Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Germany.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Canada is Partner Country of GreenTec Awards 2017 – 10 Canadian Companies Nominated for TOP 10 in different categories

In 2017, Canada will be the first partner country of the GreenTec Awards, Europe’s most important environmental awards showcasing green technologies. Awards are being presented in the following categories: Construction & Living, Energy, Galileo Wissenspreis, Communication, Lifestyle, Mobility, Recycling & Resources, Travel, Sports, Textiles & Fashion. From the invention of the electron microscope to the selfie stick, not to mention the discovery of insulin, Canada has already proven its innovative strength in a wide variety of fields. Its partnership with the GreenTec Awards underlines Canada’s innovative approach in its promotion of green technologies and a sustainable economy.

Of the 25 Canadian applicants, the following 10 feature among the nominations for the TOP 10 in the various categories:

Category Mobility

Ballard Power Systems Inc. (BC)
Aberdeen Hydrogen Bus Project – Europe’s largest fleet of fuel cell buses

In support of its ambition to be one of the world’s leading cities for low carbon technology, Aberdeen in Scotland deploys Europe’s largest fleet of hydrogen fuel cell buses. With funding support from the Fuel Cells and Hydrogen Joint Undertaking, ten buses provide zero-emission transportation throughout the city. The buses emit only water vapour, reducing carbon emissions and air pollution, as well as being quieter and smoother to run than diesel buses. The buses are part of a "whole hydrogen" solution, with wind energy supplying power for hydrogen generation through electrolysis.

Cadex Electronics Inc. (BC)
Diagnostic battery management

CADEX's Diagnostic Battery Management (DBM) is a novel approach for the analysis of the `state of health` of batteries and combines proven CADEX battery test solutions with a tool to optimize the maintenance of batteries. DBM helps decisions to be made on battery replacement based on real status data instead of estimations on lifetime and thus to increase operational safety, save battery costs and protect the environment at the same time.

Corvus Energy (BC)
Lithium-ion based energy storage systems (ESS)

As the leading manufacturer of energy storage systems for maritime applications, Corvus Energy designed and built the Orca ESS solutions portfolio based on experience from 50+ projects utilizing a Corvus Energy ESS, totaling over 35 MWh and one million operating hours. Rather than a single product, the Orca ESS product line delivers a range of products that are designed to meet the needs of various marine customers. Orca Energy is ideal for applications that require large amounts of energy such as ferries and merchant vessels, while Orca Power has been designed for applications that require a seamless response to dynamic power loads such as offshore supply vessels and port equipment. Corvus Energy’s Orca ESS solution for hybrid power and propulsion systems will improve efficiency, reduce exhaust emissions and lower noise levels, making it the most environmentally friendly vessel in the fleet, and the new flagship ferry for Wightlink.

Category Energy

Black Rock Tidal Power Inc. (NS)
Tidal energy conversion systems - power from the sea

Black Rock Tidal Power (BRTP) offers a unique solution to generate power from tidal currents. The technology combines the innovative semi-submerged floating and rotating TRITON platform with small and robust tidal turbines made by SCHOTTEL HYDRO. Currently BRTP is developing a project to generate 2.5 MW of tidal power in the Bay of Fundy in Canada.

Quadrogen Power Systems, Inc. (BC)
A Hex-Generation story of growing tomatoes using landfill gas from garbage

Landfill Gas - it’s green, but not clean and can contribute to GHG emissions if vented or flared. It carries up to 300 types of contaminants that, if not removed, limit its usage and/or the reliability of downstream processes. Quadrogen’s Hex-Generation project converts raw landfill gas into heat and power as utilities for the greenhouse, but also as a world first contributes to a reduced carbon footprint by using the CO2 for the fertilization of greenhouse tomatoes. Hydrogen and biodiesel are produced as well and can be used to fuel refuse trucks or shipping vehicles to bring tomatoes to market. 

Category Lifestyle

“Good Natured” brand (BC)
Plant-based office organization products developed by Solegear Bioplastic Technologies Inc.

The Good Natured™ brand of home and office organizers takes everyday consumer products and reformulates them to be better for the planet without sacrificing design or quality. The current five-product collection is powered by Solegear’s proprietary LV®1250 bioplastic, a USDA BioPreferred® product with 85 percent bio-based content and no BPAs, phthalates or other hazardous chemicals. These products use the maximum possible annually renewable, plant-based material rather than fossil fuels and can also reduce CO2 emissions by up to 60 percent during manufacturing due to lower processing temperatures.

Category Recycling & Resources

PureSphera (QC)
Recycler of cooling equipment and reducer of GHG

PureSphera specializes in treating and recycling appliances that contain halocarbons. Its technologies destroy refrigerant gases and blowing agents to reduce emissions of greenhouse gases and ozone depleting substances (ODS). The company operates a facility that is unique in North America for the recycling of domestic refrigerators and freezers at rate of 96 percent.

Category Special prize Start-up

Pyrowave (QC)
Microwave technology for recycling mixed plastics

Pyrowave enables the recycling of post-consumer plastic through its distributed proprietary Catalytic Microwave Depolymerisation process. The technology uses microwaves to selectively break the plastic molecules into products that are purchased by plastic manufacturers to make new plastics. Small machines are leased by recyclers feeding their plastic waste to reduce landfill costs and improve environmental sustainability. The recycled chemicals are purchased by plastic manufacturers as they increase the recycled content of plastic without changing their synthesis process.

Category Travel

Terragon Environmental Technologies Inc. (OC)
MAGS - Recovering energy from cruise ship waste

It is not surprising that cruise ships generate large amounts of solid waste, resulting in demands from ship owners for solutions to repurpose and utilize waste to generate energy onboard. Terragon’s MAGS is a novel energy appliance fueled by waste, providing cruise ships with exceptionally clean operation, improved safety, energy efficiency and recovery and increased savings. Implemented on two luxury cruise ships traveling to environmentally sensitive areas, MAGS is influencing changes in maritime regulations, through the IMO, that will eventually phase out polluting incinerators.

Construction & Living

VERROX (QC)
VERROX Glass Powder – a cement additive developed by Tricentris

VERROX offers a new way to add value to glass and to provide the construction industry with a high-performing cement additive. Considering that one ton of cement generates about one ton of greenhouse gases, replacing cement with VERROX reduces CO2 emissions. Research has shown that VERROX increases the performance of concrete and a recent life cycle analysis determined that it is highly preferable for the environment. VERROX has already been used in several construction projects in Quebec: in concrete slabs, street furniture, paving and sidewalks. Using VERROX also contributes to obtaining LEED® points.

Through Online Voting (up until January 6, 2017), it will be decided which innovations will go on to the next stage.

How does Online Voting work? Everyone can participate once at http://abstimmung.greentec-awards.com/. You are allowed to vote for one candidate in each category by clicking on “Vote now”.  To finalize your vote, don’t forget to click on “Vote now” at the bottom of the page.

Use #GreenTecCanada to promote Canadian participants in the social media and follow us on: https://www.facebook.com/CanadainGermany/

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-12-12

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Allemagne.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Le Canada pays partenaire des GreenTecAwards (Prix GreenTec) 2017. 10 entreprises canadiennes proposées pour figurer au « TOP 10 »

Le Canada sera le premier pays partenaire des prix Greentec en 2017. Les prix Greentec représentent la plus importante distinction européenne en matière d’environnement permettant de mettre en valeur les technologies vertes. Les meilleures idées seront récompensées dans les catégories Construction et logement, Énergie, Prix du savoir Galileo, Communication, Mode de vie, Mobilité, Recyclage et ressources, Voyage, Sports et textile et Mode. De l’invention du microscope électronique à l’invention du « selfie stick », en passant par la découverte de l’insuline, le Canada a déjà fait preuve de sa capacité d'innovation dans une variété de domaines. Le partenariat avec les prix Greentec souligne l'approche novatrice du Canada dans la promotion des technologies vertes et d’une économie durable.

 Parmi les 25 entreprises candidates canadiennes, dix ont été proposées pour faire partie du « Top 10 » dans les différentes catégories :

Catégorie Énergie (Energy)

Black Rock Tidal Power Inc. (NS)
Systèmes de conversion de l'énergie marémotrice – énergie de la mer

Black Rock Tidal Power (BRTP) offre une solution unique pour produire de l’électricité à partir des courants de marée. La technologie combine la plateforme flottante et tournante innovante et semi-immergée TRITON avec de petites turbines marémotrices compactes fabriquées par SCHOTTEL HYDRO. BRTP élabore actuellement un projet pour générer 2,5 MW d’énergie marémotrice dans la baie de Fundy au Canada.

Quadrogen Power Systems, Inc. (C-B)
… ou comment faire pousser des tomates à partir de gaz d’enfouissement provenant de déchets

Les gaz d'enfouissement : ils sont verts, mais pas propres, et peut contribuer aux émissions de GES s’ils sont rejetés dans l'atmosphère ou brûlés. Ils transportent jusqu'à 300 types de contaminants qui, s'ils ne sont pas éliminés, limitent leur utilisation et/ou la fiabilité des processus en aval. En plus de convertir les gaz d'enfouissement bruts en chaleur et en électricité pour les serres, le projet de Quadrogen est le premier au monde à réduire l'empreinte carbone en utilisant le CO2 pour la fertilisation des tomates de serre. De l'hydrogène et du biodiesel sont également produits et peuvent être utilisés pour alimenter les camions d'ordures ou les véhicules d'expédition pour transporter les tomates au marché.

Catégorie Mobilité (Mobility)

Ballard Power Systems Inc. (C-B)
Projet d’autobus à pile à combustible d’Aberdeen – la plus grande flotte d’autobus à pile à combustible d’Europe

Poursuivant son objectif d’être un leader mondial des technologies à faibles émissions de carbone, la ville d’Aberdeen en Écosse possède la plus grande flotte d’autobus à pile à combustible d’Europe. Avec l’appui financier de l’entreprise commune « Piles à combustible et hydrogène », dix autobus assurent le transport non polluant dans toute la ville. Les bus ne dégagent que de la vapeur d’eau, réduisant ainsi les émissions de carbone et la pollution atmosphérique et offrant également un roulement plus doux et plus silencieux que ceux à moteur diesel. Les autobus font partie d’une solution complète hydrogène, la génération d’hydrogène par électrolyse étant alimentée par l’énergie éolienne.

Cadex Electronics Inc. (C-B)
« Gestion diagnostique des batteries », ou DBM)

Combinant des solutions CADEX éprouvées en matière de testage des batteries avec un outil visant à optimiser l'entretien des batteries, le Diagnostic Battery Management (DBM) de CADEX est une approche novatrice en matière d'analyse de l'« état de santé » des batteries. DBM aide à prendre des décisions en ce qui concerne le remplacement des batteries sur la base de données réelles au lieu d'estimations concernant la durée de vie, améliorant ainsi la sécurité opérationnelle, et permettant d'économiser les coûts tout en protégeant l'environnement.

Corvus Energy (C-B)
Systèmes de stockage d'énergie (SSE) au lithium-ion

Premier fabricant de systèmes de stockage d'énergie pour les applications maritimes, Corvus Energy a conçu et construit le portefeuille de solutions Orca ESS sur la base des expériences découlant de plus de 50 projets utilisant un SSE Corvus Energy, totalisant plus de 35 MWh et un million d'heures d’exploitation. Orca ESS offre une gamme de produits conçus pour répondre aux besoins de différents clients dans le domaine maritime. Orca Energy est un produit idéal pour les applications nécessitant de grandes quantités d'énergie, comme les ferries et les navires marchands. Orca Power a été conçu pour les applications nécessitant une réponse fluide aux charges dynamiques, comme les navires hauturiers de ravitaillement et les équipements portuaires. La solution Orca ESS de Corvus Energy pour les systèmes d'alimentation et de propulsion hybrides améliorere l'efficacité, en plus de réduire les émissions et les niveaux de bruit, ce qui en fait le navire le plus respectueux de l'environnement de la flotte et le nouveau traversier phare de Wightlink.

Catégorie Mode de vie (Lifestyle)

Marque “Good Natured” (C-B)
Produits d’organisation à base végétale pour les bureaux à base végétale développés par Solegear Bioplastic Technologies Inc.

La marque Good Natured de produits d'organisation pour la maison et le bureau prend des produits de consommation courante et les reformule afin qu’ils soient meilleurs pour la planète sans sacrifier le design ou la qualité. La collection actuelle, composée de cinq produits, utilise du bioplastique LV®1250 de Solegear, un produit « USDA BioPreferred® » à 85% de contenu biologique et sans BPA, phtalates ou autres produits chimiques dangereux. Ces produits, qui utilisent un maximum de matières végétales renouvelables annuellement plutôt que des combustibles fossiles, peuvent également réduire les émissions de CO2 jusqu'à 60 % pendant la fabrication grâce à des températures de traitement plus basses.

Catégorie Recyclage & resources (Recycling & Ressources)

PureSphera (QC)
Recycleur d’équipements de refroidissement et réducteur de GES

PureSphera se spécialise dans le traitement et le recyclage d'appareils contenant des halocarbures. Ses technologies détruisent les gaz réfrigérants et les agents d’expansion pour réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et de substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone (SACO). La société exploite une installation unique en Amérique du Nord qui recycle des réfrigérateurs et congélateurs domestiques à 96 %.

Prix special Start-up (Special prize Start-up)

Pyrowave (QC)
Technologie micro-ondes pour le recyclage des plastiques mélangés

Pyrowave permet le recyclage des plastiques post-consommation grâce à son procédé breveté de dépolymérisation catalytique. La technologie utilise des micro-ondes pour insérer sélectivement les molécules de plastique dans des produits achetés par des fabricants pour fabriquer de nouveaux plastiques. Des recycleurs louent de petites machines qu’ils alimentent de leurs déchets plastiques afin de réduire les coûts d'enfouissement et améliorer la viabilité environnementale. Les produits chimiques recyclés sont achetés par des fabricants de plastique qui augmentent le contenu recyclé du plastique sans changer leur processus de synthèse.

Category Voyage (Travel)

Terragon Environmental Technologies Inc. (OC)
MAGS - Récupération de l’énergie des déchets produits par les navires de croisière

Il n’est pas surprenant que les navires de croisière génèrent une grande quantité de déchets solides, ce qui a entraîné des demandes de la part des armateurs pour des solutions de réutilisation des déchets pour produire de l’énergie à bord. MAGS de Terragon est un nouvel appareil générateur d’énergie alimenté par les déchets qui fournit aux navires de croisière une opération extrêmement propre, une amélioration de la sécurité, de l’efficacité énergétique et de la récupération de l’énergie ainsi que des économies appréciables. Mis en œuvre sur deux luxueux navires de croisière circulant dans des zones écologiquement sensibles, MAGS favorise, par le biais de l’OMI, l’évolution des réglementations maritime dans le sens de l’abandon progressif des incinérateurs polluants.

Catégorie Construction et logement (Construction & Living)

VERROX (QC)
Poudre de verre VERROX – un ajout cimentaire développé par Tricentris

VERROX offre une nouvelle manière de revaloriser le verre tout en fournissant à l’industrie de la construction un ajout cimentaire performant. Compte tenu du fait qu’une tonne de ciment génère environ une tonne de gaz à effet de serre, le remplacement du ciment par VERROX réduit les émissions de CO2. Des recherches ont démontré que VERROX améliore la performance du ciment et une analyse récente du cycle de vie a permis d’établir que cela est bénéfique pour l’environnement. VERROX a déjà été utilisé dans divers projets de construction au Québec : dalles de béton, mobilier urbain, pavage et trottoirs. L’utilisation de VERROX contribue également à l’obtention de points LEED®.

Un vote en ligne (jusqu'au 6 janvier 2017) décidera à present quelles innovations franchiront la prochaine étape.

Comment fonctionne le vote en ligne ? En vous rendant à http://abstimmung.greentec-awards.com/, vous pourrez voter pour un candidat dans chaque catégorie en cliquant sur « Vote now » (« voter maintenant ». À la fin, n’oubliez pas de cliquer sur « Vote now » (« soumettre mon vote ») ! Chaque personne peut participer une fois et voter pour un candidat par catégorie. 

Utilisez #GreenTecCanada pour promouvoir les participants canadiens dans les médias sociaux, et suivez-nous sur https://www.facebook.com/CanadaenAllemagne/ !

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-12-12