Gallery: Canada Looks Back on 70th Diplomatic Anniversary with Greece

Canada celebrated 70 years of diplomatic relations with Greece in a year-long series of events. Check out the gallery to see how we celebrated this anniversary.

The year also saw two visits to Canada as part of the diplomatic anniversary, one by the Greek Minister of Foreign Affairs Dimitris Avramopoulos and the other by the Speaker of the Hellenic Parliament, Evangelos Meimarakis. The Speaker of the Canadian Senate, the Honourable Noel Kinsella, made an official visit to Greece in September 2013.

The Canadian Embassy in Athens partnered with a local promoter to support the first-ever series of performances by Cirque de Soleil’s “Alegria” in Greece, which surpassed all expectations for audience attendance despite the ongoing economic crisis. The Speaker of the Canadian Senate, the Honourable Noel Kinsella, hosted the Speaker of the Hellenic Parliament, Mr. Evangelos Meimarakis, for a performance during his official visit to Greece.

The Embassy also worked with NGO ELPIDA, which supports the most important paediatric cancer hospital in Greece, to organize a special Cirque de Soleil fundraising performance under the leadership of UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador Mrs. Marianna Vardinoyannis.

On the musical front, pianist Marika Bournaki of Montreal performed at the Onassis Cultural Centre in March as part of a tribute to the legendary Glenn Gould.

Jean also announced that the University of Ottawa had funded a series of seminars on the Canadian experience in human resource management in the Public Service. The U of O experts, Dr. James Lahey and Dr. Luc Juillet, ran a workshop at the Ministry of Administrative Reform and e-Governance. Both professors also took part in a town hall meeting at the National School of Public Administration on Canadian experiences on change management in the public service.

As a legacy of this 70th diplomatic anniversary, the Stavros Niarchos Foundation has decided to mark the occasion by endowing scholarships for Greek students pursuing studies at four Canadian universities: University of Ottawa, McGill University, Université de Montréal and York University.

With 70 years of diplomatic relations behind us, Canada and Greece can look forward to many more years of solidarity and cultural exchange.

Want to see more photos? Connect with the Canadian Embassy on Facebook


The 70th anniversary celebrations began with the publication of a brief history entitled, “Moving Forward Together: Canada Greece relations since 1942”, followed by the restoration of a Haida totem pole funded by members of the Greek-Canadian community in Vancouver.


Canada Park is near the street that was named after Mackenzie King.


The year-long anniversary celebrations culminated in the inauguration of Canada Park in the country’s second largest city, Thessaloniki. This lasting symbol of Canada-Greece friendship, funded by McCain Foods Greece, promises to honour the special relationship for years to come.


Jazz great Diana Krall gave a Canada Day concert at the historic Herod Atticus Theatre to a sell-out crowd. Describing the venue as one of her favourites anywhere in the world, Ms. Krall said she planned to return to Greece soon.


Located in the garden of the Official Residence for almost 40 years and in need of a facelift, the totem pole will soon have a home in a new Chancery building in Athens.


Highlighting Canadian Prime Minister W.L. Mackenzie King’s wartime support for Greece, Ambassador Peck and Thessaloniki’s Mayor Ioannis Boutaris unveiled an Inuit Inukshuk as a symbol of the solidarity that has characterized the relationship between Canada and Greece.


Montreal pianist Alain Lefèvre, a perennial favourite known for his own compositions inspired by his love of Greece, performed at the Athens Concert Hall (Megaron Mousikis), with works by André Mathieu and Dmitri Shostakovich.


Deutsche Grammophon star pianist Jan Lisiecki of Calgary also made his Greek début in May at the prestigious Athens Concert Hall and wowed Greek audiences.


Ambassador Peck hosted a dinner at the Official Residence in honour of the legendary Nana Mouskouri, who has performed across Canada for over 50 years. In May Ms. Mouskouri received an honorary degree from McGill University in Montreal and was honoured by Quebec Premier Pauline Marois with the Ordre Nationale du Québec.


Nana Mouskouri, whom Ms. Krall has long admired, was the Embassy’s guest of honour at the Krall concert.


November saw a visit to Athens by the Chancellor of the University of Ottawa and former Governor General of Canada, The Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean. Madame Jean was invited to give a keynote address on “Cultural diversity, intercultural dialogue and social change” as part of a signature lecture series in Athens.


During her visit, Madame Jean inaugurated a Canadian contemporary art exhibition at the Vorres Museum entitled "The Lure of the Local: Women Artists in the Canadian Land(scape)", a unique exhibition which brought together for the first time in Greece works by women artists from Canada’s North.


The official opening was also an occasion to honour Greek-Canadian Ion Vorres, Founder and President of the Vorres Museum, for his life-long contribution to Canada-Greece cultural relations.

Galerie: Canada réfléchit sur l’anniversaire diplomatique avec la Grèce

Canada a célébré 70 ans de relations diplomatiques avec la Grèce dans une série d'un an d'événements. Ces photos montrent comment nous avons célébré cet anniversaire.

Toujours dans le cadre de cet anniversaire diplomatique, l’année a été marquée par les visites au Canada de Dimitris Avramopoulos, ministre grec des Affaires étrangères, et d’Évangélos Meimarakis, président du Parlement hellénique. Le président du Sénat canadien, l’honorable Noël Kinsella, s’est quant à lui rendu officiellement en Grèce en septembre 2013.

En association avec un partenaire local, l’Ambassade du Canada a soutenu l’organisation du nouveau spectacle du Cirque du Soleil « Alegria », dont les représentations ont connu un succès dépassant toutes les attentes, malgré la crise économique. Le président du Sénat canadien, l’honorable Noël Kinsella, a invité son homologue du Parlement hellénique, Evangélos Meimarakis, à assister au spectacle avec lui, lors de sa visite officielle en Grèce.

L’ambassade a également travaillé avec ELPIDA, ONG qui soutient le principal hôpital pour enfants cancéreux en Grèce, afin d’organiser une représentation spéciale de collecte de fonds sous la direction de Mme Marianna Vardinoyannis, ambassadeur de bonne volonté de l’UNESCO.

Côté musique, la pianiste de Montréal Marika Bournaki s’est produite au Centre culturel Onassis dans le cadre d’un hommage au légendaire Glenn Gould.

Madame Jean a également annoncé la création à l’Université d’Ottawa d’une série de séminaires sur l’expérience canadienne en matière de gestion des ressources humaines dans l’administration publique. Les docteurs James Lahey et Luc Juillet, spécialistes de la question à l’université d’Ottawa on conduit un atelier destiné aux hauts fonctionnaires de l’administration grecque organisé au ministère de la Réforme administrative et de la Gouvernance électronique. Les deux professeurs canadiens ont également participé à un débat sur l’expérience canadienne en matière de réforme administrative, organisé à l’École nationale d’administration publique.

A l’issue de cette série de manifestations liées au 70ème anniversaire diplomatique, la Fondation Stavros Niarchos a décidé la création de bourses pour des étudiants grecs suivant un cursus dans l’une des quatre universités canadiennes : l’Université d’Ottawa, l’Université MacGill, l’Université de Montréal et la York University.

Avec 70 ans de relations diplomatiques derrière nous, le Canada et la Grèce peuvent s'attendre à de nombreuses années de solidarité et d'échanges culturels.

Vous avez aimé cette galerie? Vous pouvez voir plus de photos sur Facebook!


La célébration du 70ème anniversaire a été inaugurée par la publication d’une brève rétrospective intitulée : « Un chemin parcouru ensemble : les relations entre le Canada et la Grèce depuis 1942 ». Elle a été suivie par la restauration du totem Haida érigé à Vancouver grâce aux fonds de la communauté gréco-canadienne locale.


Le « Parc du Canada » se trouve à proximité de la rue qui porte le nom de Mackenzie King.


L’anniversaire s’est achevée avec l’inauguration du « Parc du Canada » dans la deuxième plus grande ville du pays, Thessalonique. Ce symbole durable des liens d’amitié qui unissent les deux pays, financé par la société McCain Foods Grèce, représente une promesse d'honorer cette relation particulière au cours des années à venir.


La grande chanteuse de jazz Diana Krall a donné un concert dans le cadre de la fête du Canada à l’odéon historique d’Hérode Atticus, à guichet fermé. Décrivant l’odéon comme l’une des plus belles scènes du monde, Diana Krall a déclaré qu’elle se proposait d’y revenir bientôt.


Ce totem, qui se trouvait dans le jardin de la Résidence officielle depuis près de 40 ans et avait besoin d’être restauré, sera bientôt placé dans un nouveau bâtiment de la Chancellerie à Athènes.


Rendant hommage au soutien apporté à la Grèce par le Premier ministre canadien W.L. Mackenzie, M. Robert Peck, ambassadeur du Canada en Grèce, et M. Ioannis Boutaris, maire de Thessalonique, ont dévoilé ensemble un Inukshuk inuit conçu comme un symbole de la solidarité qui caractérise les relations entre le Canada et la Grèce.


En octobre, Alain Lefèvre, le pianiste de Montréal très prisé et connu pour ses compositions inspirées par son amour pour la Grèce, a donné un récital au Palais de la Musique d’Athènes (Megaron Mousikis), où il a interprété des œuvres d’André Mathieu et de Dmitri Chostakovitch.


Jan Lisiecki, pianiste de prédilection de la Deutsche Grammophon originaire de Calgary, s’est produit pour la première fois en Grèce en mai, sur la scène prestigieuse du Palais de la Musique d’Athènes, où il a conquis le public grec.


M. Robert Peck a offert un dîner dans sa résidence officielle en l’honneur de la légendaire Nana Mouskouri, qui s’est produite au Canada pendant plus de 50 ans. En mai, l’université McGill de Montréal a décerné un diplôme honoraire à Nana Mouskouri et la Première ministre du Québec, Pauline Marois, lui a remis l’insigne d’officière de l’Ordre national du Québec.


Nana Mouskouri, pour qui Diana Krall ne cache pas son admiration, était l’invitée d’honneur de l’Ambassade à ce concert.


Novembre a été l’occasion d’une visite à Athènes de la Présidente de l’Université d’Ottawa et ancienne Gouverneure générale du Canada, la très honorable Michaëlle Jean. Madame Jean a été invitée à prononcer un discours sur le thème : « Diversité culturelle, dialogue interculturel et changement social » dans le cadre d’un cycle de conférences organisé à Athènes.


Lors de sa visite, Madame Jean a inauguré une exposition d’art contemporain au Musée Vorres intitulée « La Séduction du Terroir : Artistes Femmes et Paysage Canadien », exposition unique qui rassemblait pour la première fois en Grèce les œuvres d’artistes femmes du Nord canadien.


Le vernissage de l’exposition a également été l’occasion d’un hommage au gréco-canadien Ion Vorres, le fondateur et président du Musée Vorres, qui a toute sa vie contribué aux relations culturelles entre la Grèce et le Canada.