Anti-Crime Capacity Building Program

Canada’s anti-crime efforts in Central America are largely conducted through the Anti-Crime Capacity Building Program (ACCPB) managed by the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade. This program provides funding for projects that increase local capacities in the Americas to address illicit trafficking of goods and people, money laundering and the proceeds of crime, security system reform and crime prevention. The bulk of the assistance, which focuses on security sector reform and border management, is delivered via institutional partners such as the UN Office of Drugs and Crime (UNODC), the Organization of American States (OAS), and INTERPOL, in addition to direct, country-specific bilateral assistance provided by Canadian government departments and non-governmental organizations.

ACCBP Regional Projects including Guatemala

Improving Access to Civil Justice in Latin America

Announced: April 11, 2015, Panama City
Implementing Partner: Justice Studies Center of the Americas
Cost: $8.3 million
Timeframe: 2015-2018

This project is aimed at increasing access for women and men in Latin America to equitable and efficient civil justice that respects the rights of those involved in legal proceedings. The project will support a regional approach to civil justice reform and seek to facilitate more transparent and predictable legal frameworks and procedures for dispute resolution.

Improved Effectiveness of Parliaments in Latin America and the Caribbean

Announced: April 11, 2015, Panama City
Implementing Partner: ParlAmericas
Cost: $8 million
Timeframe: 2015-2019

The project will help ParlAmericas to strengthen the capacity of parliamentarians in the Caribbean and Latin America to carry out their functions more effectively and contribute to policymaking related to issues of national and regional significance.

Anti-Money Laundering Initiatives

Announced: April 11, 2015, Panama City
Implementing Partners: United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime, Organization of American States Inter-American Drug Abuse Control Commission, International Monetary Fund
Cost: $1.77 million
Timeframe: 2015-2017

The three projects will support legitimate economies by increasing governments’ capacity to limit the smuggling of cash and goods into and through their respective jurisdictions, and convene training sessions aimed at ensuring the consistent application of anti-money laundering practices.

Anti-Drug Trafficking Initiatives

Announced: April 11, 2015, Panama City
Implementing Partners: United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime, World Customs Organization, Organization of American States Inter-American Committee against Terrorism
Cost: up to $7.85 million
Timeframe: 2015-2019

The three projects will increase governments’ capacity for marine interdiction and port control, including screening and inspection, and provide training in port security and emergency management.

Combatting Gangs and Criminality in Central America and the Caribbean

Announced: April 11, 2015, Panama City
Implementing Partners: Justice Education Society, United Nations Regional Centre for Peace, Disarmament and Development in Latin America and the Caribbean, INTERPOL, United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime
Cost: up to $10.77 million
Timeframe: 2015-2018

The eight projects will provide specialized equipment, training and coaching to police, prosecutors, judges, technicians and analysts in several countries, including increasing capacity for compiling ballistics evidence, improving cyber infrastructure and cybercrime enforcement capacity, and strengthening community crime prevention.

Chemical, Biological, Radiological and Nuclear Security Initiatives

Announced: April 11, 2015, Panama City
Implementing Partners: United Nations Regional Centre for Peace, Disarmament and Development in Latin America and the Caribbean, US Department of State (Export Control and Border Security Program), Canadian Commercial Corporation, International Atomic Energy Agency
Cost: up to $14.5 million
Timeframe: 2015-2018

The four projects will help prevent the proliferation and illicit trafficking of weapons of mass destruction, and related chemical, biological, radiological and nuclear (CBRN ) materials. Resources will be allocated toward providing equipment, training supplies and technical expertise to support sustainable and effective CBRN prevention, detection and response capabilities and to secure and dispose of disused radiological materials.

Mexican Border Management and Crime Prevention

Implementing Partners: Organization of American States Inter-American Committee against Terrorism
Cost: up to $3.82 million
Timeframe: 2015-2018

The two projects will increase the capacity of beneficiary states to deal with criminal threats to maritime ports and increase security in the tourism industry in regions popular with North American tourists.

Central America and Caribbean Border and Human Trafficking

Implementing Partners: International Bureau for Children’s Rights, UN Office on Drugs and Crime, INTERPOL
Cost: up to $5 million
Timeframe: 2015-2018

Special Investigative Methods Project

Announced:  23 June 2011 in Guatemala City, Guatemala 
Implementing Partner: Justice Education Society
Cost: $1.4 million

The Special Investigative Methods Project aims to strengthen the capacity of law enforcement agencies in three Central American countries through the provision of equipment and training on investigative methods — such as surveillance, wiretaps and forensic video analysis — which are critical in the fight against sophisticated criminal networks.

Building an Effective Model for Criminal Investigation in Guatemala

Announced:  23 June 2011 in Guatemala City, Guatemala 
Implementing Partner: Justice Education Society
Cost: $1.19 million

This project seeks to strengthen the capacities of the security system in Guatemala by coaching prosecutors and police in major case management. A model of prosecutor and police collaboration will be developed and implemented in Guatemala City and Quetzaltenango.

Specialised Equipment to Support Law Enforcement in Central America

Announced:  15 April 2012 in Cartagena, Colombia
Implementing Partner: Canadian Commercial Corporation
Funding announced: $3,160,500
Timeframe: March 2012-June 2012

This project supports an ongoing Canadian-funded project in Honduras, El Salvador and Guatemala that aims to develop advanced technical capabilities to strengthen their criminal justice systems. Training is being provided on Special Methods of Investigation through specialised equipment to police and investigation units, including advanced wiretapping, ballistic forensics, surveillance, and intelligence analysis capabilities. 

Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) on technical security cooperation between Canada and Colombia

Announced:  15 April 2012 in Cartagena, Colombia 
Cost: $1,000,000
Timeframe: April 2012-March 2014

Announced on April 13, 2012, Canada and Colombia signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) on technical security cooperation that will facilitate our work together as partners to help strengthen law enforcement systems in Honduras and Guatemala.

Institutional Capacity Building for Crime Prevention Through the Central American Integration System Observatory and Index on Democratic Security

Announced: 5 June 2012 in Cochabamba, Bolivia 
Implementing partner: Centre for International Studies and Cooperation
Funding announced: $1,491,293
Timeframe: February 2012 to December 2014

This project will support specialized training for authorities from Central American Integration System (SICA) member states in methods of collecting, analyzing and disseminating crime data; implementing regional assessment tools; and developing expertise in investigating security incidents, crime and violence. This will result in increased institutional capacity for crime prevention in Central America by building upon and strengthening the capacity of SICA member states and civil society organizations to produce, utilize and disseminate strategic information on regional security, crime and violence prevention. Regional stakeholders will participate in coordination and training activities to facilitate in-depth crime analysis and develop regional crime-prevention strategies.

Specialized OAS Capacity Building Project on Border Controls

Announced: 5 June 2012 in Cochabamba, Bolivia 
Implementing partner: Organization of American States
Funding announced: $612,022
Timeframe: April 2011 to March 2013

Through this project, the OAS is delivering training in Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Guatemala, Mexico, Panama, Saint Lucia and The Bahamas on border controls for officials responsible for detecting, preventing and combatting criminal activity involving the airports, seaports and land border points of entry. The project aims to provide the participating border control officers with the knowledge and skills required to more effectively combat drug, human and other forms of illicit trafficking; to improve their control over the movement of people and goods through their countries’ airports, seaports and land border crossings; and to more effectively coordinate with each other, other law enforcement entities and prosecutors.

Le Programme de construction de capacités contre le crime

Les efforts du Canada pour aider à la lutte contre le crime sont menés à travers le Programme de construction de capacités contre le crime (PCCCC) géré par le Ministère des Affaires Étrangères et de Commerce International. Ce programme fournit des contributions pour des projets qui renforcent la capacité locale des institutions des Amériques pour adresser le trafic illicite d'articles et de gens, le blanchiment d'argent et de produits du crime, la réforme du système de sécurité et la prévention du crime. La majorité de l'assistance du Canada visant à réformer le secteur de sécurité et la sécurité aux frontières, est livré à travers des partenaires institutionnels comme le Bureau de l'ONU de Drogues et de Crime (UNODC), l'OEA et INTERPOL. A ceci s’ajoute l'assistance bilatérale spécifique pour le pays, fournie par les départements de gouvernement canadiens et les organisations non gouvernementales.

Projets Régionaux incluant le Guatemala

Amélioration de l’efficacité des Parlements en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes

Annoncé le 11 avril 2015
Coût : 8 millions $
Durée : 2015-2019
Partenaire de mise en œuvre : ParlAmericas

Ce projet aidera ParlAmericas à accroître la capacité des parlementaires des Caraïbes et d’Amérique latine de s’acquitter de leurs tâches plus efficacement et de contribuer à l’élaboration de politiques liées à des enjeux d’envergure nationale et régionale.

Initiatives de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent

Annoncé le 11 avril 2015
Coût : 1.77 millions $
Durée : 2015-2019
Partenaire de mise en œuvre : Office des Nations Unies contre la drogue et le crime, Commission interaméricaine de lutte contre l’abus des drogues de l’Organisation des États américains, Fonds monétaire international

Les trois projets favoriseront l’économie légitime en augmentant la capacité du gouvernement de circonscrire la contrebande d’espèces et de marchandises qui entrent dans leurs pays ou qui y transitent. Ils donneront lieu à des séances de formation axées sur la mise en application constante de pratiques permettant de lutter contre le blanchiment d’argent.

Initiatives de lutte contre le trafic de la drogue

Annoncé le 11 avril 2015
Coût : 7.85 millions $
Durée : 2015-2019
Partenaire de mise en œuvre : Office des Nations Unies contre la drogue et le crime, Organisation mondiale des douanes, Comité interaméricain contre le terrorisme de l’Organisation des États américains

Les trois projets permettront aux gouvernements d’améliorer leur capacité en ce qui a trait aux interdictions maritimes et aux contrôles portuaires, notamment aux opérations de contrôle et d’inspection. Ils permettront également de fournir une formation sur la sûreté portuaire et la gestion des urgences.

Lutte contre les gangs et la criminalité en Amérique centrale et dans les Caraïbes

Coût : 10.77 millions $
Durée : 2015-2018
Partenaire de mise en œuvre : Justice Education Society, Centre régional des Nations Unies pour la paix, le désarmement et le développement en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes, INTERPOL, Office des Nations Unies contre la drogue et le crime

Les huit projets permettront de fournir de l’équipement spécialisé, de la formation et du mentorat aux policiers, procureurs, juges, techniciens et analystes de plusieurs pays. Ces projets viseront notamment à améliorer la capacité de compiler les preuves balistiques, à rehausser la cyber infrastructure et la capacité de lutte contre la cybercriminalité, ainsi qu’à accroître la prévention du crime dans les communautés.

Initiatives sur la sécurité chimique, biologique, radiologique et nucléaire

Coût : 14.5 millions $
Durée : 2015-2018
Partenaire de mise en œuvre : Centre régional des Nations Unies pour la paix, le désarmement et le développement en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes, Département d’État des États-Unis (Programme de contrôle des exportations et de sécurité frontalière), Corporation commerciale canadienne, Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique

Les quatre projets contribueront à prévenir la prolifération et le trafic illicite d’armes de destruction massive et de matières chimiques, biologiques, radiologiques et nucléaires (CBRN) connexes. Ils permettront d’affecter des ressources destinées à fournir l’équipement, le matériel de formation et le savoir-faire technique nécessaires pour assurer la mise sur pied de capacités durables et efficaces en ce qui a trait à la prévention, à la détection et aux interventions liées aux matières CBRN, ainsi qu’à la façon de sécuriser et d’éliminer les matières radiologiques désuètes.

Gestion de la frontière mexicaine et prévention des crimes

Coût : 3.82 millions $
Durée : 2015-2018
Partenaire de mise en œuvre : Comité interaméricain contre le terrorisme de l’Organisation des États américains

Les deux projets augmenteront la capacité des États bénéficiaires de contrer les menaces criminelles dans les ports de mer et accroîtront la sécurité dans l’industrie touristique dans les régions populaires auprès des touristes nord-américains.

Frontières en Amérique centrale et dans les Caraïbes et traite de personnes

Coût : 5 millions $
Durée : 2015-2018
Partenaire de mise en œuvre : Bureau international des droits des enfants, Office des Nations Unies contre la drogue et le crime, INTERPOL

Les trois projets aideront à accroître la sécurité à la frontière des États bénéficiaires et à augmenter la capacité des États à contrer la traite de personnes et le passage de clandestins.

Projet sur les méthodes d’enquête spéciales

Annoncé:  le 23 juin 2011 à Guatemala, Guatemala
Partenaire: Justice Education Society (disponible seulement en Anglais)
Financement annoncé:1,4 million de dollars

Le Projet sur les méthodes d’enquête , vise à renforcer la capacité des institutions chargées de l’application des lois dans trois pays d’Amérique centrale en leur fournissant du matériel et de la formation sur des méthodes d’enquête telles que la surveillance, l’écoute électronique et l’analyse judiciaire de vidéos, qui sont d’une importance cruciale dans la lutte contre les réseaux criminels dotés d’équipements sophistiqués.

Élaboration d’un modèle efficace pour les enquêtes criminelles au Guatemala

Annoncé:23 juin 2011 à Guatemala, Guatemala
Partenaire: la Justice Education Society
Financement annoncé:1,19 million de dollars

Ce projet vise à renforcer les capacités du système de sécurité au Guatemala en encadrant les procureurs et les policiers dans la gestion des dossiers d’importance. Un modèle de collaboration entre les procureurs et les policiers sera élaboré et mis en œuvre dans la ville de Guatemala et à Quetzaltenango.

Équipement spécialisé à l’appui de l’application de la loi en Amérique centrale

Annoncé: le 15 avril 2012 à Carthagène, Colombie
Partenaire: Corporation commerciale canadienne
Financement annoncé : 3 160 500 $
Calendrier : mars 2012-juin 2012

Il s’agit d’appuyer un projet recevant un financement canadien en cours au Honduras, au Salvador et au Guatemala, qui vise à développer des capacités techniques avancées pour renforcer les systèmes de justice criminelle de ces pays. Une formation sur les méthodes spéciales d’enquête est fournie avec de l’équipement spécialisé aux unités de police et d’enquête, notamment en lien avec des capacités avancées d’écoute électronique, d’analyse judiciaire de données balistiques, de surveillance, et d’analyse du renseignement.

Protocole d’entente sur la coopération en matière de sécurité technique entre le Canada et la Colombie

Annoncé:  le 15 avril 2012 à Carthagène, Colombie 
Coût : 1 000 000 $
Calendrier : avril 2012-mars 2014

Annoncé le 13 avril 2012, le protocole d’entente sur la coopération en matière de sécurité technique signé par le Canada et la Colombie facilitera nos travaux communs, à titre de partenaires, pour aider à renforcer les systèmes d’application de la loi au Honduras et au Guatemala.

Renforcement des capacités institutionnelles pour la prévention du crime par l’entremise de l’Observatoire et de l’Index sur la sécurité démocratique du Système d'intégration d'Amérique centrale

Annoncé: le 5 juin 2012 à Cochabamba, Bolivie 
Partenaire : Centre d'étude et de coopération internationale
Financement annoncé : 1 491 293 dollars
Échéancier : de février 2012 à décembre 2014

Ce projet appuiera la prestation de formations spécialisées aux autorités des États membres du Centre d'étude et de coopération internationale (SICA), portant sur la collecte, l'analyse et la diffusion de données sur la criminalité, l’utilisation des outils d’évaluation régionale et le perfectionnement des compétences en matière d'enquêtes sur les incidents de sécurité, les crimes et les actes de violence. Le projet permettra ainsi d’accroître les capacités institutionnelles en prévention de la criminalité en Amérique centrale, en mettant à profit et en renforçant l’aptitude des États membres du SICA et des organisations de la société civile à produire, utiliser et diffuser des renseignements stratégiques sur la sécurité régionale, la criminalité et la prévention de la violence. Des acteurs régionaux participeront aux activités de coordination et de formation afin de faciliter une analyse approfondie de la criminalité et d’élaborer des stratégies régionales de prévention du crime.

Projet spécialisé de l’OEA pour le renforcement des capacités affectées aux contrôles frontaliers

Annoncé : le 5 juin 2012 à Cochabamba, Bolivie 
Partenaire : Organisation des États américains
Financement annoncé : 612 022 dollars
Échéancier : d’avril 2011 à mars 2013

Dans le cadre de ce projet, l’OEA offre, à Antigua-et-Barbuda, aux Bahamas, à la Barbade, au Guatemala, au Mexique, au Panama et à Sainte-Lucie, des formations sur les contrôles frontaliers à l’intention des agents chargés de détecter, prévenir et combattre les activités criminelles dans les aéroports, les ports maritimes et les postes frontaliers terrestres. Le projet vise à fournir aux agents frontaliers participants les connaissances et les compétences nécessaires pour lutter plus efficacement contre le trafic de stupéfiants, la traite des personnes et les autres formes de trafic illicite, pour améliorer les contrôles relatifs aux déplacements de personnes et de biens dans les aéroports, ports maritimes et postes frontaliers terrestres de leur pays, et pour améliorer la coordination entre ces pays ainsi qu’avec d’autres entités et forces de l’ordre et avec les parquets.