Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Germany.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office
  4. >
  5. Contact Us

Integrated Art in the New Canadian Embassy in Berlin

One of the most talked-about features of Canada's new Embassy in Berlin is the "integrated art," or works of art that are a permanent part of the building's structure and design. Five Canadian works of art are installed in the public areas of the Berlin Embassy, where they will be seen by thousands of people each year who will travel through the Embassy's public passageway, accessing the Embassy's services, or visiting the Embassy on official business.

Serving functional as well as aesthetic purposes, these works are based on the theme of the Canadian landscape, and are created from natural or Canadian-built products.

This represents the first time that a public call for proposals from artists has been held to commission integrated art into the architecture of a Canadian Embassy. Five artists were chosen from among 227 across Canada who submitted expressions of interest in response to the call. The five, all of whom have demonstrated success in public art, were selected in 2002 by an advisory committee comprising visual arts, architectural, design and project specialists. The final works were commissioned by Canada 's Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade.

The artists worked closely with building architects and project managers to ensure effective progress from vision to installation. Following are brief descriptions of the art and the artists who created them.

Pictures of the Integrated Art

Entrance Hall with

"River - Rivière - Fluss"
Barbara Steinman

Granite and quartzite inlaid floor design for main Embassy reception area

Designed for the floor of the Reception Hall in the new Embassy, the shape of a river is inlaid with laser-cut white and blue-gray granites in a field of polished black. Stainless steel strips delineate latitude and longitude. The inlay looks like an ice floe or a bathymetric map of water depths. The work suggests an overlay of sites: Canada within the city of Berlin, each known for its many waterways and rivers.

Integrated art design: Barbara Steinman, River - Rivière - Fluss (2005)

Barbara Steinman lives and works in her hometown of Montreal, Quebec. She was a recipient of a Governor General's Award in Visual and Media Arts in 2002.

Ceiling of Timber Hall


"North"
Adrian Göllner

Suspended aluminum and glass compass rim in the Timber Hall

 

"North" comprises two parts: the first a metal and glass compass ring that floats just below the top of the Timber Hall and changes colour throughout the day depending upon the light, going from blue to magenta to golden bronze by dusk; the second an inlaid floor design depicting stars in the north sky, including the Pole Star.

Adrian Göllner is a contemporary artist who lives and works in Ottawa, Ontario. He employs a variety of media and techniques in a chameleon-like adaptation to the environments in which he exhibits.

John McEwen, Der Fluss als Faden, das Kanu als Nadel

"The river as thread, the canoe as needle"
John McEwen
Bronze sculpture in the Canada Passage

Each day, several hundred people will see this 6.4-metre bronze canoe suspended overhead as they pass through the public passage between Leipziger Platz and the interior courtyard. Created by Canadian sculptor John McEwen, the canoe is engraved with a map of Canada's major waterways. The map illustrates the routes taken by Alexander Mackenzie from Montreal to the Beaufort Sea in 1789, and to the Pacific Ocean in 1793, thus the concept of "the river as thread, the canoe as needle."

John McEwen is one of Canada's leading artists and is represented in museum, gallery and private collections across the country, notably the McMichael Canadian Art Collection in Kleinburg, Ontario.

Weather Pattern  

"Canadian Weather Patterns"
Barbara Astman
Fritted pattern on curved glass wall around the Timber Hall

Barbara Astman has used a translucent white frit to create impressions of cloud patterns, based on satellite pictures of Earth where the continents are partially obscured by clouds in the lower atmosphere. This glass wall, with its abstract images and indistinct geographic features, surrounds the staircase of the Embassy's Timber Hall and overlooks a water garden and waterfall.

Barbara Astman is on the faculty of the Ontario College of Art and Design in Toronto, Ontario. She has been involved in public art projects since the mid-1980s and has exhibited in Canada and internationally for more than 30 years.

Floor of Timber Hall


"North"
Adrian Göllner
Wood and aluminum floor design in the Timber Hall

 

Adrian Göllner's floor design for the public-use conference room in the Timber Hall was inspired by the concept of "North" as a commonality between the two nations and a reorientation from the former East-West division to "North." The arrangement of stars depicts an astronomical method for finding north.

Robin Collyer, Blätterdach  
"Canopy"
Robin Collyer
Digital photographic image on vinyl applied to architectural louvres in the Embassy courtyard



The artist has applied a photographic image of a Northern Ontario woodland scene to the underside of a series of 14-metre long louvres. The effect is an autumn-coloured tree canopy within the central courtyard of the Embassy. This work subtly inserts a Canadian landscape scene into the urban architectural environment of contemporary Berlin.

Robin Collyer lives and works in Toronto, Ontario. He is known internationally for his sculptural practice and also works extensively with photography

Copyright "River - Rivière - Fluss": (c) Viscusi, Stones & Projects Ltd., Berlin.
All other pictures: fotodesignberlin (In German only); (c) Embassy of Canada

Footer

Date Modified:
2009-07-07

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Allemagne.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Contactez-nous

Art intégré dans la nouvelle Ambassade du Canada à Berlin

L'un des éléments de la nouvelle ambassade du Canada à Berlin dont on parle le plus est la présence d'art intégré ou d'œuvres d'art qui font partie intégrante de la structure et de la conception du bâtiment. Cinq œuvres d'art canadiennes sont installées dans les aires publiques de l'ambassade, où pourront les voir des milliers de personnes qui emprunteront chaque année le passage piétonnier, qui se rendront consulter les services de l'ambassade ou encore qui visiteront les lieux pour affaire officielle.

Ces œuvres ont un but à la fois fonctionnel et esthétique. Elles ont été élaborées autour du thème du paysage canadien et créées à partir de matériaux naturels ou de produits canadiens.

C'est la première fois qu'un appel f'offres était fait auprès d'artistes dans le but de commander des œuvres d'art devant être intégrées à l'architecture d'une ambassade canadienne. On a choisi cinq artistes parmi les 227 qui ont exprimé leur intérêt à la suite de l'appel d'offres. Les cinq artistes, tous réputés dans le domaine de « l'art civique », ont été choisis en 2002 par un comité consultatif formé de spécialistes des arts visuels, de l'architecture, de la conception et de projets. Les œuvres choisies ont été commandées par le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international du Canada.

Les artistes ont collaboré étroitement avec les gestionnaires du projet et les architectes afin de s'assurer de franchir les étapes de la vision à l'installation. Voici une brève description des œuvres et des artistes qui les ont créées.

Esquisses de l'art intégré

Entrance Hall with

"River - Rivière - Fluss"
Barbara Steinman
Plancher de granit et de quarzites incrustés de l'aire de réception principale de l'ambassade

L'aire de réception principale de l'ambassade comprend un plancher de granit noir incrusté de quartzites et de pièces de granit de couleur découpées au laser et représentant une rivière. Des bandes de zinc, qui représentent les longitudes et les latitudes, croisent la surface de 86 mètres carrés, cadrant bien avec la forme circulaire du Timber Hall et rappelant des cartes et des paysages.

Barbara Steinman réside et travaille à Montréal, au Québec, sa ville natale. Elle a reçu en 2002 le prix de la Gouverneure générale pour les arts visuels et les arts des médias.

Ceiling of Timber Hall

"North"
Adrian Göllner
Anneau de verre et d'aluminium suspendu (Timber Hall)

L'œuvre comprend deux parties. La première est un anneau de métal et de verre qui flotte juste sous le plafond de Timber Hall et change de couleur au fur et à mesure que change la lumière du jour, pour passer du bleu au magenta puis au bronze, au crépuscule. La deuxième est un motif incrusté dans le plancher représentant les étoiles du ciel nordique, y compris l'étoile du Nord.

Adrian Göllner est un artiste contemporain qui réside et travaille à Ottawa, en Ontario. Il fait appel à divers médias et techniques pour s'adapter, à la manière d'un caméléon, à l'environnement dans lequel il expose ses œuvres.

John McEwen, Der Fluss als Faden, das Kanu als Nadel

"The river as thread, the canoe as needle"
John McEwen
Bronze installé dans le passage piétonnier

Chaque jour, plusieurs centaines de personnes qui emprunteront le passage piétonnier reliant la Leipziger Platz et la cour intérieure pourront voir ce canoë de bronze suspendu d'une longueur de 6,4 mètres, œuvre du sculpteur canadien John McEwen. L'artiste y a gravé une carte des grandes voies navigables du Canada, sur laquelle sont illustrées les routes empruntées par Alexander Mackenzie pour relier Montréal à la mer de Beaufort, en 1789, et à l'océan Pacifique, en 1793, d'où le titre et l'idée de la rivière qui représente le fil, et le canoë, l'aiguille.

John McEwen est un artiste canadien renommé. Ses œuvres sont présentes dans des musées, des galeries et des collections privées partout au pays, notamment au McMichael Canadian Art Collection, à Kleinburg, en Ontario.

Weather Pattern

"Canadian Weather Patterns"
Barbara Astman
Motif fritté sur le mur de verre courbe du Timber Hall

Barbara Astman a utilisé un verre fritté translucide pour créer l'impression de nuages, s'inspirant d'images satellite de la Terre sur lesquelles les continents sont partiellement obscurcis par des nuages qui se trouvent dans la basse atmosphère. Ce mur de verre, avec ses images abstraites et ses accidents géographiques à peine visibles, ceinture l'escalier du Timber Hall et surplombe un jardin d'eau et une chute.

Barbara Astman fait partie du corps professoral du Ontario College of Art and Design, à Toronto, en Ontario. Elle participe à des projets d'art civique depuis le milieu des années 1980 et tient des expositions au Canada et à l'étranger depuis plus de 30 ans.

Floor of Timber Hall

"North"
Adrian Göllner
Plancher de bois et d'aluminium (Timber Hall)

Le plancher qu'a conçu Adrian Göllner pour la salle de conférence publique du Timber Hall s'inspire de l'idée du « Nord », point commun entre les deux nations et réorientation de l'ancien axe Est-Ouest, vers le « Nord ». La disposition des étoiles illustre une méthode astronomique servant à trouver le nord.

Robin Collyer, Blätterdach

"Canopy"
Robin Collyer
Photographie numérique sur vinyle appliquée sur des persiennes décoratives installées dans la cour de l'ambassade

L'artiste a appliqué sur la face inférieure d'une série de persiennes de 14 mètres de long, une image photographique qui reproduit une scène de la région boisée du Nord de l'Ontario. Il obtient ainsi l'effet d'un couvert forestier aux couleurs d'automne dans la cour centrale de l'ambassade et intègre de façon subtile un paysage canadien dans l'environnement architectural urbain du Berlin d'aujourd'hui.

Robin Collyer réside et travaille à Toronto, en Ontario. Il est connu mondialement pour son œuvre sculpturale. Il utilise aussi abondamment la photographie.

Copyright "River - Rivière - Fluss" (c) Viscusi, Stones & Projects Ltd., Berlin.

Tous les autres images : fotodesignberlin (seulement en allenand); (c) Ambassade du Canada

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2009-07-07