Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

ghana.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Field Experience in Ghana helps shape the future of Canadian students


 
Chary and Luke Nakonechny with Apemanim students

Eight students from the University of Alberta arrived in Ghana this summer as part of the course EDFX 490: Global Citizenship Field Experience in Ghana. Joined by two Ghanaian classmates — teachers from the village of Atwima Apemanim — the students formed the sixth contingent to participate in the Faculty of Education program.


Natalie Danchuk: Teaching Origami
   

Lauren Koehn: At the Home of her Host Family
   

Left to Right: Chary, Franklin Adarkwa-Yiadom, Lauren Koehn, Rashidatu Moro, Sarah Ellett, Sarah Fletcher, Luke Nakonechny, Emily Pohl, Front: Natalie Danchuk, Jordan Tamblyn
   

Sarah Fletcher: Math lesson
   

Jordan Tamblyn and Emily Pohl - Apemanim
   

For most of the students, a week-long stay in Apemanim was the highlight of the program. With their instructor Dr. Ansu-Kyeremeh, students spent time in the schools, resource centre, and other facilities that have been established in recent years. They also had the opportunity to learn about the governance structures of the community from Apemanim’s Queen Mother.

Most profoundly, students had the opportunity to spend time with local families. Through the sharing of conversation and daily routines – from farming and operating a small business to carrying out chores and preparing a meal – the students gained greater affinity and understanding of Ghanaian culture. Commenting on the significance of the exchange, Ansu-Kyeremeh notes, "I sense deeper understanding and greater personal reflection, moving from touching the life of the community to touching the life of the individual."

The participation of two local teachers in the program was also invaluable to the exchange of knowledge and perspectives, as the University of Alberta students (future teachers themselves) learned about the Ghanaian education system.

While each component of the course provided valuable opportunities for learning, what students gained was more than the sum of the program’s parts.

Before embarking on the experience, Emily Pohl anticipated “learning so much about a culture I had no experience with, and finding a new perspective.” Afterwards, she described the experience as, “So much more than I expected. This experience…taught me that learning can be uncomfortable. You have to face things that contradict a lot of what you thought was right, wrestle with it a bit, and then reach a new understanding.”

Her sentiments echo those shared by participants throughout the years. As Heather Shapka from the 2007 group observed, “It has become a part of who I am as an individual, but also who I am as an educator.”

Since 2007, 106 University of Alberta students have taken part in the EDFX 490: Global Citizenship Field Experience in Ghana program. In 2009, 2010 and 2011, participants also included students from the Faculties of Nursing and Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences. Twelve local Ghanaian teachers have also participated, with two making a reciprocal field visit to Canada.

Now in its fifth year, past participants continue to connect with Faculty of Education staff, each other, and contacts made in Ghana to discuss how their experiences there have carried forward in their lives both personally and professionally. As Georgia Davies of the 2009 contingent notes, “Almost every day I share stories with my students about my time in Ghana. My experience has become part of my teaching practice and has been integrated into daily lessons.”

As the EDFX 490 program looks ahead, there is a sense that its impacts will continue to make themselves known long after participants have come home and unpacked their bags.

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-08-23

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

ghana.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Une expérience sur le terrain aide à forger le futur d’étudiants canadiens


 
Chary et Luke Nakonechny avec des élèves d’Apemanim

Huit étudiants de l’Université de l’Alberta se sont rendus au Ghana cet été dans le cadre du cours EDFX 490 : Expérience sur le terrain de la citoyenneté mondiale au Ghana. En compagnie de deux condisciples ghanéens, enseignants du village d’Atwima Apemanim, les étudiants formaient la sixième cohorte à participer au programme de la Faculté de l’éducation.


Natalie Danchuk : cours d’origami
   

Lauren Koehn : à la maison de sa famille d’accueil
   

De gauche à droite : Chary, Franklin Adarkwa-Yiadom, Lauren Koehn, Rashidatu Moro, Sarah Ellett, Sarah Fletcher, Luke Nakonechny, Emily Pohl. À l’avant : Natalie Danchuk, Jordan Tamblyn
   

Sarah Fletcher : leçon de mathématiques
   

Jordan Tamblyn et Emily Pohl à Apemanim
   

Pour la plupart des étudiants, la semaine au village d’Apemanim a été le clou du programme. Accompagnés de leur formateur, M. Ansu‑Kyeremeh, les étudiants ont eu l’occasion de passer du temps dans les écoles, le centre de ressources et d’autres établissements mis en place au cours des dernières années, et en ont appris davantage sur la structure de gouvernance de la collectivité directement de la Reine Mère d’Apemanim.

Les étudiants ont aussi eu la possibilité de passer du temps avec des familles locales. Au fil des conversations et de la routine quotidienne – activités à la ferme, exploitation d’un petit commerce, exécution de tâches quotidiennes, préparation des repas, etc. –, les étudiants ont développé des affinités avec les gens et une meilleure compréhension de la culture ghanéenne. « J’ai l’impression qu’ils comprennent mieux notre réalité et qu’ils se sont livrés à une réflexion personnelle plus poussée, s’intéressant d’abord à la vie de la collectivité, puis à celle des individus », a déclaré M. Ansu-Kyeremeh au sujet de l’importance de ces échanges.

La participation de deux enseignants locaux au programme a également facilité l’échange des connaissances et des perspectives, car les étudiants de l’Université de l’Alberta (qui seront eux‑mêmes enseignants) ont appris à connaître le système d’éducation ghanéen.

Bien que chaque composante du cours ait présenté d’importantes possibilités d’apprentissage, l’expérience globale qu’en tirent les étudiants équivaut à bien plus que la somme des parties du programme.

Avant le départ, Emily Pohl s’attendait à ce que cette expérience lui en apprenne beaucoup sur une culture qui lui était inconnue et lui apporte une nouvelle perspective. « C’est tellement plus que ce à quoi je m’attendais, a-t-elle dit à son retour. Cette expérience m’a appris que l’apprentissage peut provoquer des malaises. Vous devez vivre des situations qui vont à l’encontre de ce qui vous semblait juste, les combattre un peu et arriver à développer une nouvelle compréhension du monde. »

Ses sentiments ressemblent à ceux exprimés par les anciens participants au programme. Heather Shapka, de la cohorte de 2007, a indiqué que l’expérience fait désormais partie de sa personnalité, mais aussi de son identité d’enseignante.

Depuis 2007, 106 étudiants de l’Université de l’Alberta ont suivi le cours EDFX 490 : Expérience sur le terrain de la citoyenneté mondiale au Ghana. Parmi les participants de 2009, 2010 et 2011 se trouvaient également des étudiants des facultés des sciences infirmières, des sciences de l’agriculture, des sciences de la vie et des sciences de l’environnement. Douze enseignants ghanéens locaux y ont également participé, dont deux ont fait un voyage pédagogique semblable au Canada.

En cette cinquième année, les participants antérieurs continuent à communiquer entre eux ainsi qu’avec le personnel de la Faculté de l’éducation et les gens qu’ils ont rencontrés au Ghana pour discuter de la manière dont cette expérience fait avancer leur vie personnelle et professionnelle. « Presque tous les jours, je partage avec mes élèves des moments passés au Ghana, indique Georgia Davies de la cohorte de 2009. Mon expérience fait partie de ma méthode d’enseignement et s’intègre aux leçons quotidiennes. »

Tandis que les responsables du programme EDFX 490 se penchent sur l’avenir, ils estiment que les répercussions du cours continueront à se faire sentir bien longtemps après le retour des participants à la maison.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-08-23