Canada trains Ghana’s journalists in data journalism and visual storytelling


Anthony Ayertey of Rite FM helps Joyce Nyaletashi Vidza of Radio Gold create an interactive table on her infographic story

One of the challenges of modern journalism is learning how to communicate about data and how to share the stories that live inside the numbers.

Canadian volunteers with Journalists for Human Rights (JHR) helped train Ghanaian reporters to produce infographics that make data more compelling and accessible to their readers.


Contest judge Afua Ankomah stands with competition winners: (from left) second runner up Ernest Dela Aglanu, first place winner Maxwell Adu-Gyamfi of PenPlusBytes, and first runner up Solomon Joojo Cobbinah of JoyNews on MultiTV.


Edmund Kofi Yeboah of the Daily Graphic works on a chart showing demographic data.


Cecil Ato Kwamena Dadzie puts the finishing touches on his story about the Campaign for Accelerated Reduction of Maternal Mortality In Africa.

The reporters, who came from more than ten of Ghana’s most important news outlets, learned to navigate public and private data sources, to understand and interpret the numbers, and how to find a news story within the information. They then learned various ways to depict that story in a visual form using infographic software.

On the second day of training, the journalists squared off against each other to see who had produced the best visual story, addressing topics such as health care deficiencies, government spending, road collisions, cancer rates and more. But the content was designed for more than competition; each piece was also designed for cross-publication by the reporters’ respective news outlets and JHR.

The stories were judged by Marc Ellison, a BBC data journalist, and Afua Ankomah, a Ghanaian data expert and former reporter.

“Within two days I've learned a lot," said Ernest Dela Aglanu, a reporter for myjoyonline.com. "Now I can confidently sit down and look at data. I can pick data from any site – maybe the World Bank or the Ghana Statistical Services – and put them into presentable graphics.”

The High Commission of Canada in Ghana provided support for the event, including a journalism tool kit, sample data, presentations and examples of infographics, as well as certificates for the award winners and participants.

This is not the first time that the High Commission has worked with JHR to train Ghanaian journalists. A social media forum last year helped young Ghanaian journalists realize the potential for using social media to create social change on both local and international platforms.

Events such as this are one way that Canada supports Ghana in its pursuit of a fairer, more open and more democratic society.

"The event was a great success," said JHR trainer Carolyn Thompson. "By the second day, the journalists were very enthusiastic about visual journalism and what they could do with it."

The event also welcomed guests from the World Bank, the United Nations Information Centre, and the Ghana Open Data Initiative. It also received funding from STAR-Ghana.

Interested in reading the stories? The reporters’ work is available online.

Le Canada forme des Ghanéens en journalisme de données et en narration visuelle


Anthony Ayertey, de Rite FM, aide Joyce Nyaletashi Vidza, de Radio Gold, à créer un tableau interactif pour son infographie

Une des difficultés du journalisme moderne est de savoir exprimer et interpréter des données.

Des bénévoles canadiens de Journalistes pour les droits humains (JDH) ont enseigné à des journalistes ghanéens comment créer des infographies rendant les données plus attrayantes et plus accessibles pour le lecteur.


La juge Afua Ankomah pose en compagnie des gagnants du concours : (de gauche à droite) le second finaliste Ernest Dela Aglanu, le grand gagnant Maxwell Adu-Gyamfi, de PenPlusBytes, et le premier finaliste Solomon Joojo Cobbinah, de JoyNews sur la chaîne MultiTV.


Edmund Kofi Yeboah, de Daily Graphic, travaille sur un graphique exposant des données démographiques.


Cecil Ato Kwamena Dadzie met la touche finale à son infographie sur la campagne de réduction accélérée du taux de mortalité maternelle en Afrique.

Les journalistes en question, provenant des principaux bureaux de presse du Ghana, ont appris à naviguer d’une source de données privée ou publique à l’autre, à comprendre et à interpréter les chiffres et à trouver l’histoire qui se cache derrière eux. On leur a aussi montré les différentes façons de raconter quelque chose en images, à l’aide d’un logiciel d’infographie.

Au second jour de formation, les journalistes se sont mesurés les uns aux autres pour voir qui avait produit la meilleure narration visuelle, sur des sujets comme les carences en soins de santé, les dépenses de l’État, les collisions routières et les taux de cancer. Mais leurs documents visuels n’étaient pas destinés uniquement à un concours; ils ont aussi été repris par leurs bureaux de presse respectifs, de même que par JDH.    

Les documents ont été jugés par Marc Ellison, un journaliste de données de la BBC, et par la Ghanéenne Afua Ankomah, spécialiste des données et ancienne journaliste.

« J’ai beaucoup appris en deux jours, a déclaré Ernest Dela Aglanu, journaliste à myjoyonline.com. Je peux maintenant parcourir les sites de la Banque mondiale ou des Services statistiques du Ghana, ou n’importe quel autre site, y puiser les données qui m’intéressent et les exposer dans des graphiques présentables. »

Le haut-commissariat du Canada au Ghana a bien voulu prêter son concours pour l’occasion, fournissant notamment une trousse de journalisme, des données-échantillons, des présentations et des modèles infographiques, de même que des certificats à remettre aux gagnants et aux participants.

Ce n’est pas la première fois que le haut-commissariat et JDH font équipe pour former des journalistes au Ghana. À l’occasion d’un forum sur les médias sociaux l’an dernier, ils avaient aidé de jeunes journalistes ghanéens à prendre conscience de l’utilité des médias sociaux comme vecteurs de changement social à l’échelle locale et internationale.  

C’est à la faveur d’initiatives de la sorte que le Canada peut aider le Ghana à devenir une société plus juste, plus ouverte et plus démocratique.

« Ce fut un succès sur toute la ligne, a indiqué Carolyn Thompson de JDH. Dès le deuxième jour, les journalistes parlaient avec enthousiasme du journalisme visuel et des possibilités qu’il leur offrait. »

Des représentants de la Banque mondiale, du Centre d’information des Nations Unies et de l’Initiative des données ouvertes du Ghana étaient également sur place lors de l’activité de formation, financée en partie par l’organisme STAR-Ghana.

Vous voulez voir le travail des participants? Le travail des journalistes est disponible en ligne.