Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

guatemala.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Canada helps Guatemalan women break the deadly circle of silence and violence


CECI, Canadian Embassy, and municipal personnel in San Jacinto.
   

The old facilities for victims in Chiquimula.
   

The new facilities at the police station in Chiquimula. Canadian funds helped refurbish the offices by remodelling infrastructure, providing furniture, lighting, providing special areas for children.
   

The old facilities in San Jacinto.
   

The new facilities in San Jacinto, with an entirely new second level.
   

A staff member of the Office for the Protection of Women talking to women about their rights and the institutions that can help them in cases of violence.
   

Every morning, Mayra Liseth Vanegas would awake wondering if she would live to see the next day. For five years she suffered in silence from repeated brutal attacks from her spouse. Mayra was trapped in what seemed an unbreakable circle of violence. One day, when her spouse’s wrath reached her young son, Mayra’s instincts lead her to denounce him before a judge, who issued a restraining order. Unfortunately, the system, which is historically dismissive of violence against women, failed her and her husband was back in her house after a short period of time. Physical and psychological violence against Mayra and her son grew in brutality and cruelty.

Guatemala is a very dangerous place for women. According to the Human Rights Ombudsman, Guatemala is the second most violent country in the world for women. In 2012, some 700 women were murdered, many of whom were also sexually assaulted, their bodies then mutilated and left in public view. Women are often targeted as a method of retaliation and intimidation between rival gangs and larger criminal organizations, but a vast majority are victims of domestic violence.

What is more tragic is that it is so common.

Canada-funded workshops focus on rights, resources

One day Mayra was invited by friends to participate in a workshop offered by the City Hall. The workshop, offered by the Municipal Committee for Women, is part of a $1.2 million project supported by Canada’s Global Peace and Security Fund to raise awareness about gender violence and improve access to justice.

Mayra recalls: “When I saw the video they showed I could see my life reflected on it. The fact that other women had gone through what I was going through and had managed to change their lives gave me the courage I needed to denounce my spouse before the authorities and take the necessary steps to make sure he stayed away from my son and me. After all, our lives were meaningful and I was not alone.”

Empowered women offer each other support, networks

A year has gone by since Mayra participated in that workshop. She now counsels other women in the same situation and has become a leader in her community working to empower women. [Video available only in Spanish.]

Canada is working with national and international partners to help more women break this deadly circle of silence. In partnership with the Centre for International Studies and Cooperation (CECI), Canada has contributed to increasing the efficiency and infrastructure of law enforcement and municipal offices in the cities of San Jacinto, Chiquimula and Esquipulas in Guatemala.

More than 15,000 women have participated in these Canada-funded workshops and other activities to raise awareness about their rights and inform them of the institutions that can provide assistance. By working with the Municipal Offices for Prevention of Violence against Women in these three cities, the project fostered the creation of women support networks. 

Since the initial project, more communities in the area have approached the municipalities requesting similar support. So, the circle of silence could be breaking…from the bottom up, one municipality at the time.

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-05-28

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

guatemala.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Le Canada aide les Guatémaltèques à briser le cycle de la violence et du silence


Des représentants du CECI et de l’ambassade du Canada, et des employés municipaux à San Jacinto.
   

Les anciens locaux destinés aux victimes à Chiquimula.
   

Les nouveaux locaux dans le poste de police de Chiquimula. Les fonds canadiens ont aidé à rénover les bureaux, à acquérir des meubles, installer l’éclairage, et créer des espaces pour les enfants.
   

Les anciens locaux à San Jacinto.
   

Les nouveaux locaux à San Jacinto, avec un second étage tout neuf.
   

Un membre du personnel du Bureau de la protection des femmes informe des femmes de leurs droits et des services qui peuvent les aider en cas de violence.
   

Chaque matin, Mayra Liseth Vanegas se réveillait en se demandant si elle allait voir l’aube du jour suivant. Pendant cinq années, elle a supporté en silence les brutales agressions de son conjoint. Mayra vivait un cycle de violence qu’elle croyait impossible de rompre. Le jour où la rage de son mari s’est tournée vers son jeune fils, son instinct maternel l’a poussée à le dénoncer auprès d’un juge qui a délivré une ordonnance de non-communication. Malheureusement, le système, depuis toujours indifférent à la violence à l’égard des femmes, ne l’a pas protégée, et son mari était de retour peu de temps après. La brutalité et la cruauté des agressions physiques et psychologiques contre Mayra et son fils se sont empirées.

Pour les femmes, le Guatemala est un endroit très dangereux. Selon l’ombudsman des droits de la personne, ce pays occupe la deuxième place des pays les plus violents au monde pour les femmes. En 2012, quelque 700 femmes ont été assassinées souvent après avoir été violées, et leurs corps mutilés, abandonnés à la vue de tous. Cibler les femmes fait partie des méthodes de représailles et d’intimidation des gangs rivaux et des organisations criminelles, mais la grande majorité est victime de violence conjugale.

Le plus tragique? Ces morts ne sont que de simples faits divers.

Des ateliers subventionnés par le Canada consacrés aux droits et aux ressources

Un jour, des amis de Mayra l’ont convaincue de participer à un atelier offert par le comité municipal pour les femmes, dans le cadre d’un projet de 1,2 M$ soutenu par le Fonds canadien pour la paix et la sécurité mondiales visant à sensibiliser la population à la violence sexospécifique et à améliorer l’accès à la justice.

Mayra se souvient : « On nous a projeté une vidéo, et je pouvais y voir ma vie. Savoir que d’autres femmes avaient subi les mêmes traitements et qu’elles s’en étaient sorties m’a donné le courage dont j’avais besoin pour dénoncer mon mari aux autorités et faire ce qu’il fallait pour qu’il ne s’approche plus de moi et de mon fils. Après tout, nos vies comptaient et je n’étais pas seule. »

Soutien mutuel et réseaux de femmes

Cela fait un an que Mayra a participé à cet atelier. Elle conseille à son tour des femmes vivant la même situation; devenue une figure de proue au sein de sa collectivité, elle s’emploie à aider d’autres femmes. [vidéo disponible en espagnol seulement]

En coopération avec des partenaires nationaux et internationaux, le Canada s’efforce d’aider plus de femmes à briser le mur infernal du silence. En partenariat avec le Centre d’étude et de coopération internationale (CÉCI), le Canada a contribué à l’amélioration et l’efficacité des bureaux de prévention et d’intervention dans les villes guatémaltèques de San Juan Ermita, San Jacinto et Esquipulas.

Plus de 15 000 femmes ont pris part aux ateliers subventionnés par le Canada et à d’autres activités visant à les sensibiliser, et à les informer de leurs droits et sur les institutions susceptibles de les aider. En collaboration avec les bureaux municipaux de ces trois villes pour la prévention de la violence à l’égard des femmes, le projet a donné lieu à la création de réseaux de soutien.

Depuis le lancement du projet, d’autres collectivités de la région se sont adressées aux autorités municipales pour demander un soutien de même nature. On peut espérer que le mur du silence est en train d’être brisé… à partir de la base, une municipalité à la fois.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-05-28