Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Finland.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Films give image and voice to indigenous youth

Suvi West, Director of Skábmagovat, Performing Artist Samian Tremblay and Film Director Manon Barbeau
Suvi West, Director of Skábmagovat, Performing Artist Samian Tremblay and Film Director Manon Barbeau
Photo Credit: Mr. Ville Paso, SDD; SIIDA Sámi Museum & Northern Lapland Nature Centre 
    

    Performance at Skábmagovat, the Indigenous Peoples’ Film Festival
Performance at Skábmagovat, the Indigenous Peoples’ Film Festival
Photo Credit: Mr. Ville Paso, SDD; SIIDA Sámi Museum & Northern Lapland Nature Centre
    

    Mr. Jorma Lehtola, Artistic Director of Skábmagovat, and Film Director Neil Diamond
Mr. Jorma Lehtola, Artistic Director of Skábmagovat, and Film Director Neil Diamond
Photo Credit: Mr. Ville Paso, SDD; SIIDA Sámi Museum & Northern Lapland Nature Centre
    

   

The participation of Canadian artists in Skábmagovat, the Indigenous Peoples’ Film Festival in the Finnish Lapland in January 2010, has sparked an exchange program between Finland and Canada that will give image and voice to indigenous young people to tell their stories to the world.

The aim of the exchange between the Sámi and the First Nations is to cooperatively produce films, and have the films screened in both countries and elsewhere.

In January and February 2011, Canadian Aboriginal students will study at the Sámi Education Institute (site available in Finnish and Sámi) in Finland for several weeks, and in September 2011, Finnish Sámi students will join Wapikoni Mobile in Québec.

Wapikoni Mobile project uses travelling studios which move around in indigenous communities offering practical training in script writing, directing, editing, and sound recording. Six of Québec’s First Nations peoples, Algonquin, Atikamekw, Cree, Innu, Huron, and Mohawk, are involved in the project. Since 2002, hundreds of short films have been created, and they have been broadcast – and awarded – at various festivals around the globe.

In addition to 30 short films produced by Wapikoni Mobile, a dozen of other Canadian aboriginal films were screened during the Skábmagovat festival that attracted over 3400 participants. Cree director Neil Diamond’s documentary Reel Injun had its European premier at the festival.

Skábmagovat was held at SIIDA Sámi Museum and Northern Lapland Nature Centre, in Inari, approximately 300km north from the Arctic Circle. Organized for the 12th time, the Festival’s focus was on the cinema of the Canadian Aboriginals.

Participation of First Nations representatives at the festival helped to raise Canada's profile as a Northern/Arctic actor and Canada's commitment to promote sustainable social and economic development of the Northern regions in a way that benefits the Northerners and the Aboriginal people.

The Canadian artists were extremely positive about the visit and felt it was very important to connect with other indigenous peoples. Expectations on the exchange program are high, and the two partners are excited about future cooperation possibilities between the indigenous peoples around the world, hoping that this kind of a program could be extended to cover larger areas and more peoples.

The Embassy of Canada in Finland advocated to have Canadian Aboriginal films as the theme of this year’s festival and supported the attendance of Film Director Manon Barbeau, Performing Artist Samian Tremblay and Film Director Neil Diamond to the Festival as international guests of honour.

>> Read and share more stories about Canada’s activities around the world - follow Eyes Abroad.

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-01-25

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Finlande.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Le cinéma donne des images et une voix aux jeunes Autochtones

La directrice de Skábmagovat, Suvi West, la multiartiste Samian Tremblay et la cinéaste Manon Barbeau.
La directrice de Skábmagovat, Suvi West, la multiartiste Samian Tremblay et la cinéaste Manon Barbeau.
Photo : M. Ville Paso, SDD; Musée lapon et Centre de la nature septentrionale lapon SIIDA
    

    Spectacle lors de Skábmagovat, un festival du film des Autochtones.
Spectacle lors de Skábmagovat, un festival du film des Autochtones.
Photo : M. Ville Paso, SDD; Musée lapon et Centre de la nature septentrionale lapon SIIDA 
    

    Le directeur artistique de Skábmagovat, Jorma Lehtola, et le cinéaste Neil Diamond.
Le directeur artistique de Skábmagovat, Jorma Lehtola, et le cinéaste Neil Diamond.
Photo : M. Ville Paso, SDD; Musée lapon et Centre de la nature septentrionale lapon SIIDA 
    

   


La participation d’artistes canadiens à Skábmagovat, un festival du film des Autochtones en Laponie finlandaise, en janvier 2010, a engendré un programme d’échanges entre la Finlande et le Canada. Ce programme donnera des images et une voix aux jeunes Autochtones afin qu’ils puissent raconter leurs histoires au reste du monde.

Les échanges entre les Lapons et les Premières Nations visent la production de films en coopération et la projection des films ainsi produits dans les deux pays et ailleurs dans le monde.

En janvier et février 2011, des étudiants canadiens autochtones étudieront dans un établissement d’enseignement lapon en Finlande pendant plusieurs semaines. En septembre de la même année, des étudiants lapons finlandais se joindront au Wapikoni mobile au Québec.

Le projet Wapikoni mobile fait appel à des studios mobiles qui se déplacent dans les collectivités autochtones pour offrir une formation pratique dans les domaines de la rédaction de scénarios, la direction d’acteurs, l’édition et l’enregistrement sonore. Au total, six Premières Nations du Québec – les Nations algonquine, atikamekw, crie, innue, huronne et mohawk – prennent part au projet. Depuis 2002, des centaines de courts métrages ont été créés, projetés et primés lors de divers festivals tenus un peu partout dans le monde.

Outre les 30 courts métrages produits par Wapikoni mobile, une douzaine d’autres films d’Autochtones canadiens projetés pendant le Festival Skábmagovat ont attiré plus de 3 400 spectateurs. Le documentaire Reel Injun du cinéaste cri Neil Diamond y a été projeté pour la première fois en Europe.

Le Festival Skábmagovat s’est tenu au Musée lapon et Centre de la nature septentrionale lapon SIIDA, à Inari, une communauté située à quelque 300 kilomètres au Nord du cercle polaire arctique. Cette 12édition du Festival mettait en vedette le cinéma autochtone canadien.

La participation de représentants des Premières Nations au Festival a contribué à rehausser le profil du Canada en tant que pays septentrional et arctique ainsi que son engagement envers la promotion du développement social et économique durable des régions septentrionales d’une façon favorable tant aux habitants de la région qu’aux Autochtones.

Les artistes canadiens ont eu des commentaires extrêmement positifs au sujet de leur visite et jugé très important l’établissement de liens avec d’autres Autochtones. Les attentes à l’égard du programme d’échanges sont élevées, et les deux partenaires sont enthousiastes devant les possibilités de coopération future entre les Autochtones de partout dans le monde. Ils souhaitent aussi que ce type de programme vise de plus vastes régions et davantage de peuples.

L’ambassade du Canada en Finlande avait œuvré pour que le cinéma autochtone canadien soit le thème du Festival de cette année. Il a contribué financièrement à la participation des cinéastes Manon Barbeau et Neil Diamond et de la multiartiste Samian Tremblay en tant qu’invités d’honneur internationaux.

Autres ressources : Skábmagovat (en anglais) et établissement d’enseignement lapon (en lapon et en finnois).

 

>> Pour en savoir plus sur les activités du Canada à l’étranger ou raconter les vôtres, Coup d’œil sur le monde vous attend!

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-01-25