Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Germany.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. For Canadians
  4. >
  5. Passports and consular services

Supplemental content

Health Insurance

Travelling to Germany

Before you leave Canada, please contact your Canadian health plan to find out what coverage is provided for medical treatment outside of Canada. Even if you are covered outside the country, it is strongly recommended you purchase additional health insurance. The cost of medical treatment abroad can cost much more than your Canadian health plan might pay for. For information on travel health insurance, contact a private insurance company directly.

Moving to Germany

If you plan to move to Germany, you will need to take out German health insurance. In most cases, proof of (German) health insurance is required to obtain a residence permit for Germany. Germany's health system offers two options of health plans:

  • legally binding health insurance (Gesetzliche Krankenkasse)
    These health insurance companies are usually obligatory for employees who earn less than a certain amount per year. They also offer rates for all other residents of Germany.
  • private health insurance (Private Krankenversicherung)
    Employees who have a fixed minimum annual income, freelancers and civil servants often opt for these health insurance companies.

There is a multitude of insurance companies for both types. Depending on your individual situation, you might have to contact several insurers to find the best rate.

Returning to Canada

It is not possible to apply for coverage under a Canadian health plan before you arrive in Canada. It is recommended you contact the medical insurance plan of the province or territory in which you will reside upon your arrival. Often a three-month waiting period applies before coverage begins. You may wish to ensure that you have interim alternate medical insurance for this period. For information on interim insurance, please contact a private insurance company.

Footer

Date Modified:
2017-07-05

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Allemagne.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Pour les Canadiens
  4. >
  5. Passeport et services consulaires

Contenu supplémentaire

Santé et assurance maladie

Voyager en Allemagne

Avant de quitter le Canada, contactez votre régime d'assurance pour savoir quels soins medicaux sont assurées à l'éxterieur du Canada. Même si vous êtes assuré en dehors du pays, il est fort recommandé de prendre une assurance voyage supplémentaire. Les services de santé hors du Canada coûtent en général bien plus que ce que payera votre régime d'assurance local. Appelez une compagnie d'assurance médicale privée si vous désirez obtenir plus d'information.

Venir vivre en Allemagne

Si vous plannifiez de déménager en Allemagne, vous aurez besoin d'assurance medicale allemande. Dans la plupart des cas, une preuve d'assurance maladie (allemande) est requise quand vous faites la demande pour le titre de séjour allemand.

Le système de santé allemande connait deux sortes d'assurance maladie:

  • assurance maladie exigé par la loi (Gesetzliche Krankenkasse)

    Ces compagies d'assurance maladies sont normalement obligatoire pour les employés qui gagnent moins qu'une certaine somme par année. Il y a aussi des tarifs pour tous autres résidents d'Allemagne.

  • assurance maladie privée (Private Krankenversicherung)

    Ces compagnies offrent surtout des tarifs pour les employés avec un certain salaraire minimum, des indépendants et des fontionnaires.

Il existe un grand nombre de compagnies assurance maladie pour ces deux sorte d'assurance. Selon votre situation, vous devriez probablement contacter plusieurs compagnies afin de trouver le tarif meilleur.

Retournez vivre au Canada

Il n'est pas possible de s'enregistrer avec un régime d'assurance maladie canadien avant d'être arrivé au Canada. On vous conseille de contacter un bureau du régime d'assurance-maladie de la province ou du territoire où vous habiterez dès votre retour. Souvent une période de carence de trois mois devra être respectée. Il sera donc indiqué de prendre une police assurance-santé privée pour cette période. Pour plus de renseignements sur une assurance provisoire, contactez une compagnie d'assurance privée.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2017-07-05