Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Greece.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations

Canada-Cyprus Relations

Canada and Cyprus enjoy close bilateral relations through our shared membership in the UN and many of its agencies, the OSCE, La Francophonie, and the Commonwealth. Canada supports a negotiated solution to the Cyprus question that is acceptable to both sides, and was a major contributor to the United Nations Peacekeeping Force in Cyprus (UNFICYP) when it was formed in early 1964.  2014 marks the 50th anniversary of the arrival of the first Canadian peacekeepers in Cyprus.  Before the withdrawal of the bulk of the Canadian contingent in 1993, over 25,000 Canadian soldiers served in UNFICYP, 28 of whom lost their lives while deployed.   

Trade and Investment

Commercial Relations

Canada enjoys good commercial relations with Cyprus. In 2014, bilateral trade in goods with Cyprus was CAD 91.2 million. Canadian exports increased by 972.6% to CAD 87.9 million, while imports decreased by 13.1% % to CAD 3.3 million. No data is available for services flows.

Cyprus has recently discovered deposits of natural gas in its exclusive economic zone, and has launched bids for a second round of exploration. Opportunities may therefore exist not only in the development of natural gas and subsequent pipelines, but also in the possible development of a natural gas infrastructure in Cyprus.  Cyprus is weighing various options related to exploiting its own natural gas reserves, estimated at 10 trillion cubic metres in its offshore territory, and creating a liquefied natural gas (LNG) terminal to export its own natural gas as well as that of neighbouring countries, which could transform Cyprus into a regional energy hub.   The Cypriot government often promotes tenders to improve infrastructure in the sectors of electricity (power stations and power lines), roads, and management and consultancy services. As such, there is good potential for Canadian firms to partner in these local projects. The Cyprus-Canada Business Association, launched on January 21, 2011, is examining ways to exploit this potential and strengthen the bilateral commercial relationship.

The Canada-Cyprus Tax Convention for the Avoidance of Double Taxation was signed on May 2, 1984. Cyprus has expressed strong support for a successful conclusion to the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) negotiations.

March 2015


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Footer

Date Modified:
2015-03-13

Relations Canada-Chypre

Le Canada et Chypre entretiennent des relations bilatérales étroites en tant que membres de l'ONU et de bon nombre de ses organismes, de l'OSCE, de la Francophonie et du Commonwealth. Le Canada est favorable à une solution négociée à la question chypriote, acceptable pour les deux parties, et a été l’un des principaux contributeurs à la force de maintien de la paix des Nations Unies déployée à Chypre (UNFICYP), lorsque celle-ci a été formée au début de 1964. L’année 2014 marque donc le 50e anniversaire de l’arrivée des premiers Casques bleus canadiens à Chypre. Jusqu’au retrait de la majeure partie du contingent canadien en 1993, plus de 25 000 soldats canadiens ont servi dans la UNFICYP, et 28 d’entre eux y ont laissé leur vie.

Relations commerciales

Le Canada à de bonnes relations commerciales avec Chypre. En 2014, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises avec Chypre a été de 91,2 millions CAD. Les exportations canadiennes ont augmenté de 972,6% à 87,9 millions CAD, tandis que les importations ont diminué de 13,1%% à 3,3 millions CAD. Aucune donnée n'est disponible pour les flux de services.

Chypre a récemment découvert des gisements de gaz naturel dans sa zone économique exclusive et a lancé des appels d'offres pour une deuxième phase d'exploration. Des débouchés pourraient alors exister non seulement dans le secteur de l’exploitation du gaz naturel et de la construction d’oléoducs, mais également dans le développement d’une infrastructure de gaz naturel à Chypre. Chypre étudie diverses options relatives à l’exploitation de ses réserves de gaz naturel, estimées à 10 billions de mètres cubes sur ses territoires côtiers, et à la création d’un terminal de gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL) pour exporter son gaz naturel ainsi que celui de pays voisins, qui pourraient transformer le pays en plaque tournante régionale de l’énergie. Le gouvernement chypriote lance souvent des appels d’offres pour améliorer l’infrastructure dans les secteurs de l’électricité (centrales électriques et lignes électriques), des routes et des services de gestion et de consultations. Par conséquent, il existe pour les sociétés canadiennes d’excellentes occasions de partenariats dans le contexte de ces projets locaux. L’Association d'affaires Chypre-Canada, formée le 21 janvier 2011, examine des façons d'exploiter ce potentiel et de renforcer les relations commerciales bilatérales.

La Convention fiscale entre le Canada et Chypre en vue d’éviter les doubles impositions a été signée le 2 mai 1984. Chypre a par ailleurs exprimé son ferme appui à la conclusion fructueuse des négociations d’un accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada et l’Union européenne.

Février 2014


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.