Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Greece.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Canada celebrates La Francophonie in Greece


Lynda Thalie in Concert in Athens
   

Lynda Thalie with Ms. Haris Alexiou
   

Lynda Thalie with Ms. Haris Alexiou
   

Lynda Thalie with Ms. Haris Alexiou off-stage
   

Lynda Thalie with Ms. Haris Alexiou 
   

Lynda Thalie, Haris Alexiou, Mrs. Pantazi-Peck and Ambassador Robert Peck 
   

As part of the annual celebrations of La Francophonie in Greece, the Canadian Embassy, in collaboration with the Embassy of France, l'Institut français de Grèce and local partners, organized two concerts by Canadian-Algerian singer/composer Lynda Thalie in Athens and Thessaloniki. 

Ms. Thalie's repertoire presents music from the Maghreb, southern Europe and francophone Canada, highlighting the rich diversity of francophone countries, including Canada and Greece.

Ms. Thalie, whose Athens performance officially opened the Francophonie celebrations, performed in filled-to-capacity theatres to an audience of 800 people, which included prominent personalities and influencers in politics, media, academia and business. Ms. Thalie is an exceptionally talented and communicative performer, and audiences at both concerts clapped and sang along throughout the performance.  

At the Athens concert, one of Greece's most prominent singers, Ms. Haris Alexiou, made a special guest appearance where the two artists sang a duet in Greek and Arabic of the song "Tango to Evora" composed by Canada's Loreena McKennitt. The duet brought the audience to its feet applauding with emotion and enthusiasm.

As these concerts were held in the context of the francophonie celebrations in Greece, Ms. Thalie also participated in a special event for Greek youth where the winners of the national Francophonie scholastic competition were presented with special prizes. On this occasion, Ms. Thalie spoke to a Greek youth audience on the importance for respect for diversity and tolerance.

Ms Thalie gave several interviews to Greek media including, a total of fifteen feature interviews in the Greek press, one interview on national television and four on Greek radio. During her interviews, Ms. Thalie spoke of the diversity of her music but also of the importance for solidarity among people, particularly during these difficult times.  In this context, proceeds from Ms Thalie's concerts were donated to two humanitarian causes: the Elli Lambeti Centre (www.elli-lampeti.gr) for support to women with breast cancer in Athens and the Shelter for the Homeless of the Municipality of Thessaloniki. 

The Lynda Thalie concerts were made possible with the support of the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, la Délégation Québec Rome and numerous local organizations.  

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-06-19

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Grèce.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Le Canada célèbre la Francophonie en Grèce


Lynda Thalie en concert à Athens
   

Lynda Thalie et Mme. Haris Alexiou
   

Lynda Thalie et Mme. Haris Alexiou
   

Lynda Thalie et Mme. Haris Alexiou hors-scène
   

Lynda Thalie et Mme. Haris Alexiou 
   

Lynda Thalie, Haris Alexiou, Mme. Pantazi-Peck et l'ambassadeur Robert Peck 
   

Dans le cadre des célébrations annuelles de la Francophonie en Grèce, l’ambassade du Canada, en collaboration avec l’ambassade de France, l’Institut français de Grèce et des partenaires locaux a organisé deux concerts donnés par la chanteuse/compositrice canado-algérienne Lynda Thalie à Athènes et à Thessalonique. 

Le répertoire de Lynda Thalie couvre la musique du Maghreb, d’Europe du Sud et du Canada francophone, et souligne la riche diversité des pays francophones, y compris du Canada et de la Grèce.

Lynda Thalie, dont le spectacle à Athènes a officiellement inauguré les célébrations de la Francophonie, s’est produite dans des salles combles devant un public de 800 personnes, qui comprenait des personnalités éminentes et des personnes influentes du domaine de la politique et des médias ainsi que du monde universitaire et des affaires. Lynda Thalie est une chanteuse très talentueuse et communicative, et le public a applaudi et chanté avec elle tout au long de ses deux concerts.

Lors du concert d’Athènes, Mme Haris Alexiou, l’une des plus grandes chanteuses grecques, a effectué une apparition spéciale au cours de laquelle les deux artistes ont chanté en duo, en grec et en arabe, la chanson Tango to Evora composée par la Canadienne Loreena McKennitt. Le duo a reçu une ovation remplie d’émotion et d’enthousiasme du public.

En même temps que ces concerts qui se déroulaient dans le contexte des célébrations de la Francophonie en Grèce, Lynda Thalie a également participé à un événement spécial, destiné à la jeunesse grecque, de remise de prix spéciaux aux gagnants du concours scolaire national de la Francophonie. À cette occasion, Lynda Thalie s’est adressée à un public de jeunes grecs et leur a parlé de l’importance du respect de la diversité et de la tolérance.

Lynda Thalie a accordé plusieurs entrevues aux médias grecs, dont un total de quinze entrevues à la presse grecque, une entrevue à la télévision nationale et quatre entrevues à la radio grecque. Au cours de ces entrevues, Lynda Thalie a parlé de la diversité de sa musique, mais aussi de l’importance de la solidarité, notamment en ces temps difficiles. Dans ce contexte, elle a fait don des recettes de ses concerts à deux causes humanitaires : au Centre Elli Lambeti (www.elli-lampeti.gr) qui soutient des femmes atteintes du cancer du sein à Athènes, et à un foyer pour sans-abri de la municipalité de Thessalonique. 

Lynda Thalie a pu donner ces concerts grâce au soutien du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international, du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, de la Délégation Québec-Rome et de nombreux organismes locaux.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-06-19