Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

canada-eu.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. News and Events
  4. >
  5. Media Room

Address by the Honourable Stéphane Dion, Ambassador of Canada to Germany and Special Envoy to the European Union and Europe, at the third plenary session of the 2017 World Forum for Democracy

Speech - Is populism a problem?

November 8, 2017 – Strasbourg, France

I want to thank the World Forum for Democracy and the Council of Europe, an indispensable promoter of universal human rights, for having invited me to speak to you on this important question: is populism a problem?

The answer is no, if referring to the usual meaning when speaking of a populist politician: the ability to connect closely with voters and to adopt a popular style.

The answer is yes, however, if we are referring to the meaning that the organizers of this forum and the accompanying videos by Pierre Rosanvallon give to the word populism, in the wake of the work by Cas Mudde and other authors.[1] In my words, a populist is someone who, in the name of the people, wants to concentrate power for himself or herself while weakening or politicizing the institutions impeding this concentration of power: parliament, political parties, regional or local authorities, the neutrality of the pufblic service, the independence of the courts, the freedom of the press, academic freedom, the independence of unions, employer groups and other civil organizations.

In the end, a populist leader is still elected but in conditions that make it virtually impossible for him to be defeated, given the degree to which the checks and balances of liberal democracy have been weakened in his favour.

The populist justifies this concentration of power in the name of the defence of the people portrayed as being under threat.  He gives this threat the traits of an elite, cut off from the people and responsible for spoiling representative institutions. This elite is denounced as being corrupt, selfish, arrogant, greedy, cosmopolitan, in league with foreigners, pathetically incompetent, or all of the above at once. Populism is anti-elitist and anti-pluralistic.

From this common core, populism can go off in various directions depending on the ideological orientations to which it has attached itself. Among the most common, there are:

  • On the extreme right: defence or nostalgia for a once homogeneous nation, that may expand to xenophobia and racism;
  • On the extreme left: radical socialism and anti-capitalism;
  • Economic nationalism extending to systematic protectionism and rejection of all free trade;
  • Rejection of multilateralism in the name of closed-door nationalism;
  • The promotion of an approach to fight crime and terrorism focused solely on repressive means, posing a threat to civil liberties;
  • Climate scepticism and the defence of the interests of a fossil fuel based economy;
  • On a less ideological but more opportunistic level, social and fiscal lavishness that throws budgetary caution out the window.

Populism can take on so many forms that we could question whether or not using this pejorative term could ostracize and lump into the same category everything that deviates from the established consensus of the centre-right and centre-left. Are we not muddying the waters by using a label that has been affixed to both Bernie Sanders and Donald Trump, as much as to Podemos and La France Insoumise as to the Front National, the Geert Wilders’ Party for Freedom and the Alternative für Deutschland, and to governments as different as the ones that currently exist in Russia, Turkey, Hungary, Poland, Venezuela or the Philippines? Are we not conceding too much to these political figures when qualifying them as populists, which could be interpreted as “popular” or “close to the people”?

If we stick with the common core of populism – the weakening of liberal institutions – the antidote is, of course, defending or strengthening these institutions. We must also ensure that these institutions become more effective, transparent and diligent, since populists feed on the sluggish and opaque nature of the system and sell a dream of a strong man whose determination will overcome such difficulties and make everything simpler.

In Canada, as markers of institutional reform, the Prime Minister Trudeau, together with the Minister of Democratic Institutions, Karina Gould, have chosen as priorities the de-politicization of senator appointments, the transparency of federal institutions, the defence of the electoral process against cyber threats, the review of the rules surrounding the financing of political parties, the increased autonomy of the federal elections commissioner, the repeal of rules that needlessly interfere with exercising one’s right to vote and the strengthening of rules that punish electoral fraud.

But the response to populism cannot just be an institutional one. It needs to also be political and occupy a stage in the media, including social media. There is no reason to think that social media networks are only favourable to populist politicians. If there is a political figure who knows how to use these social networks, it is the current Prime Minister of Canada, a resolute supporter of liberal democracy. The Government of Canada has taken on various initiatives such as the launch of a recent digital inclusion laboratory that provides analytical support for the promotion of inclusive values.  The government is also playing an active role internationally, notably as part of the Freedom Online Coalition and the Internet Governance Forum.

Fundamentally, we need to respond to the insecurities, both cultural and economic, that make people more receptive to populist muses.

At the cultural level, faced with migration waves fueling identity fears, we must provide more effective aid to countries ravaged by war and misery. On this front, Canada has recently adopted a feminist international assistance policy, as it has been shown that promoting women and girls is a powerful lever for development and democratization.

We need to find better practices for integrating immigrants and in this area, Canada, a country of immigration, is quite willing to share its experience, while recognizing that its situation differs from the one in Europe. You will have undoubtedly noted that Prime Minister Trudeau has made it a political priority, both at home and abroad, to focus on the inclusion of all communities, including the Muslim communities that are too often unjustly associated with violent Islamism, when in fact they are the main victims of it.

Economically, we need to find a path to growth that is inclusive and benefits everyone, not just the wealthiest 1 percent or the .01 percent. This is why the Government of Canada has, among other social measures, increased taxes on the richest and cut taxes for the middle class, in addition to significantly increasing assistance to families, granting them almost the equivalent of a guaranteed minimum income, which has reduced childhood poverty by more than one third.

We also need to learn how to negotiate new kinds of free trade agreements, ones that are progressive, ones like the agreement that the European Union and Canada have just concluded, which includes protections for the environment, labour rights, food safety and that guarantees the rights of parliaments to legislate and governments to regulate for the common good. We need to convince people that they do not have to choose between trade and social progress - these two objectives must be pursued together.

How can we make people feel they are truly included when the financing of political parties depends on major billionaire donors and clandestine foreign sources, and when one needs to be well-off to engage in politics? We need to take a serious look at political party and electoral financing; make it more grassroots and transparent, otherwise we will not be successful in curtailing the flow of populism.

How do we deal with countries whose leaders engage in actions to weaken liberal democratic institutions? Prime Minister Trudeau’s approach is in line with the one expressed by President Macron before the Council of Europe: criticize, oppose, but without shutting the door; maintain a difficult but necessary dialogue. And I would add that we should not only criticize bad practices, but we must also acknowledge and support governments that are making the right choices on the democratic front.  For example, Georgia, which despite facing very difficult conditions, has undeniably improved its democratic and corruption-fighting practices, as recognised by various international assessments.

Canada has been able to resist the populist wave so far. But we are well aware that even a democracy such as ours, which has never experienced a coup d’état, a civil war or foreign occupation, and which has had a long and fruitful experience with immigration, is not immune to populism. Without preaching to anyone, we want to offer our full cooperation so that together we can make our societies more inclusive, less vulnerable to populist drifts and better equipped to build justice, harmony, security and universal human rights on solid liberal democracies.



[1] Cas Mudde and Cristobal Rovari Kaltwasser, “Populism: A Very Short Introduction”, Oxford University Press, 2017, https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2017/jul/07/populism-dead-european-victories-centrists;  M.S. “What is populism?”, The Economist, December 19, 2016, https://www.economist.com/blogs/economist-explains/2016/12/economist-explains-18; Uri Friedman, “What is a Populist? And is Donald Trump one? The Atlantic, February 27, 2017, https://www.theatlantic.com/international/archive/2017/02/what-is-populist-trump/516525/; Kenneth Roth, “The Dangerous Rise of Populism: Global Attacks on Human Rights Values”, Human Rights Watch, 2017, https://www.hrw.org/world-report/2017/country-chapters/dangerous-rise-of-populism; Cas Mudde, Frédéric Mérand and Bessma Momani, Three Conversations about the Rise of Populism in the West, Global Affairs Canada and Centre de recherches et d’études internationales, Université de Montréal, September 20, 2017, http://cerium.umontreal.ca/fileadmin/Documents/FAS/CERIUM/Images/2-Recherche/7-Publications/2017-09-19_Three_Conversations_About_Populism_-_External_Distribution.pdf.

Footer

Date Modified:
2017-11-22

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

canada-ue.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nouvelles et activités
  4. >
  5. Salle des médias

Discours de l’ambassadeur du Canada en Allemagne et envoyé spécial auprès de l’Union européenne et de l’Europe, l’honorable Stéphane Dion, lors de la troisième séance plénière du Forum mondial de la démocratie 2017

Discours - Le populisme est-il un problème?

Le 8 novembre 2017 - Strasbourg, France

Je remercie le Forum mondial de la démocratie et le Conseil de l’Europe, cet indispensable promoteur des droits universels, de m’avoir invité à répondre avec vous à cette question importante : le populisme est-il un problème?

La réponse est non, si l’on s’en tient au sens courant quand on parle d’un politicien populiste : l’aptitude à être proche du peuple et à adopter un style populaire.

Cependant, la réponse est oui, si l’on s’en rapporte au sens que les organisateurs de ce forum et les vidéos accompagnatrices de Pierre Rosanvallon donnent au mot populisme, dans le sillage des travaux de Cas Mudde et d’autres auteurs.[1] Repris en mes termes, est populiste celui qui, au nom du peuple, entend concentrer en ses mains le pouvoir et affaiblir ou politiser les institutions qui font obstacle à cette concentration : le parlement, les partis politiques, les collectivités régionales ou locales, la neutralité de la fonction publique, l’indépendance des tribunaux, la liberté de la presse, la liberté académique, l’indépendance des syndicats, des groupes patronaux et des autres organisations revendicatives.

À terme, le leader populiste est encore un élu mais dans des conditions qui rendent virtuellement impossible sa défaite électorale, tant les institutions de contre-pouvoir de la démocratie libérale ont été affaiblies à son profit.

C’est pour défendre le peuple face à ce qui le menace que le populiste justifie cette concentration du pouvoir. Il donne à cette menace les traits d’une élite coupée du peuple qui a spolié les institutions représentatives. Cette élite est dénoncée soit comme corrompue, égoïste, arrogante, avide, cosmopolite, au service des étrangers, pathétiquement incompétente, ou tout cela à la fois. Le populisme est anti-élitiste et anti-pluraliste.

De ce tronc commun, le populisme peut partir dans toutes sortes de directions selon les orientations idéologiques auxquelles il se greffe. Parmi les plus fréquentes, mentionnons :

  • à l’extrême-droite : la défense ou la nostalgie d’une nation homogène, voire la xénophobie et le racisme;
  • à l’extrême-gauche : le socialisme radical et l’anticapitalisme;
  • le nationalisme économique étendu jusqu’au protectionnisme systématique et au refus de tout libre-échange;
  • le rejet du multilatéralisme au nom d’un nationalisme de repli sur soi;
  • la promotion d’une approche uniquement sécuritaire et répressive, menaçante pour les libertés civiles, face au crime et au terrorisme;
  • le climatoscepticisme et la défense des intérêts liés à une économie fondée sur les hydrocarbures;
  • sur un plan moins idéologique et plus opportuniste : une prodigalité sociale et fiscale faisant fi de la prudence budgétaire.

Le populisme peut prendre tellement de formes qu’on peut se demander si cette appellation péjorative ne risque pas d’ostraciser et de mettre dans le même bain tout ce qui s’éloigne du consensus établi de centre-droit et de centre-gauche. Ne brouille-t-on pas les choses en utilisant une étiquette qui a été accolée tant à Bernie Sanders qu’à Donald Trump, aussi bien à Podemos ou la France insoumise qu’au Front National, au Parti pour la liberté de Geert Wilders et à l’Alternative für Deutschland, et à des gouvernements aussi différents que ceux qui prévalent en ce moment en Russie, en Turquie, en Hongrie, en Pologne, au Venezuela ou aux Philippines? N’est-ce pas trop concéder à ces personnages politiques que de les qualifier de populistes, ce qui peut être compris comme « populaires » ou « proches du peuple »?

Si l’on s’en tient au tronc commun du populisme – l’affaiblissement des institutions libérales – l’antidote est bien sûr la défense ou le renforcement de ces institutions. Il faut aussi veiller à les rendre plus efficaces, transparentes et diligentes, car les populistes se nourrissent de la lenteur et de l’opacité du système et font rêver de l’homme fort dont la volonté surmontera ces difficultés et rendra tout plus simple.

Au Canada, comme cibles de réformes institutionnelles, le Premier ministre Trudeau, de concert avec la ministre des Institutions démocratique, Karina Gould, a choisi en priorité la dépolitisation des nominations des sénateurs, la transparence des institutions fédérales, la défense du processus électoral contre les cyber menaces, la revue des règles qui entourent le financement des partis politiques, une autonomie accrue pour le commissaire aux élections fédérales, l’abrogation des règles qui entravent inutilement l’exercice du droit de vote et le renforcement de celles qui punissent les fraudes électorales.

Mais la riposte au populisme ne doit pas être qu’institutionnelle. Il lui faut être aussi politique et occuper la scène dans les médias, y compris les médias sociaux. Il n’y a aucune raison de penser que ceux-ci sont nécessairement favorables aux politiciens populistes. S’il y a une personnalité politique qui sait utiliser ces réseaux sociaux, c’est bien le premier ministre canadien actuel, un adepte résolu de la démocratie libérale. Le gouvernement du Canada a pris différentes initiatives comme le lancement récent d’un laboratoire de l’inclusion numérique qui apporte un appui analytique à la promotion des valeurs d’inclusion, et le gouvernement joue un rôle actif sur la scène internationale notamment au sein de la « Freedom Online Coalition » et de l’ « Internet Governance Forum ».

Sur le fond des choses, il faut répondre aux insécurités, tant culturelles qu’économiques, qui rendent les populations plus réceptives aux appels populistes.

Sur le plan culturel, face aux les vagues migratoires qui nourrissent les peurs identitaires, il faut apporter un secours plus efficace aux pays ravagés par les guerres et la misère. Pour cela, le Canada s’est récemment doté d’une politique de développement international résolument féministe, car il a été démontré que la promotion des femmes et des filles est un puissant levier de développement et de démocratisation.

Il faut trouver les meilleures pratiques d’intégration des immigrants et de ce point de vue le Canada, pays d’immigration, est tout à fait disposé à partager son expérience, tout en reconnaissant que sa situation diffère de celle de l’Europe. Vous avez certainement noté que le Premier ministre Trudeau a fait, tant au Canada qu’à l’étranger, une priorité politique du thème de l’inclusion de toutes les communautés, y compris des communautés musulmanes qui sont trop souvent assimilées à tort à l’islamisme violent, alors qu’elles en sont les principales victimes.

Sur le plan économique, il faut trouver la voie d’une croissance inclusive qui profite à tous et non pas presque seulement au 1 pour cent ou au .01 pour cent les plus riches. C’est ainsi que le gouvernement du Canada a, entre autres mesures sociales, augmenté les impôts des plus riches et réduit ceux de la classe moyenne et a considérablement accru l’aide aux familles, leur octroyant presque l’équivalent d’un revenu minimum garanti qui a diminué de plus du tiers la pauvreté chez les enfants.

Nous devons aussi apprendre à négocier des accords de libre-échange d’un type nouveau, progressistes, qui, à l’image de celui que viennent de conclure l’Union européenne et le Canada, comportent de fortes protections pour l’environnement, les droits des travailleurs, la sécurité alimentaire et qui garantissent le droit des parlements de légiférer et des gouvernements de réglementer pour le bien commun. Il faut convaincre nos populations qu’elles n’ont pas à choisir entre le commerce et le progrès social et que ces deux objectifs doivent être poursuivis ensemble.

Comment veut-on que nos populations se sentent vraiment incluses quand le financement des partis politiques dépend de grands donateurs milliardaires et de sources étrangères occultes, et quand il faut être fortuné pour faire de la politique? Il faut sérieusement revoir le financement des partis politiques et des élections, le rendre plus populaire et transparent, sans quoi l’on ne pourra sérieusement endiguer le populisme.

Comment traiter les pays dont les dirigeants s’engagent dans l’affaiblissement des institutions démocratiques libérales? L’approche du Premier ministre Trudeau est tout à fait conforme à celle que vient d’exprimer le Président Macron devant le Conseil de l’Europe : critiquer, s’opposer, mais sans fermer la porte, en maintenant un dialogue difficile mais nécessaire. Et j’ajouterais qu’il ne faut pas seulement critiquer les mauvaises pratiques, il faut aussi saluer et appuyer les gouvernements qui font les bons choix pour leur pays du point de vue démocratique. Je pense par exemple à la Géorgie, qui, dans des conditions très difficiles, a incontestablement amélioré ses pratiques démocratiques et de lutte à la corruption, selon les évaluations internationales qui en ont été faites.

Le Canada a bien résisté à la vague populiste jusqu’à présent. Mais nous sommes conscients que même une démocratie comme la nôtre, qui n’a jamais subi de coup d’État, de guerre civile ou d’occupation étrangère, et qui a une expérience longue et fructueuse de l’immigration, n’est pas immunisée contre le populisme. Sans faire la leçon à qui que ce soit, nous vous offrons notre pleine coopération, pour qu’ensemble nous rendions nos sociétés plus inclusives, moins vulnérables aux dérives populistes, et plus à même de fonder la justice, la concorde, la sécurité et les droits universels sur de solides démocraties libérales.



[1] Cas Mudde et Cristobal Rovari Kaltwasser, “Populism: A Very Short Introduction”, Oxford University Press, 2017, https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2017/jul/07/populism-dead-european-victories-centrists. ;  M.S. “What is populism?, The Economist, 19 décembre 2016, https://www.economist.com/blogs/economist-explains/2016/12/economist-explains-18. ; Uri Friedman, “What is a Populist? And is Donald Trump one?, The Atlantic, 27 février 2017, https://www.theatlantic.com/international/archive/2017/02/what-is-populist-trump/516525/. ; Kenneth Roth, “The Dangerous Rise of Populism: Global Attacks on Human Rights Values”, Human Rights Watch, 2017, https://www.hrw.org/world-report/2017/country-chapters/dangerous-rise-of-populism. ; Cas Mudde, Frédéric Mérand et Bessma Momani, Three Conversations about the Rise of Populism in the West, Affaires mondiales Canada et Centre de recherches et d’études internationales, Université de Montréal, 20 septembre 2017, http://cerium.umontreal.ca/fileadmin/Documents/FAS/CERIUM/Images/2-Recherche/7-Publications/2017-09-19_Three_Conversations_About_Populism_-_External_Distribution.pdf.

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2017-11-22