Promotion of Mayan Culture as an Opportunity for Economic Growth in Solola


Mayan dancers .


Mayan dancers .

Between September 2012 and May 2013 a group of Guatemalan artists with the support of Canada, Sweden and Spain organized an itinerant festival called Q’ij Sac (importance of time), which tries to recreate indigenous traditions and attracts attention on topics like reflection and dialogue between generations, ethnic communities, men and women, spiritual leaders, community leaders and authorities.  The participants, among them the  Sotz’il  and Tz’utujil hip hop groups organized 17 performances, all of them free, in 16 municipalities of the department of Solola, finishing with a show in front of the National Palace, with the presence of the authorities of the Ministry of Culture, the Guatemalan Tourism Institute, the Congress of the Republic and diplomatic representatives.

Since 2009, the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) has supported sustainable economic growth in the Department of Solola through the Rural Economic Development Project in the Department of Solola (PROSOL).  The Department of Solola, like Guatemala in general, is full of contrasts. It has one of the most beautiful lakes in the world, exuberant landscapes, an enormous natural and cultural diversity, in addition to handicrafts, vegetables and coffee of recognized quality.  Nevertheless, as shown in  the map of poverty recently published by the National Institute of Statistics and the World Bank, Solola is the second poorest department in the country, with 84.5% poverty and 14.6% extreme poverty rates.

The PROSOL project has a cost of CAN$10.6 Million and is currently being executed by two Canadian organizations, CECI and SOCODEVI.  The population of Solola receives  assistance to improve their productivity and to enter new markets. Furthermore, they are working with local authorities to improve their planning and strategic investment in favour of economic development.

The change of a Mayan era in December 2012 represented a unique opportunity to attract the world’s attention on the Mayan culture, to reaffirm and revalue the identity of the descendants of the Mayas who inhabit Guatemala nowadays, but also as a form of promoting the economic growth of these communities. The itinerant festival Q’ij Sac (importance of time) precisely intends to take advantage of this to show indigenous traditions through dance, music, and theater performances that invite to reflection and dialogue between generations. 

Canada, through PROSOL, in a joint effort with the governments of Sweden and Spain, contributed Q450,000 to support the effort of this group of artists. This contributes to the promotion of knowledge and revalorization of the culture of the original inhabitants of Guatemala, while helping construct their communities, and building peace and harmony, which will bring new economic opportunities.

La Promotion de la Culture Maya comme une Opportunité pour la Croissance Économique en Solola.


Danseurs mayas.


Danseurs mayas.

Entre septembre 2012 et mai 2013, un groupe d’artistes guatémaltèques, avec le soutien du Canada, de la Suède et de l’Espagne, a organisé le festival itinérant Q’ij Sac (Transcendance dans le temps) qui vise à recréer les anciennes traditions indigènes et à attirer l’attention sur des thèmes tels que la réflexion et le dialogue entre différentes générations, communautés ethniques, hommes et femmes, guides spirituelles, chefs communautaires et autorités sur l’héritage maya et ce qu’il signifie aujourd’hui.  Les groupes d’artistes qui ont contribué à ce festival, parmi eux  Sotz’il et Tz’utujil hip hop, ont fait 17 représentations gratuites dans 16 municipalités du département de Sololá, et ont fini avec un spectacle devant le Palais National de la Culture, en présence des autorités du Ministère de la Culture, de l’Institut Guatémaltèque  du Tourisme, du Congrès de la République et des représentants diplomatiques.

Depuis 2009, l’Agence Canadienne de Développement International a soutenu la croissance économique durable du Solola à travers le Projet de Développement Économique Rural du Département de Solola (PROSOL).  Le Département de Solola, comme le reste du Guatemala, est un lieu de contrastes. Il possède un des plus beaux lacs du monde, des paysages exubérants, une diversité naturelle et culturelle énorme, en plus d’artisanat, des légumes et du café d’une qualité très reconnue. Malgré cela, la carté de pauvreté rurale récemment publié par l’Institut National des Statistiques et la Banque Mondiale a montré que le Solola est le deuxième département plus pauvre du pays, avec un taux de pauvreté générale du 84,5% et un taux de pauvreté extrême du 14,6%.

Le PROSOL a une valeur de CAN$ 10,6 Millions et il est exécuté par deux organisations canadiennes,  CECI et SOCODEVI.  À travers de ce projet le Canada aide la population du Sololá à améliorer sa productivité agricole et son accès aux marchés.  Le projet travaille aussi avec les autorités locales pour renforcer la qualité de leur planification et leur investissement pour la croissance économique.

La célébration du changement d’ère maya en décembre 2012 a presenté une opportunité unique pour attirer l’attention mondiale vers la culture maya et réaffirmer et revaloriser l’identité des peuples maya-descendantes qui habitent au Guatemala aujourd’hui; mais c’était aussi une opportunité pour promouvoir la croissance économique de ces communautés.  Le festival Q’ij Sac (Transcendance dans le temps) visait justement à profiter de ce moment historique pour exhiber les traditions indigènes par moyen de la danse, la musique et le théâtre, en invitant à la réflexion et le dialogue entre différentes générations, communautés ethniques, hommes et femmes, guides spirituelles, chefs communautaires et autorités sur l’héritage maya et ce qu’il représente.

Le Canada, par l’intermédiaire  du PROSOL, et en collaboration avec les gouvernements de l’Espagne et de la Suède, a apporté  Q.450 000 pour appuyer l’effort de ce groupe d’artistes.  Cette contribution aide non seulement à promouvoir la connaissance et la revalorisation de la culture des peuples originaires du Guatemala, mais aussi à la construction d’un sens de communauté en favorisant la coexistence, la paix, et en conséquent un environnement plus favorable pour l’apparition et le développement d’opportunités économiques.