Community Police Officers on Bicycles to Reach out to the Population


A Canadian police officer working with the PNH in the market.


Public activity aimed at connecting with the population.


A police officer from the PNH bicycle brigade giving a child safety tips.

December 20, 2013 – Launched on June 20th, 2013, the bicycle brigade is a new, specialized unit within the Police Nationale d’Haïti (PNH). Its goal is to reach out to the population to better serve and protect the people. Using bicycles allows police officers to patrol sectors that are difficult for vehicles to access, and makes them more visible and approachable.

These Haitian community police officers were trained by Canadian police officers (UNPol), from the United Nations Stabilization Mission in Haiti (MINUSTAH), as part of the PNH’s 2012–2016 development plan.

According to Inspector Jean-Ernest Célestin, Commander of the Service de police de la Ville de Montréal (SPVM) and coordinator of MINUSTAH’s community police unit: “This initiative is particularly well-adapted to the realities in Haiti. It is also an excellent transfer of Canadian “know-how” in the police services field.”

After Croix-des-Bouquets, Pétionville, Delmas, Cité Soleil and Les Cayes, it was the city of Jacmel’s turn to welcome a new bicycle brigade on December 4th, 2013. The goal for 2014 is to deploy nearly 160 new patrollers in every region of the country.

“The presence of a bicycle police officer in a community is very important. His accessibility allows his to build a bond of trust with the people, which increases their feeling of security,” said Inspector Célestin.

Nearly 90 Canadian police officers are currently assigned to work with MINUSTAH. They are responsible for ensuring that the United Nations’ mandate is respected and for training PNH officers, while evaluating and identifying current needs and standards in terms of training.

Since the earthquake, Canadian police officers have shown leadership in very difficult working conditions, such as displaced persons camps. The participation of Canadian police officers in MINUSTAH is a key element of Canada’s engagement in Haiti.

For more information:

Des policiers communautaires à vélo pour se rapprocher de la population


Un policier canadien en colocation avec la PNH au marché.


Activité de rapprochement avec la population dans une place publique.


Un policier de la brigade à vélo de la PNH qui donne des conseils de prévention auprès d’un enfant.

Le 20 décembre 2013 – Lancée le 20 juin 2013, la brigade à vélo est une nouvelle unité spécialisée de la Police Nationale d’Haïti (PNH). Elle a pour but de se rapprocher de la population pour mieux la protéger et la servir. L’utilisation du vélo permet aux policiers de patrouiller  dans les secteurs où l’accès est difficile aux véhicules, tout en les rendant plus visibles et accessibles.

Ces agents haïtiens de la police communautaire à vélo, ont été formés par des policiers Canadiens (UNPol), de la Mission des Nations Unies pour la stabilisation en Haïti (MINUSTAH), dans le cadre du plan de développement 2012-2016 de la PNH.

Pour l’Inspecteur Jean-Ernest Célestin, cadre du Service de police de la Ville de Montréal (SPVM) et coordonnateur de de l’unité de la police communautaire de la MINUSTAH : « Cette initiative est particulièrement bien adaptée aux réalités en Haïti. Elle représente aussi un excellent transfert du « savoir-faire » canadien dans le domaine policier ».

Après Croix-des-Bouquets, Pétionville, Delmas, Cité Soleil et les Cayes, ce fut au tour de  la ville de Jacmel d’accueillir une nouvelle brigade à vélo le 4 décembre 2013. L’objectif pour 2014 est de déployer près de 160 nouveaux patrouilleurs dans chaque région du pays.   

« La présence d'un policier à vélo dans une communauté est très importante. Son accessibilité lui permet de développer un lien de confiance avec la population favorisant une augmentation du sentiment de sécurité », souligne l’Inspecteur Célestin.

Près de 90 policiers canadiens sont présentement affectés à la MINUSTAH. Ils sont chargés de voir au respect du mandat des Nations Unies et forment les agents de la Police Nationale d’Haïti, tout en évaluant et en recensant les normes et les besoins actuels en matière de formation.

Depuis le séisme, la police canadienne a fait preuve de leadership dans des conditions de travail très difficiles, comme dans les camps de personnes déplacées. La participation des policiers canadiens auprès de la MINUSTAH est l’un des éléments clés de l’engagement du Canada en Haïti.

Pour plus d’information :