Canada champions peaceful pluralism, inclusion, human rights in El Salvador

Youth empowerment activities promoting increased access to information on reproductive rights and friendly health services for adolescents in the municipalities of San Rafael Cedros and Ilobasco.
UNFPA El Salvador/Walter Sotomayor
 

Youth volunteers participate in inclusive park inauguration and organise sports and recreational activities for persons with disabilities in Santa Tecla municipality.
 


Banners used around San Salvador to promote LGBTI rights and increase awareness of hate crimes against LGBTI activists.
 

Ambassador Maryse Guilbeault joined local partners to begin the construction of an inclusive park for people with disabilities.
 

The initiatives led by the Canadian Embassy in El Salvador through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives Program (CFLI) aimed at bringing light to systematic discriminative practices to minority groups including disabled persons, LGTBI persons and rural girls who find themselves with limited development opportunities.

The CFLI in El Salvador contributed to Canada’s position as a committed partner to local institutions – from government and civil society – working in favour of more inclusive practices for traditionally excluded groups. In the context of a country suffering from large scale violence, where one in every 1000 Salvadorians was killed in the last 12 months (resulting in the highest murder rate in the world in 2015), it is difficult to see beyond the imminent gang bloodshed and into El Salvador’s other many pressing problems.

In the face of the State’s pressing need to address security priorities, these traditionally excluded communities fall off the national agenda. Canada has been a consistently strong voice for the protection of human rights and the advancement of democratic values. In El Salvador Canada is now becoming a recognized valuable ‘voice’ for El Salvador’s most disadvantaged and excluded groups.

Supporting inclusive practices and human rights for LGBTI groups in El Salvador

Despite legal framework updates that ban discrimination based on gender identity or sexual orientation in public administration practices, LGBTI persons in El Salvador are still victims of social discrimination, rejection and intolerance by society at large. LGBTI rights organizations continue to report how LGBTI persons are objected to sexual, physical and verbal abuse (including in prison), stigmatization by society, and the most severe expression of rejection: hate killings, especially towards transgender women. In the last 10 years the rate of hate crimes increased by 400%; in many cases, the bodies of the victims showed signs of torture: dismemberment, stabbings, beatings and multiple shots.

Working to end hate crimes against LGBTI persons and strengthening legal rights to gender identity

The Canadian Embassy partnered with local organization COMCAVIS Trans to promote discussion amongst political leaders, and through a media campaign to recognize the legal right to a person’s name change reflecting their gender identity, a practice that will provide enormous relief to transgender persons who are now forced to carry out legal transactions, official documents and many other practices with a ‘legal name’ that doesn’t correspond to their gender identity, creating frustration, shame and leading to discrimination. The project also supported activism and awareness-raising of hate crimes against LGBTI activists in El Salvador, most of which remain without investigation or conviction.

The embassy also partnered with CRISTOSAL  to promote dialogue on inclusion and respect of LGBTI people in the major religious organizations. This initiative included a workshop with religious leaders on skills and techniques to fully respect and promote the integration of LGBTI people in their religious organizations, the publishing and distribution of a manual on LGBTI rights and pastoral accompaniment and a workshop exchange with three different congregations on LGBTI rights and building inclusive community with LGTBI faith groups. The initiatives were well received by religious communities who engaged in open dialogue on the subject and although exclusive practices will remain in the most closed communities, according to a gay youth religious leader who participated in the project: “this has been one of the few times that [they] have been able to discuss this subject, and much is to be gained from breakthrough experiences like this, so thank you Canada.”

Promoting safe spaces for girls in rural communities

In partnership with the United Nations Population Fund San Salvador Office, two local municipal governments and the Salvadoran Ministry of Health, the embassy supported a project to prevent child/early marriages/unions and teen pregnancies through the protection and empowerment of adolescent girls in two specific rural communities. The project included work with youth networks to promote ‘peer to peer’ training, institutional building for health professionals providing friendly health services to adolescents and a public campaign advocating for safe spaces.

“We believe that the protection and empowerment of women and girls in society are necessary building blocks for a peaceful, prosperous and stable El Salvador. Marriage, unions and pregnancies at this early stage, are a violation to the human rights of girls and an obstacle that prevents development.”
Ambassador Maryse Guilbeault

Promoting Inclusive Spaces for Disabled Persons in El Salvador

The Embassy and Municipality of Santa Tecla supported the construction of accessible and secure areas in a major town park that included recreational grounds for children with physical and mental disabilities. With the active participation of the Para Olympic Committee of El Salvador and other local organizations that promote the rights of disabled persons, the project enabled the practice of inclusive sports and community activities to create awareness regarding the rights of children and youth with disabilities. This space is now one of the few recreational areas accessible to disabled persons in the entire country, and in view of its success, the municipality has been asked to share this practice with other municipalities outside metropolitan San Salvador.

Although El Salvador’s growing insecurity and violence continues to overshadow other more subtle forms of violence, discrimination and exclusion, Canada continues to place human rights and peaceful pluralism at the heart of the national agenda.

Le Canada défend le pluralisme pacifique, l’inclusion et les droits de la personne en El Salvador

Activités d’autonomisation des jeunes visant à améliorer l’accès à l’information sur les droits génésiques et les services de santé adaptés aux adolescents dans les municipalités de San Rafael Cedros et d’Ilobasco.
UNFPA El Salvador/Walter Sotomayor
 

De jeunes bénévoles participent à l’inauguration d’un parc accessible à tous et organisent des activités sportives et récréatives pour les personnes handicapées dans la municipalité de Santa Tecla.
 


Affiches accrochées dans San Salvador pour promouvoir les droits des LGBTI et accroître la sensibilisation à la problématique des crimes de haine contre les militants LBGTI.
 

L’ambassadrice Maryse Guilbeault se joint aux partenaires locaux pour amorcer la construction d’un parc accessible aux personnes handicapées.
 

Les initiatives dirigées par l’ambassade du Canada en El Salvador dans le cadre du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL) visaient à faire lumière sur les pratiques discriminatoires systématiques envers les groupes minoritaires notamment les personnes handicapées, les personnes lesbiennes, gaies, bisexuelles, transgenres et intersexuelles (LGBTI), et les filles en milieu rural, qui ont des possibilités de perfectionnement limitées.

Le FCIL en El Salvador a contribué à la position du Canada en tant que partenaire engagé des institutions locales (du gouvernement et de la société civile) travaillant pour des pratiques plus inclusives pour les groupes traditionnellement exclus. Dans un pays souffrant d’une violence à grande échelle, où un Salvadorien sur mille a été tué au cours des douze derniers mois (le taux de meurtre le plus élevé au monde en 2015), il est difficile de voir au-delà du carnage imminent des gangs pour voir les nombreux autres problèmes urgents du El Salvador.

Face au besoin pressant de l’État de traiter les priorités en matière de sécurité, ces communautés traditionnellement exclues ne sont pas à l’ordre du jour national. Le Canada représente invariablement une voix forte pour la protection des droits de la personne et l’avancée des valeurs démocratiques. En El Salvador, le Canada devient désormais une voix précieuse et reconnue pour les groupes les plus désavantagés et exclus du El Salvador.

Soutenir les pratiques inclusives et les droits de la personne pour les groupes LGBTI en El Salvador

Malgré les mises à jour du cadre juridique qui interdisent la discrimination fondée sur l’identité de genre ou l’orientation sexuelle dans les pratiques de l’administration publique, les personnes LGBTI sont toujours victimes de discrimination sociale, de rejet et d’intolérance par la société en général. Les organisations de lutte pour les droits des personnes LGBTI continuent de signaler que les personnes LBGTI font l’objet de violence sexuelle, physique et verbale (notamment en prison), de stigmatisation par la société, et de l’expression la plus sévère de rejet : de meurtres haineux, surtout à l’encontre des femmes transgenres. Au cours des dix dernières années, le taux de crimes haineux a augmenté de 400 %; dans de nombreux cas, le corps des victimes présentait des signes de torture : démembrement, agressions à l’arme blanche, coups et impacts de balle multiples.

Lutter contre les crimes haineux à l’encontre des personnes LGBTI et renforcement des droits légaux relatifs à l’identité de genre

L’ambassade du Canada a établi un partenariat avec l’organisation locale COMCAVIS Trans pour promouvoir la discussion parmi les dirigeants politiques et par l’entremise d’une campagne médiatique visant à reconnaître le droit légal d’une personne de changer de nom pour un nom qui reflète son identité de genre, une pratique qui représenterait un énorme soulagement pour les personnes transgenres qui sont actuellement obligées d’effectuer les actes juridiques, de remplir les documents officiels et de suivre de nombreuses autres pratiques avec un « nom légal » qui ne correspond pas à leur identité de genre, ce qui crée de la frustration et de la honte et mène à la discrimination. Le projet soutient également l’activisme et la sensibilisation aux crimes haineux à l’encontre des activistes LGBTI du El Salvador; crimes dont la plupart restent non traités ou impunis.

L’ambassade a également établi un partenariat avec CRISTOSAL pour promouvoir le dialogue sur l’inclusion et le respect des personnes LGBTI dans les organisations religieuses majeures. Cette initiative comprenait un atelier regroupant des chefs religieux et portant sur les compétences et techniques permettant de respecter et de promouvoir l’intégration des personnes LGBTI dans leurs organisations religieuses, la publication et la distribution d’un manuel sur les droits des personnes LGBTI et l’accompagnement pastoral, et des échanges en atelier avec trois différentes congrégations sur les droits des personnes LGBTI et l’établissement d’une communauté inclusive avec les groupes confessionnels LGBTI. Les initiatives ont été bien reçues par les communautés religieuses qui ont participé à un dialogue ouvert sur le sujet et, même si les pratiques d’exclusion se poursuivront dans les communautés les plus fermées, selon un jeune chef religieux gai qui a participé au projet : « Il s’agit de l’une des seules fois où ils ont pu discuter de ce sujet et il y a beaucoup à gagner des expériences novatrices comme celles-ci, alors merci au Canada. »

Promouvoir des espaces sécuritaires pour les filles dans les communautés rurales

En partenariat avec le Bureau de San Salvador du Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population, deux administrations municipales locales, et le ministère de la Santé du El Salvador, l’ambassade a soutenu un projet pour empêcher le mariage et l’union des enfants ou des jeunes et la grossesse chez les adolescentes au moyen de la protection et de l’autonomisation des adolescentes dans deux communautés rurales précises. Ce projet comprenait le travail avec des réseaux de jeunes pour promouvoir la formation « d’égal à égal », un établissement institutionnel pour les professionnels de santé fournissant des services de santé sensibles aux besoins des adolescentes, et une campagne publique prônant des espaces sécuritaires.

« Nous pensons que la protection et l’autonomisation des femmes et des filles dans la société sont nécessaires pour un El Salvador pacifique, prospère et stable. Les mariages, les unions et les grossesses précoces constituent une violation des droits de la personne pour les filles et un obstacle qui empêche le développement. »
Ambassadrice Maryse Guilbeault

Promouvoir des espaces inclusifs pour les personnes handicapées en El Salvador

L’ambassade et la municipalité de Santa Tecla ont soutenu la construction de zones accessibles et sécuritaires dans un parc municipal majeur qui comprenait des aires récréatives pour les enfants ayant un handicap physique ou mental. Avec la participation active du comité para-olympique du El Salvador et d’autres organisations locales qui font la promotion des droits des personnes handicapées, le projet a permis la pratique de sports inclusifs et d’activités communautaires aux fins de sensibilisation aux droits des enfants et des jeunes handicapés. Cet espace est désormais l’une des quelques aires récréatives accessibles aux personnes handicapées dans l’ensemble du pays, et au vu de son succès, la municipalité a demandé de partager cette pratique avec d’autres municipalités en dehors de la zone métropolitaine de San Salvador.

 Même si l’insécurité et la violence croissantes en El Salvador continuent à éclipser d’autres formes plus subtiles de violence, de discrimination et d’exclusion, le Canada continue à placer les droits de la personne et le pluralisme pacifique au cœur de l’ordre du jour national.