Canada helps build a greener future in Guatemala


Members of the Guatemala Green Building Council.


Guatemala Green Building Council members at the IIDEX-, Canada's National Design + Architecture Exposition & Conference in Toronto, Ontario.


GGBC members share a laugh at the conference.

With a population that grew from 12 to 14 million in the last decade – 49% of which live in urban areas – the use of sustainable construction is critical for protecting the environment and improving the quality of living in Guatemala.

The Canadian Embassy in Guatemala recently teamed up with architects, engineers and Canadian business to help build the future of green living in Guatemala.

Reducing the impact of new construction on human health and the environment, and improving the energy efficiency of buildings is becoming a priority for builders in Guatemala. 

A green alliance

The Canadian Embassy in Guatemala has been working with a group of young architects and engineers since 2010 to establish the Guatemala Green Building Council (GGBC).  This alliance has produced enormous results, including four trade missions to the largest Conferences and Exhibits on Green Build Events in the region.

The Embassy and the GGBC organized the first Green Building and Sustainable Technologies Fair and Conference in Guatemala City. During the event it became clear that Guatemalan companies recognize Canada for its expertise and know-how on matters related to sustainable technologies. The Fair helped initiate the first steps in creating strong alliances and partnerships between Canadian and Guatemalan companies.

Sustainable networks across Central America

After the initial success of the GGBC, the green building concept started attracting interest from other regions. The GGBC also began networking with counterparts in Central America.  GGBC’s momentum in the green movement inspired the establishment of the Salvadoran Green Business Council and the creation of the Regional Alliance Agreement between all Central American Councils (ACCADES).

As the regional vision for sustainability continues to grow, possibilities to promote collaboration between the both the Central American and Canadian Green Business Council have also started flourishing.  This relationship has grown so much that the GGBC now supports Canadian companies interested in Central American markets by hosting the Green Building annual trade show.

To celebrate the success of this strategic alliance, the Guatemala Green Building Council presented an award to the Government of Canada, as a sign of appreciation for the longstanding support and partnership. After accepting the award on behalf of the Government, Canada’s Ambassador to Guatemala, Stewart Savage, expressed his happiness that Canadian capabilities, products, and services were contributing to improved living conditions in Guatemala. 

Through effective business partnerships and a shared interest for a greener and more sustainable future, Canada and Guatemala are building strong and lasting relationships in business and beyond.

Le Canada œuvre à la construction d’un avenir plus écologique au Guatemala


Membres du Consejo de Construcción Sostenible de Guatemala.


Membres du Consejo de Construcción Sostenible de Guatemala à IIDEX, l’exposition et conférence nationale canadienne de design et d’architecture, à Toronto, en Ontario.


Des membres du CCSJ partagent un moment de bonne humeur à la conférence.

Au Guatemala, où la population – à 49 % urbaine – est passée de 12 à 14 millions dans les 10 dernières années, la construction écologique revêt une importance cruciale pour la protection de l’environnement et l’amélioration de la qualité de vie.

L’ambassade du Canada au Guatemala s’est associée récemment à des architectes, des ingénieurs et des entreprises canadiennes pour œuvrer à la construction d’un avenir où le mode de vie est respectueux de l’environnement au Guatemala.

Réduire les conséquences des nouvelles constructions sur la santé humaine et l’environnement et améliorer l’efficacité énergétique des immeubles constituent des priorités croissantes des constructeurs au Guatemala.

Une alliance verte

Depuis 2010, l’ambassade du Canada au Guatemala travaille avec un groupe de jeunes architectes et ingénieurs pour établir le Consejo de Construcción Sostenible de Guatemala (CCSG), ou Conseil du bâtiment durable du Guatemala. Cette alliance a donné d’énormes résultats, dont quatre missions commerciales aux plus importantes conférences et expositions sur la construction écologique de la région.

L’ambassade et le CCSG ont organisé la première exposition et conférence sur la construction écologique et les technologies respectueuses de l’environnement à la ville de Guatemala. Au cours de cette manifestation, les entreprises guatémaltèques ont manifesté la reconnaissance qu’ils ont de  l’expertise et du savoir-faire du Canada en matière de technologies respectueuses de l’environnement. L’exposition a permis de faire les premiers pas pour établir des alliances et des partenariats solides entre les entreprises canadiennes et guatémaltèques.

Des réseaux durables dans toute l’Amérique centrale

Le succès initial du CCSG a éveillé l’intérêt d’autres régions pour le principe de la construction écologique. Le CCSG s’est également mis à tisser des liens avec ses homologues en Amérique centrale. L’élan que le CCSG a suscité au sein du mouvement écologique a inspiré l’établissement de l’El Salvador Green Business Council et la conclusion d’un accord d’alliance régionale entre tous les conseils centraméricains (ACCADES).

À mesure que s’élargit la vision régionale de la durabilité écologique, on voit également s’ouvrir des possibilités de promotion de la collaboration entre le Conseil du bâtiment durable du Canada et des conseils similaires d’Amérique centrale. Cette relation s’est raffermie à tel point que le CCSG soutient maintenant, par l’entremise d’un salon professionnel sur la construction écologique, les entreprises canadiennes intéressées par les marchés centraméricains.

Pour célébrer le succès de cette alliance stratégique, le Consejo de Construcción Sostenible de Guatemala a décerné un prix au gouvernement du Canada en remerciement pour son long soutien et son partenariat. L’ambassadeur du Canada au Guatemala, Stewart Savage, a accepté le prix au nom du gouvernement et s’est dit heureux que les capacités, les produits et les services du Canada contribuent à l’amélioration des conditions de vie au Guatemala.

Grâce à des partenariats commerciaux efficaces, et mus par le désir commun d’un avenir plus écologique et plus durable, le Canada et le Guatemala tissent des relations fortes et pérennes, tant dans les affaires que dans d’autres domaines.