Canadian Embassy Participates in First Aid Training with High Command of National Police of Haiti

Members of the Embassy of Canada in Haiti joined Chief Godson Orelus of the Haitian National Police and members of its high command to attend a one-day first aid course. This special course took place on Saturday, February 15, 2014, at the Centre Police Secours (police relief centre) housed by the police academy.


The recipients of the certificates in first aid (Credit: Embassy of Canada)


Senior management of the HNP, MINUSTAH and the Embassy of Canada follow the advice of the instructors (Credit: Embassy of Canada)

The Centre Police Secours came into being following the completion of a first aid and emergency measures training project by the Stabilization and Reconstruction Task Force (START), in cooperation with St. John Ambulance and the United Nations Stabilization Mission in Haiti (MINUSTAH). The project aimed to support the Haitian National Police in response to the devastating earthquake of January 2010.

“The first aid course offered by the Centre Police Secours team allowed us to see firsthand the quality of the training and the professionalism of the police trainers,” remarked Godson Orelus. “This initiative helps Haiti’s police force get closer to the community and demonstrate its expertise.”  

So far, several thousands of officers under the National Police of Haiti, as well as civil servants, scouts and young people of all stripes, have benefited from the training. Moreover, the Centre Police Secours is self-sufficient in managing its training, thanks to its instructors and master instructors involved in teaching future team members.

“The Centre Police Secours deserves to be supported in its efforts, and this first aid training for the National Police high command has made us aware of the unit’s importance,” noted Gilles Rivard, Chargé d’affaires at the Embassy of Canada.

Canada has contributed to improving the security situation across the country by deploying police officers within MINUSTAH to support the development of the Haitian National Police. Canada is also playing a key role in reforming the police force and prison system, reducing community violence and strengthening border management.

See photos of the training session.

L’ambassade du Canada participe à une formation en premiers soins avec le haut commandement de la Police Nationale d’Haïti

Les membres de l’Ambassade du Canada en Haïti se sont joints au Directeur général de la Police Nationale d’Haïti,  M. Godson Orelus, et des membres de son haut commandement, pour participer à une journée de formation en premiers soins. Cette session de formation spéciale s’est tenue au Centre Police Secours à l’école de police le samedi 15 février 2014.


Les récipiendaires des certificats en premiers soins (Crédit : Ambassade du Canada)


La haute direction de la PNH, de la MINUSTAH et l’Ambassade du Canada suivent les conseils des instructeurs (Crédit : Ambassade du Canada)

Le Centre Police Secours a vu le jour à la fin du projet de formation en premiers soins et en mesures d’urgences mis en œuvre par le Groupe de travail pour la stabilisation et la reconstruction (GTSR), en collaboration avec l’Ambulance Saint-Jean et la Mission des Nations Unies pour la stabilisation en Haïti (MINUSTAH) au bénéfice des agents de la PNH à la suite du séisme dévastateur de janvier 2010.

« Le cours de secourisme offert par l’équipe du Centre Police Secours nous a permis de voir de nous même la qualité de la formation et le professionnalisme des instructeurs de police, » a souligné M. Godson Orelus. « C’est une initiative qui permet à la PNH de se rapprocher de la communauté et de démontrer son savoir-faire. »  

Jusqu’à ce jour, plusieurs milliers d’agents de la PNH, ainsi que des fonctionnaires de l’état, des scouts et des jeunes de tout horizon, ont bénéficié de cette formation. Le Centre Police Secours est aussi auto-suffisant dans sa gestion des formations, grâce à ses instructeurs et maîtres instructeurs qui forment la relève au sein de l’équipe.

« Le Centre Police Secours mérite d’être soutenu dans ses efforts et cette formation en premiers soins adressée aux commandement de la PNH nous a permis de réaliser l’importance de cette unité, » a noté M. Gilles Rivard, le Chargé d’affaires de l’Ambassade du Canada.

Le Canada contribue à l'amélioration des conditions de sécurité à travers le pays en déployant des policiers au sein de la MINUSTAH pour appuyer le développement de la PNH. Il joue aussi un rôle capital sur le plan de la réforme de la police et du système carcéral, de la réduction de la violence au niveau communautaire, et du renforcement de la gestion des frontières.

Voir les photos de la session de formation.