Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Greece.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Cross-Atlantic Magic

Celebrating Children’s Musical Achievements in Greece

A scene from The Magic Recorder
 
A scene from The Magic Recorder

“Hamelin is a rich city. Its inhabitants, however, are indulgent and selfish. When winter comes, Hamelin fills with thousands of mice, eating its residents out of house and home. And when all hope seems lost, a man appears, dressed in colourful clothes and holding only a recorder in his hands. He promises to rid them of the mice, as long as the people agree to donate food and clothes to the poverty-stricken villagers nearby. The Piper removes all traces of mice from the city, but the residents refuse to honour their agreement. Then the strange little man teaches them a lesson that they – and we – will remember forever....”

Putting a creative spin on the classic German story of the Pied Piper, The Magic Recorder is a musical tale of ingratitude, greed, and compassion that has been adapted into a stage production as well as a book and CD. This theatrical romp is the product of a successful partnership between Canada and Greece, during which two different children’s choirs – one from Montreal and one from Athens – came together to perform in an innovative cross-cultural project.

Canadian Embassy Chargé d’Affaires Allison Stewart congratulated all the partners.
Canadian Embassy Chargé d’Affaires Allison Stewart congratulated all the partners.
   
A scene from The Magic Recorder
A scene from The Magic Recorder
   

The Chroma Musika/Socrates children’s choir from Montreal is comprised of over fifty children of Hellenic origin. Together with the Ta Zouzounia children’s choir of Athens and the symphony orchestra Ensemble Sinfonia de Montréal, the project involved Greek and Canadian artistic professionals from both sides of the Atlantic. All in all, over 200 people participated in the making of The Magic Recorder. Chroma Musika Canada and Modern Times Publishers (in Greece) are both committed to familiarizing children with classical music and literature, and the partnership proved to be a fruitful one.

The launch event in Athens, which was held in the filled-to-capacity Dimitris Horn Theatre with the support of the Embassy of Canada, included performances of excerpts from The Magic Recorder and videos from a similar celebration held in Montreal. The founders and artistic directors of Chroma Musika – tenor Dimitris Ilias and soprano Maria Diamantis – were present for the event, along with Canadian Embassy Chargé d’Affaires Allison Stewart, who congratulated all the partners for bringing to life a project involving youth in a cross-cultural collaboration.

The Magic Recorder is sure to be a memorable event for all participants, children and adults alike. The wealthy citizens of Hamelin may have needed a supernatural intervention to learn their lesson, but the talented children of the production needed only a bit literary magic – and a dash of cross-cultural collaboration – to learn all about the pleasure of working with their international peers.

>> Read and share more stories about Canada’s activities around the world - follow Eyes Abroad

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-09-30

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Grèce.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Enchantement transatlantique

Célébrer les réalisations musicales des enfants à la Grèce

Une scène de La Flûte à bec enchantée
 
Une scène de La Flûte à bec enchantée

« Hamelin est un village riche. Les personnes qui y habitent, toutefois, sont indulgentes et égoïstes. L’hiver venu, le village de Hameln s’emplit de milliers de souris, qui dévorent d’énormes quantités de nourriture. Quand tout espoir a disparu, un homme arrive au hasard. Il porte des vêtements hauts en couleurs et tient une flûte dans sa main. Il promet de se débarrasser des souris, à condition que les gens consentent à donner de la nourriture et des vêtements aux habitants appauvris du village voisin. Le flûtiste chasse toutes les souris du village, mais les résidents ne tiennent pas leur promesse. Le petit homme aux allures bizarres leur donne alors une leçon qu’ils n’oublieront jamais – ni nous d’ailleurs.... »

Jetant un éclairage nouveau sur le conte classique allemand du joueur de flûte d’Hamelinf, La Flûte à bec enchantée est un récit musical d’ingratitude, d’avidité et de compassion qui a été adapté en une représentation théâtrale, un livre et un DC. Cette production théâtrale est le fruit d’un partenariat réussi entre le Canada et la Grèce, où deux chœurs d’enfants – un de Montréal et l’autre d’Athènes – ont participé à un projet interculturel novateur.

La chargée d’affaires de l’ambassade du Canada, Allison Stewart, a félicité tous les partenaires.
La chargée d’affaires de l’ambassade du Canada, Allison Stewart, a félicité tous les partenaires.
   
Une scène de La Flûte à bec enchantée
Une scène de La Flûte à bec enchantée
   

Le chœur d’enfants Chroma Musika/Socrates de Montréal compte plus de 50 enfants de descendance hellénique. Outre la participation du chœur d’enfants Ta Zouzounia d’Athènes et de l’Orchestre symphonique Ensemble Sinfonia de Montréal, le projet a mis à contribution des professionnels artistiques grecs et canadiens des deux côtés de l’Atlantique. En tout, plus de 200 personnes ont contribué à la création de La Flûte à bec enchantée. Chroma Musika Canada et les Modern Times Publishers (en Grèce) s’engagent tout deux à faire connaître aux enfants la musique et la littérature classiques, et le partenariat s’est avéré un succès.

Le lancement à Athènes, qui a eu lieu dans le théâtre Dimitris Horn rempli à craquer avec l’appui de l’Ambassade du Canada comptait des extraits de La Flûte à bec enchantée et des vidéos d’une célébration semblable tenue à Montréal. Les fondateurs et les directeurs artistiques de Chroma Musika – le ténor Dimitris Ilias et la soprano Maria Diamantis – étaient sur place pour les célébrations, de même que la chargée d’affaires de l’ambassade du Canada, Allison Stewart, qui a félicité tous les partenaires pour avoir donné vie à un projet axé sur la collaboration interculturelle mettant à contribution des jeunes.

La Flûte à bec enchantée sera sans aucun doute un événement mémorable pour l’ensemble des participants, tant les enfants que les adultes. Il a peut-être fallu aux citoyens riches de Hameln une intervention surnaturelle pour apprendre leur leçon, mais les enfants talentueux de la production n’avaient besoin que d’un peu de magie littéraire – et un brin de collaboration interculturelle – pour apprendre les plaisirs de la collaboration avec leurs pairs d’une autre région du monde.

>> Pour en savoir plus sur les activités du Canada à l’étranger ou raconter les vôtres, Coup d’œil sur le monde vous attend!

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2011-09-30