Duvalier Must be Brought to Justice for Numerous Documented Abuse Allegations

Canada Reacts to Appeal Court’s Order

February 20, 2014 - Port-au-Prince, Haiti - Gilles Rivard, Canadian Chargé d’affaires in Haiti, welcomed a new step today in the judicial process relating to former President Jean-Claude Duvalier. After a delay of close to one year, Canada is pleased that the court of appeal has finally issued its order, but a great deal of work remains to be done before justice is served.

“This decision by the Court of appeal, which orders a supplemental instruction and reinstates the accusations of crime against humanity for Jean-Claude Duvalier, represents without a doubt a step forward, but it is only one step.  The judicial process must take its course in a transparent and credible fashion.” stated Mr. Rivard

The Chargé d’affaires also recalled that “Canada strongly believes that Jean-Claude Duvalier must be brought to justice for the many documented allegations of abuse that span the 15-year period during which he served as Haiti’s leader.”

Canada considers democratic governance and the rule of law as key elements to sustainable development and a safe environment taking root in Haiti.

The case of former President Duvalier is an opportunity to demonstrate that these key elements are present in Haiti and that the Haitian government is fulfilling its responsibilities by providing both an independent and effective justice system for its citizens and fair trial for those who have been accused of crime. 

-30-

Duvalier doit répondre devant la justice des nombreuses allégations documentées d’abus

Le canada réagit à l'ordonnance de la cour d'appel

Le 20 février 2014 - Port-au-Prince, Haïti - Monsieur Gilles Rivard, Chargé d’affaires du Canada en Haïti, a voulu saluer aujourd’hui une nouvelle étape dans le processus judiciaire visant l’ancien Président Jean-Claude Duvalier. Après un délai de près d’un an, le Canada est satisfait que la Cour d’Appel ait enfin rendu aujourd’hui son ordonnance, mais beaucoup de travail reste à faire avant que justice ne soit faite.

« Il est certain que cette décision de la Cour d’Appel, qui ordonne un supplément d’instruction et rétabli les accusations de crime contre l’humanité contre Jean-Claude Duvalier représente un pas en avant, mais ça n’est qu’une étape, et il faut que le processus judiciaire suive son cours de façon transparente et crédible. » a affirmé M. Rivard.

Le Chargé d’affaires a aussi rappelé que « le Canada croit fermement que Jean-Claude Duvalier doit répondre devant la justice des nombreuses allégations documentées d’abus qui auraient eu lieu durant les quinze années où il a été à la tête de l’État haïtien. »

Le Canada considère que la gouvernance démocratique et l’État de droit  sont des éléments essentiels pour qu’un développement durable et un environnement sécuritaire prennent racine en Haïti.

Le cas de l’ancien Président Duvalier représente une opportunité de démontrer que ces éléments importants sont présents en Haïti et que l’État haïtien remplit ses responsabilités en fournissant, d’un côté, un système de justice indépendant et efficace à ses citoyens, et de l’autre, un procès équitable pour les personnes accusées d’un crime. 

-30-