The Ambassador of Canada Paula Caldwell St-Onge begins her mandate in Haiti


President of the Republic of Haiti, Michel Joseph Martelly and Ambassador of Canada Paula Caldwell St-Onge

Thursday, October 23, 2014 - Mrs. Paula Caldwell St-Onge officially started her mandate as Ambassador of Canada to the Republic of Haiti. She presented her credentials to the President of the Republic of Haiti, Michel Joseph Martelly in a formal ceremony today in Port - au-Prince.

"I am extremely pleased to represent Canada in Haiti. Canada has excellent relations with the Republic of Haiti and the Haitian people. Our historical ties are very close, warm, and built on geographic proximity and a common language. "We also have a fruitful political, cultural, and trade exchanges in several key sectors, notably through the contribution of the large Haitian community in the Canada", said Ambassador Caldwell St-Onge.

Ambassador Caldwell St-Onge also added: "Canada continues to play a leading role in support of Haiti and its people, especially following the 2010 earthquake. In addition to the Government of Canada, several provinces, municipalities, Canadian citizens and non-governmental organizations work with Haitians to meet the needs of the country. "One of my main priorities will be to continue this engagement, particularly by engaging with the private sector to contribute to the sustainable and long term development of Haiti", she continued.

Quick facts

Canada is a major donor in Haiti, where it provided more than 1.4 billion dollars in humanitarian and development assistance since 2006. Canada’s support to Haiti is based on the thematic priorities of the International Assistance Envelope, particularly sustainable economic growth, children and youth, and the strengthening of democratic and public institutions. Canada is also fully committed to the development of the Haitian National Police (HNP), notably to meet its training needs.

Ambassador Paula Caldwell St-Onge began her career in the Canadian public service in 1989 and has held positions in the Federal Environmental Assessment Agency, the Privy Council Office and Environment Canada, before becoming Director General of National Programs at Environment Canada.

Before beginning her mandate in Haiti, Ms. Caldwell St-Onge was Consul General of Canada in Dallas, United States, from 2010 to 2014. In 2005, she joined International Trade Canada, serving as Senior Trade Commissioner at the Consulate General of Canada in São Paulo, Brazil, and then as Minister Counsellor (trade) at the Embassy of the Canada in Mexico City.

Ambassador Caldwell St-Onge is no stranger to Haiti, having spent part of her youth in Port -au-Prince, where her father was the representative of the Royal Bank of Canada in Haiti. She is married to Daniel St-Onge and the couple has a daughter.

Ms. Caldwell St-Onge succeeds Mr. Henri-Paul Normandin.

For more information on the commitment of the Canada in Haiti

L'ambassadeur du Canada Paula Caldwell St-Onge débute son mandat en Haïti 


Le Président de la République d’Haïti, Michel Joseph Martelly et l'ambassadeur du Canada Paula Caldwell St-Onge

Le jeudi 23 octobre 2014 –Madame Paula Caldwell St-Onge a officiellement débuté son mandat comme Ambassadeur du Canada auprès de la République d’Haïti. Elle a présenté aujourd'hui ses lettres de créance au Président de la République d’Haïti, Michel Joseph Martelly, lors d'une cérémonie officielle à Port-au-Prince.

« Il me fait extrêmement plaisir de représenter le Canada en Haïti. Le Canada entretient d’excellentes relations avec la République d’Haïti et le peuple haïtien. Nos liens historiques sont très étroits, chaleureux, et bâtis sur une proximité géographique et une langue commune. Nous entretenons également de fructueux échanges politiques, culturelles, et commerciaux dans plusieurs secteurs clés, notamment grâce à la contribution de l’importante communauté haïtienne au Canada », a déclaré l'Ambassadeur Caldwell St-Onge.  

L'Ambassadeur Caldwell St-Onge a aussi ajouté: « Le Canada continue à jouer un rôle de premier plan en appui d’Haïti et de son peuple, tout particulièrement suite au séisme de 2010 ». En plus du gouvernement du Canada, plusieurs provinces, municipalités, organisations non-gouvernementales et citoyens Canadiens travaillent avec des Haïtiens pour répondre aux besoins du pays. « L’une de mes principales priorités sera la poursuite de cet engagement, tout particulièrement l’engagement du secteur privé pour contribuer au développement durable et à long terme d’Haïti » a-t-elle poursuivie.  

Les faits en bref

Le Canada est l’un des principaux donateurs en Haïti, où il a fourni plus de 1,4 milliard de dollars en aide humanitaire et au développement depuis 2006. L’aide du Canada à Haïti est basée sur les priorités thématiques de l’enveloppe de l’aide internationale, en particulier la croissance économique durable,  les enfants et les jeunes, et le renforcement des institutions démocratiques et publiques. Le Canada est aussi pleinement engagé dans le développement de la Police Nationale d’Haïti (PNH), notamment pour répondre aux besoins en matière de formation. 

L’Ambassadeur Paula Caldwell St-Onge a amorcé sa carrière dans la fonction publique canadienne en 1989 et a occupé des postes au Bureau fédéral d’examen des évaluations environnementales, au Bureau du Conseil privé et à Environnement Canada, avant de devenir Directrice générale des Programmes nationaux et des Politiques à Environnement Canada.

Avant de débuter son mandat en Haïti, Mme Caldwell St-Onge était Consule générale du Canada à Dallas, États-Unis, de 2010 à 2014. En 2005, elle a joint les rangs de Commerce international Canada, où elle a d’abord agi comme Déléguée commerciale principale au Consulat Général du Canada à São Paulo, Brésil, puis comme Ministre-conseillère (affaires commerciales) à l’Ambassade du Canada à Mexico.

L’Ambassadeur Caldwell St-Onge n’est pas étrangère à Haïti, ayant passé une partie de sa jeunesse à Port-au-Prince, lorsque son père était le représentant de la Banque Royale du Canada en Haïti. Elle est mariée à Daniel St-Onge et le couple a une fille.

Mme Caldwell St-Onge succède à M. Henri-Paul Normandin.

Pour plus d’information sur l’engagement du Canada en Haïti