Canada welcomes the inauguration of the departmental hospital in Gonaïves

Ambassador Caldwell St-Onge participated in the inauguration of a hospital that will improve access to specialized health services for children, women and men in the Artibonite Department.


The Ambassador of Mexico, Ambassador of Canada, the Minister of Public Health and the First Lady of the Republic at the ceremony in Gonaïves.

November 4, 2014 – Gonaïves, Haiti - Today, Ms. Paula Caldwell St-Onge, Ambassador of Canada to the Republic of Haiti, attended the inauguration of the La Providence Hospital in Gonaïves, in the Artibonite Department of Haiti.

Haiti's First Lady, Mrs. Sophia Martelly, and Dr. Florence Duperval Guillaume, Haitian Minister of Public Health and Population, also participated in the event.

“The successful completion of the new La Providence Departmental Hospital in Gonaïves is a great example of the close cooperation in health between Canada and Haiti,” said Ambassador Caldwell St-Onge. “Saving the lives of women, newborn and children is one of the clearest expression of the values Canadians share. This project demonstrates Canada`s commitment to improving access to quality maternal, neonatal and child health care.”

La Providence Hospital in Gonaïves will provide maternal, newborn and child healthcare to families in the Artibonite Department. It will also improve access to quality, specialized health services such as maternal, neonatal, pediatric, internal medicine, surgical, emergency, medical imaging and laboratory services.

“Canada’s contribution to build, equip and implement this hospital represents one of the most important Canadian investments in Haiti during the last decade,” said Ambassador Caldwell St-Onge. “Canada recognizes our Mexican and French partners as well as UNICEF for their contribution to the project.  Donor coordination has been an important factor for the success of this priority investment for the Government of Haiti.”

The project was implemented by the United Nations Office for Project Services (UNOPS), in cooperation with the Haitian Ministry of Public Health and Population.

This investment is part of Canada’s commitments under the Muskoka Initiative for Maternal, Newborn and Child Health. Under the Muskoka Initiative, Canada has worked to increase access to local health services. Canada has focused its efforts on 10 countries, including Haiti.

Quick Facts

  • Canada is currently reviewing its long-term engagement strategy in Haiti. In 2014 Canada confirmed Haiti as a country of focus for Canada’s international development efforts.
  • Canada is one of the largest donors in Haiti and has provided over $1.4 billion in development and humanitarian assistance since 2006.
  • Haiti was the first country Minister Paradis visited as Minister of International Development and La Francophonie.
  • Canada’s aid to Haiti aligns with the thematic priorities of the International Assistance Envelope, particularly sustainable economic growth and children and youth.

Related Products

Associated Links


Backgrounder

Canada welcomes the inauguration of the La Providence Departmental Hospital in Gonaïves

Since the destruction of the original Artibonite departmental hospital during hurricanes Hanna and Ivan of 2008, the Haitian Ministry of Public Health and Population had been providing hospital services with limited equipment and infrastructure from a makeshift warehouse in the town of Gonaives. As a result, access to health services was reduced for the population of the Artibonite Department, the most populous in Haïti.

In 2010, Canada announced its support for the reconstruction of the Gonaives provincial hospital. A portion of this contribution was made as part of Canada’s G8 Muskoka Initiative for Maternal, Newborn and Child Health.

Canada’s $30 million dollar investment has allowed for the design, construction and equipping of the new hospital, which includes  a 30-bed maternity ward (including neonatology and obstetric/gynaecologic services), a 35-bed paediatric ward, and a waiting home for pregnant women close to delivery. These essential services will help reduce child and maternal mortality, as well as improve the access to and quality of specialised health services for children, women and men in Artibonite Department.  The project also includes initial institutional support until July 2015 to help train staff in hospital management, hospital equipment usage, and maintenance.

The hospital is now newly located in a protected zone, less vulnerable to natural disasters.  

Canada selected the United Nations Office for Project Services (UNOPS) to implement this construction project, in cooperation with the Haitian Ministry of Public Health and Population. The design and construction of the hospital has full local ownership of the Government of Haiti. Other partners have contributed to this effort, including the Governments of Mexico (solar panels and landscaping) and France (water) as well as UNICEF (equipment). 

The hospital will contribute to improving the health system in Haiti by not only expanding access to services but also providing a model that can be replicated in other Departments by the Ministry of Health.

Canada’s work in Haiti

Canada is currently reviewing its long-term engagement strategy in Haiti. In 2014, Haiti was confirmed as a country of focus for the Government of Canada’s international development efforts worldwide. 

Canada currently supports operational initiatives that focus on:

  • helping the Government of Haiti improve access to quality basic education and health care;
  • supporting the efforts of Haitians to improve their lives and incomes by providing microcredit and financial services through savings and credit cooperatives;
  • supporting job creation; and,
  • helping to improve governance by making public institutions more effective, responsible and transparent.

Le Canada salue l’inauguration de l’hôpital départemental aux Gonaïves

L’ambassadrice Caldwell St-Onge a assisté à l’inauguration d’un hôpital qui améliorera l’accès des enfants, des femmes et des hommes à des services de santé spécialisés dans le département de l’Artibonite.


L'Ambassadeur du Mexique, l’Ambassadeur du Canada, la Ministre de la Santé publique et la Première Dame de la République à la cérémonie aux Gonaïves.

Le 4 novembre 2014 – Gonaïves (Haïti) – Aujourd’hui, Mme Paula Caldwell St-Onge, ambassadrice du Canada en République d’Haïti, a assisté à l’inauguration de l’hôpital La Providence dans la commune des Gonaïves, dans le département de l’Artibonite en Haïti.

La Première Dame de la République, Mme Sophia Martelly, et Mme Florence Duperval Guillaume, ministre de la Santé publique et de la Population du pays, étaient présentes également.

« L’achèvement couronné de succès du nouvel hôpital départemental La Providence, dans les Gonaïves, illustre on ne peut mieux l’étroite coopération qui existe entre le Canada et Haïti en matière de santé, a déclaré l’ambassadrice Caldwell St-Onge. Sauver la vie de femmes, de nouveau-nés et d’enfants, voilà une des expressions les plus claires des valeurs des Canadiens. Ce projet met en lumière l’engagement que le Canada a pris d’améliorer l’accès des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants à des soins de santé de qualité. »

L’hôpital La Providence dans les Gonaïves procurera des soins de santé aux mères, aux nouveau-nés et aux enfants des familles du département de l’Artibonite. Il améliorera aussi l’accès à des services de santé spécialisés de qualité. Mentionnons, par exemple, une maternité, les soins néonataux et pédiatriques, des services de médecine interne, de chirurgie, d’urgence, d’imagerie médicale et de laboratoire.

« La contribution que le Canada a fournie pour construire, équiper et ouvrir cet hôpital représente un des plus importants investissements faits par le Canada en Haïti au cours de la dernière décennie, a déclaré l’ambassadrice Caldwell St‑Onge. Le Canada remercie ses partenaires mexicains et français ainsi que l’UNICEF de leur contribution au projet. La coordination des apports des donateurs a grandement contribué à la réussite de cet investissement qui était une des priorités du gouvernement d’Haïti. »

Le projet a été réalisé par le Bureau des Nations Unies pour les services d’appui aux projets (UNOPS), qui a bénéficié de la coopération du ministère haïtien de la Santé publique et de la Population.

Cet investissement va directement dans le sens des engagements pris par le Canada dans le cadre de l’Initiative de Muskoka pour la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants. Dans le contexte de cette initiative, le Canada s’est efforcé d’accroître l’accès à des centres de santé locaux. Il a concentré ses efforts sur 10 pays, dont Haïti.

Les faits, en bref

  • Le Canada procède actuellement à l’examen de sa stratégie d’engagement à long terme en Haïti. En 2014, il a confirmé qu’Haïti était un des pays ciblés par son aide au développement à l’échelle mondiale.
  • Le Canada est l’un des principaux donateurs en Haïti où il a fourni une aide humanitaire et au développement de plus de 1,4 milliard de dollars depuis 2006.
  • Haïti a été le premier pays où le ministre Paradis s’est rendu à titre de ministre du Développement international et de la Francophonie.
  • L’aide du Canada à Haïti va dans le sens des priorités thématiques de l’enveloppe de l’aide internationale, lesquelles sont axées notamment sur la croissance économique durable et les enfants et les jeunes.

Produits connexes

Liens connexes


Fiche documentaire

Le Canada salue l’inauguration de l’hôpital départemental La Providence aux Gonaïves

Depuis la destruction par les ouragans Hanna et Ivan de l’hôpital original du département de l’Artibonite aux Gonaïves, en 2008, le ministère haïtien de la Santé publique et de la Population fournissait des services hospitaliers avec une infrastructure et un équipement limités, depuis un entrepôt de fortune aménagé aux Gonaïves. Par conséquent, l’accès aux services de santé était réduit pour la population du département de l’Artibonite, le plus peuplé du pays.

En 2010, le Canada a annoncé qu’il financerait la reconstruction de l’hôpital departemental aux Gonaïves. Une partie de sa contribution a été faite en vertu de l’engagement pris par le Canada au Sommet du G8 dans le cadre de l’Initiative de Muskoka pour la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants.

L’investissement de 30 millions de dollars par le Canada a permis de concevoir, de construire et d’équiper le nouvel hôpital qui abrite une maternité de 30 lits (y compris des services de néonatologie, d’obstétrique et de gynécologie), une aile pédiatrique de 35 lits et une maison d’attente pour les parturientes sur le point d’accoucher. Ces services essentiels aideront à réduire le taux de mortalité chez les enfants et les mères et à améliorer l’accès des enfants, des femmes et des hommes à des services de santé spécialisés et de qualité dans le département de l’Artibonite. Le projet prévoit aussi un soutien institutionnel initial jusqu’en juillet 2015; cela aidera à former le personnel dans le domaine de la gestion hospitalière et dans ceux de l’utilisation et de l’entretien de l’équipement hospitalier.

L’hôpital est maintenant situé dans une zone protégée, moins exposée aux catastrophes naturelles.

Le Canada a choisi le Bureau des Nations Unies pour les services d’appui aux projets (UNOPS) pour réaliser ce projet de construction; le Bureau a bénéficié de la coopération du ministère haïtien de la Santé publique et de la Population. Le gouvernement d’Haïti a fait entièrement siennes la conception et la construction de l’hôpital. D’autres partenaires ont contribué à cet effort, notamment le gouvernement du Mexique (panneaux solaires et aménagement paysager), le gouvernement français (eau) et l’UNICEF (équipement). 

L’hôpital aidera à améliorer le système de santé en Haïti, en fournissant un modèle en matière de gestion hospitalière, modèle que le ministère de la Santé pourra reproduire dans d’autres départements.

Le travail du Canada en Haïti

Le Canada procède actuellement à l’examen de sa stratégie d’engagement à long terme en Haïti.  En 2014, le gouvernement du Canada a confirmé qu’Haïti était un des pays ciblés par son aide au développement à l’échelle mondiale. 

À l’heure actuelle, le Canada appuie des initiatives qui visent à :

  • aider le gouvernement d’Haïti à améliorer l’accès à une bonne éducation élémentaire et à de bons soins de santé de base;
  • aider les Haïtiens à améliorer leur vie et à accroître leurs revenus en leur offrant du microcrédit et des services financiers par l’intermédiaire de coopératives d’épargne et de crédit;
  • favoriser la création d’emplois;
  • améliorer la gouvernance en rendant les institutions publiques plus efficaces, responsables et transparentes.