Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

France.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. For Canadians
  4. >
  5. Living/Travelling in France

Assistance to Canadians

Legalization of Canadian documents

The Consular services of the Embassy of Canada in France may process to the legalization of certain Canadian documents to fulfill the requirements of the French administration. Legalization is a certification of the genuineness of the signature on the official document (of vital statistics for example), but it does not certify the contents of it.

For example, our service can legalize your Canadian provincial long form birth certificate to be presented at the office of “sécurité sociale” in France. To obtain this service, please read the following instructions.

Legalization of Canadian birth, marriage and death certificates

The French administration may require that a document from Canada concerning a birth, marriage of death is to be legalize by our Embassy to be fully accepted. Please note that only “long form” documents are eligible for legalization (On a birth certificate for example it has to mentionned the names of the parents). If you do not have a “long form” Canadian document, please contact the provincial vital Statistics office in Canada to obtain it. This service is often required to apply for the Sécurité sociale, to complete an application for French citizenship or to obtain a first Carte de séjour.

Please note that the Embassy do not provide translation services. If your vital statistic document is only available in English, you will have to obtain an official translation from a “traducteur assermenté par la cour d’appel” to be able to use this document in France. You can obtain a list of those professionals at your local City Hall or on the website of the Cour de cassation (French only).

What documentation should I send to obtain this service?

  • A short letter explaining your request and including your detailed contact information in France (postal address, telephone and email) and instruction on where to return the document (we use a registrar mail service and you do not have to provide the return envelope);
  • The original vital statistic document;
  • A photocopy of your valid Canadian passport (only the page with the picture);
  • A payment of 50.00 $ can or the equivalent in euros. Please visit or website for more details.

Where should I send it ?

  • Please send your application @
Embassy of Canada
Notarial services
35 avenue Montaigne
75008 PARIS

Legalization of other Canadian documents

It is possible that the French administration requires other Canadian document to be legalized by our service. Mainly, those services would be related to the legalization of the signature of a Canadian lawyer or a notary public on a Canadian document or the signature of a clerk on a court document. To inquire about the possibility to obtain this service, please send us the document by email for confirmation before sending your file.

First step: Send the document to be legalize by email for confirmation @ paris-consulaire@international.gc.ca.

Send step: if our opinion is positive, send the complete file (see instruction below).

What documentation should I send to obtain this service?

  • A short letter explaining your request and including your detailed contact information in France (postal address, telephone and email) and instruction on where to return the document (we use a registrar mail service and you do not have to provide the return envelope);
  • The original document on which appears the signature to be legalized;
  • A photocopy of your valid Canadian passport (only the page with the picture);
  • A payment of 50.00 $ can or the equivalent in euros.

Where should I send it ?

  • Please send your application @
Embassy of Canada
Notarial services
35 avenue Montaigne
75008 PARIS

How long is it going to be?

It will take 15 working days to process your application.

This service is not available by appointment, but you have the possibility to drop your application in person during our regular opening hours. You can also obtain this service with one of our consulates outside of Paris.

Footer

Date Modified:
2017-03-17

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

France.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Pour les Canadiens
  4. >
  5. Vivre et voyager en France

Aide aux Canadiens

Légalisations de documents canadiens

Les services consulaires de l'Ambassade du Canada en France peuvent procéder à la légalisation de certains documents canadiens afin que ceux-ci puissent être pleinement reconnus et acceptés par l'administration française. Une légalisation consiste à confirmer la signature officielle sur un document d'état civil par exemple, mais ne permet pas de certifier l'authenticité du contenu du document. 

Nos services peuvent par exemple légaliser votre acte de naissance canadien long format dans le cadre de votre inscription à la sécurité sociale en France.  Pour obtenir ce service, merci de lire attentivement les instructions qui suivent.

Legalisation d’acte de naissance, de marriage ou de décès canadiens

Les administrations françaises requièrent souvent que les documents d’état civil étrangers qui leurs sont soumis soient au préalable légalisés par l’Ambassade du pays d’origine du document. Veuillez noter que l’Ambassade ne peut obtenir le document d’état civil à votre place et que seules les pièces d’état civil « long format » peuvent être légalisées par nos services. Si vous deviez obtenir des docuements d’état civil canadiens, merci de vous adresser au service provincial compétent au Canada. La légalisation d’une pièce d’état civil est souvent requise pour compléter une inscription à la Sécurité Sociale, demander la nationalité française ou obtenir un premier titre de séjour.

Veuillez également noter que nous ne fournissions aucun service de traduction. Si votre document d’état civil est rédigé uniquement en anglais, vous devrez retenir les services d’un traducteur assermenté auprès de la cour d’appel afin d’être à même d’utiliser ce document en France. Vous pourrez obtenir la liste des traducteurs assermentés auprès de votre Mairie en France ou sur le site internet de la Cour de cassation.

Quels documents dois-je envoyer pour obtenir ce service?

  • Une courte lettre dans laquelle vous précisez le service demandé, vous fournissez vos coordonnées en France (adresse postale, courriel et numéro de téléphone) et vos instructions pour le retour du document (nous vous retournerons le document par poste recommandée sans frais supplémentaire) ;
  • Le document d’état civil original à légaliser ;
  • Une copie de votre passeport canadien en cours de validité (uniquement la page avec la photo) ;
  • Un paiement de 50.00 $ can ou l'équivalant en euros.

A quelle adresse dois-je envoyer ma demande?

Merci de nous faire parvenir votre demande @

Ambassade du Canada
Services notariés
35 avenue Montaigne
75008 PARIS

Légalisation d’autres documents Canadiens

Il est possible que des administrations vous demandent de faire légaliser d’autres documents Canadiens. Ces services concernant principalement la légalisation de la signature d’un avocat, d’un notaire, d’un commissaire à l’assermentation ou d’un greffier sur un document réalisé au Canada. Merci de vous référer aux instructions ci-dessous afin d’obtenir ce service.

Etape 1: Envoyer le document à faire legaliser par courriel afin d’obtenir une pré-approbation @ paris-consulaire@international.gc.ca.

Etape 2 : Si notre opinion est positive, vous pouvez nous faire parvenir votre dossier complet.

Quels documents dois-je envoyer pour obtenir ce service?

  • Une courte lettre dans laquelle vous précisez le service demandé, vous fournissez vos coordonnées en France (adresse postale, courriel et numéro de téléphone) et vos instructions pour le retour du document (nous vous retournerons le document par poste recommandée sans frais supplémentaire) ;
  • Le document original à légaliser ;
  • Une copie de votre passeport canadien en cours de validité (uniquement la page avec la photo) ;
  • Un paiement de 50.00 $ can ou l'équivalent en euros.

A quelle adresse dois-je envoyer ma demande?

Merci de nous faire parvenir votre demande @

Ambassade du Canada
Services notariés
35 avenue Montaigne
75008 PARIS

Combien de temps cela prendra-t-il?

  • Votre demande sera traitée dans les 15 jours ouvrables.

Ces services ne sont pas disponible par rendez-vous, vous pouvez cependant déposer votre demande en personne pendant nos heures normales d'ouverture.Vous pouvez également obtenir ces services auprès de nos Consulats en province.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2017-03-17