The embassy of Canada presents projects of the canadian fund for local initiatives


Dr. Elizabeth García signing her engagement letter on behalf of the NGO CIDES.
   

Dr. Paúl Mena, President of FOPE, with Ambassador O’Donnell.
   

Prefect of the Province of Esmeraldas, Mrs. Lucía Sosa, attended the event on behalf of the Mancomunidad del Norte.
   

Quito, November 4, 2014

Today, the Ambassador of Canada Pamela O’Donnell presented three new initiatives that will receive support from the Canadian Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI).

Prior to the official signature of the agreements, Mrs. Luz Haro of AMJUPRE (the Association of rural women of Ecuador) and Dr. Ruth Hidalgo of Corporación Participación Ciudadana shared their working experience with the CFLI for 2013-14.

The first project for 2014-15 was signed with the Mancomunidad del Norte represented by the Prefect of Esmeraldas, Lucía Sosa. This initiative will provide training and awareness sessions on the rights of refugees to refugee focus groups and local authorities in the provinces of Esmeraldas and Sucumbíos.

The second project was signed with Dr. Paúl Mena, President of the Foro de Periodistas de Ecuador (FOPE), an organization that will offer training to journalists on new laws and regulations addressing communications. This training will be offered to active journalists in the provinces of Pichincha, Guayas, Imbabura and Chimborazo, which will allow them to respect the new laws while practicing responsible journalism.

The third project to be signed was with the Centro sobre Derecho y Sociedad (CIDES). Dr. Elizabeth García, Project Manager at CIDES, presented their training initiative for lawyers specializing in human rights violation cases. This will give a greater voice to vulnerable groups to express their concerns and will allow them to better protect their rights.

In the following days, a fourth agreement will be signed in Riobamba with Mrs. Delia Caguana of the Confederation of Indigenous Movements of Chimborazo (COMICH). This initiative will promote leadership among young leaders of the Puruwa people and will offer training in topics related to territorial governance.

It is through these projects that Canada reaffirms its commitment to strengthen the bilateral relations between Ecuador and Canada through cooperation.

For more information, please contact:
Embassy of Canada to Ecuador
Tel.: 245-5499 ext. 365-3302 / 365-3320

L’ambassade du Canada présente des projets de coopération du fonds canadien d’initiatives locales


Dr. Elizabeth García signant sa lettre d’engagement au nom de l’ONG.
   

Dr. Paúl Mena, président du FOPE, en compagnie de l’Ambassadrice O’Donnell.
   

La Préfecte de la Province d’Esmeraldas, Mme Lucía Sosa, a participé à l’événement en représentation de la Mancomunidad del Norte.
   

Quito, 4 novembre 2014

Aujourd’hui, l’Ambassadrice du Canada Pamela O’Donnell a présenté trois nouvelles initiatives qui recevront l’appui du Fonds Canadien d’Initiatives Locales (FCIL) cette année.

Avant la signature protocolaire des accords, Mme Luz Haro de AMJUPRE (l’Association des femmes des paroisses rurales de l’Équateur) et Dr. Ruth Hidalgo de la Corporación Participación Ciudadana ont partagé leur expérience de travail avec le FCIL pour l’année 2013-14.

Le premier projet pour l’année 2014-15 a été signé avec la Mancomunidad del Norte représentée par la Préfecte d’Esmeraldas, Lucía Sosa. Ce projet offrira de la formation et des sessions de sensibilisation sur les droits des réfugiés à des groupes de réfugiés ciblés et autorités locales dans les provinces d’Esmeraldas et de Sucumbíos.

Le second projet a été signé avec Dr. Paúl Mena, président du Foro de Periodistas de Ecuador (FOPE), l’organisation qui offrira de la formation aux journalistes au sujet des nouvelles lois et régulations en vigueur en matière de communication. Cette formation sera offerte à des journalistes actifs dans les provinces de Pichincha, Guayas, Imbabura et Chimborazo, et leur permettra de respecter les nouvelles lois tout en exerçant du journalisme responsable.

Le troisième projet à être signé est celui du Centro sobre Derecho y Sociedad (CIDES). Dr. Elizabeth García, directrice de projets de CIDES, a présenté son projet de formation aux avocats se spécialisant dans le litige des cas de violations des droits de la personne. Cela donnera une voix à certains groupes vulnérables pour exprimer leurs préoccupations et leur permettra de mieux défendre leurs droits.

Au cours des prochains jours, un quatrième accord sera signé à Riobamba avec Mme Delia Caguana de la Confédération des Mouvements autochtones de Chimborazo (COMICH). Cette initiative fera la promotion du leadership chez les jeunes leaders du peuple Puruwa et offrira une formation touchant les sujets liés à la gouvernance territoriale.

C’est par l’entremise de ces projets que le Canada réaffirme son engagement à renforcer les relations bilatérales entre l’Équateur et le Canada au travers de la coopération.

Pour plus d’informations, veuillez contacter:
Ambassade du Canada en Équateur
Tél.: 245-5499 ext. 365-3302 / 365-3320