les personnes présentes ont activement participé et cette formation a été grandement appréciée :

« Merci de nous avoir offert votre contribution extraordinaire, à nous, journalistes qui entendons participer au progrès de notre peuple.  J’espère que vous poursuivrez sous peu des projets visant à renforcer un pays de manière à le rendre plus équitable. »

- Wenceslao Canales, journaliste qui a participé à l’atelier

Renforcement des sociétés

Le Canada croit fermement que la liberté d’expression est au cœur de l’individualité humaine et est un des fondements essentiels d’une société sûre et prospère. Nos bureaux aux quatre coins du monde s’efforcent de faire progresser la liberté de la presse et d’habiliter les journalistes à parler des droits de la personne de manière objective, libre et efficace.