Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Greece.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Canada and Greece celebrate 70 years of friendship with a tribute to Glenn Gould


 
Virtuoso pianist Marika Bournaki

To celebrate the 70th anniversary of Canada-Greece diplomatic relations, the Canadian Embassy organized a special tribute to the great Canadian pianist, Glenn Gould.  

Glenn Gould
Glenn Gould. Copyright: Library and Archives Canada.
   

The tribute opened with the screening of the feature-length documentary "Glenn Gould's Toronto", written, narrated and performed by Glenn Gould in which the artist offers, with humour, his own highly impressionistic reflections on his favourite city and the place where he spent much of his life.

A panel discussion followed the film screening with the participation of prominent personalities from the world of classical music: Greek-Canadian Costas Pilavachis, Senior VP Classical A+R and Universal Music Group International; James Oestreich, music critic with the New York Times; and Christos Carras, Executive Director of the Onassis Cultural Centre.

The discussion focussed on Gould’s complex relationship with public concert hall performances and the "intimacy" provided by the recording studio. Discussions also addressed the impact of new recording media on the performance and distribution of classical music. To highlight Gould's turn to radio documentaries in his later career, the panel listened to excerpts from The Idea of North (1967) and The Latecomers (1969), both Canadian Broadcasting Corporation radio documentaries.

The tribute to Glenn Gould also included the presentation of the first ever book published originally in the Greek language on the legendary Canadian artist. "Glenn Gould: Thoughts in Music", edited by Stefanos Theodoridis and published by one of the oldest Greek publishing companies Nefeli Publications, is an impressive collection of Gould's thoughts and views about music as expressed in his own articles, interviews, lectures, letters, discussion in radio and TV programs. It is an attempt to familiarize readers with the depth and particularities of an artist who was well ahead of his time.

The tribute concluded with the premiere performance of virtuoso pianist Marika Bournaki, a young Canadian artist with origins in Greece and with extraordinary engaging musicianship which has already brought her to the international scene. With studies at the prestigious Juilliard School, Bournaki's impressive experience includes performances with world-class symphony orchestras and numerous prizes.

The Canadian Embassy partnered with the Onassis Cultural Centre to bring the tribute to Greece, emphasizing the continued collaboration between Canadian and Greek partners, a collaboration which is based on a longstanding friendship, shared values and common objectives. 

>> Read and share more stories about Canada’s activities around the world - follow Eyes Abroad

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-01-14

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Grèce.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Le Canada et la Grèce célèbrent 70 ans d’amitié avec un hommage à Glenn Gould


 
Pianiste virtuose Marika Bournaki

Pour célébrer le 70e anniversaire des relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et la Grèce, l’ambassade du Canada a organisé un hommage particulier au grand pianiste canadien Glenn Gould. 

Glenn Gould
Glenn Gould. Droits d'auteur: Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
   

L’hommage a commencé par la projection du long-métrage documentaire Glenn Gould’s Toronto, écrit, raconté et interprété par Glenn Gould. Dans ce film, l’artiste livre, avec humour, ses réflexions personnelles et très impressionnistes sur sa ville préférée et le lieu où il a passé une grande partie de sa vie.

La projection du film a été suivie d’une table ronde composée de personnalités éminentes du monde de la musique classique : le Gréco-Canadien Costa Pilavachi vice-président principal, artistes et répertoires classiques, Universal Music Group International; James Oestreich, critique musical du New York Times, et Christos Carras, directeur général du Centre culturel Onassis.

La discussion a porté sur la relation complexe qu’entretenait Gould avec les spectacles publics en salle et l’« intimité » des studios d’enregistrement. Les discussions ont également porté sur l’incidence des nouveaux supports d’enregistrement sur la qualité et la distribution de la musique classique. Pour souligner le passage de Gould à la réalisation de documentaires radiophoniques à la fin de sa carrière, la table ronde a écouté des extraits de The Idea of ​​North (1967) et The Latecomers (1969), deux documentaires de la radio de Radio-Canada.

Pendant cet hommage à Glenn Gould, on a également présenté le premier livre en grec sur le légendaire artiste canadien. Glenn Gould: Thoughts in Music, édité par Stefanos Theodoridis et publié par une des plus anciennes maisons d’édition grecques, Nefeli Publications, est une impressionnante collection des pensées et points de vue de Gould sur la musique tirés de ses propres articles, d’entrevues, de conférences, de lettres et de discussions à la radio et la télévision. Il s’agit d’une tentative visant à familiariser le lecteur avec la profondeur et les particularités d’un artiste en avance sur son temps.

L’hommage s’est conclu avec le premier récital de la pianiste virtuose Marika Bournaki, une jeune artiste canadienne d’origine grecque dont l’extraordinaire talent musical l’a déjà propulsée sur la scène internationale. Diplômée de la prestigieuse Juilliard School, Marika Bournaki a une feuille de route impressionnante, qui comprend des spectacles avec des orchestres symphoniques de renommée mondiale et de nombreux prix.

L’ambassade du Canada en partenariat avec le Centre culturel Onassis transportera cet hommage en Grèce, en encourageant la poursuite de la collaboration entre partenaires canadiens et grecs, une collaboration qui est basée sur une amitié de longue date ainsi que sur des valeurs et des objectifs communs. 

>> Pour en savoir plus sur les activités du Canada à l’étranger ou raconter les vôtres, Coup d’œil sur le monde vous attend!

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-01-14