Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

HongKong.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations

Canada-Macao Relations

In Macao, Canada is represented by the Consulate General in Hong Kong. For the rest of China, Canada is represented by the Embassy of Canada in Beijing.

Macao is represented in Canada by the Embassy of the People’s Republic of China in Ottawa.

Bilateral relations with Macao date back two centuries, with trade and immigration dominating the bilateral relationship. Over the last two centuries, migratory ties, bilateral cooperation and economic development have further cultivated this long-standing and supportive relationship.

Today, Macao continues to be a promising market for Canadian services and products, a place of cultural and academic exchange, and a source of mutual support in South China. The diverse connections between Macao and Canada have developed over the years into enduring and dynamic relations that will continue well into the future.

Macao became a Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China (PRC) in 1999. Under the “one country, two systems” policy, Macao has autonomy over its main political, economic and legal structures. While it is responsible for the exercise of its executive, legislative, and judicial powers, the territory’s defence and foreign affairs are the responsibility of the PRC.

The Consulate General of Canada in Hong Kong has been accredited to Macao for over a quarter century. Since 1980, the serving Head of the Consulate General in Hong Kong also serves as Consul-General to Macao. Diplomatic ties are enhanced by common membership in international organizations such as the World Trade Organization. Moreover, cultural and social associations in both Canada and Macao, such as Casa de Macao Vancouver, Casa de Macao Toronto, and the Macao Cultural Association of Western Canada, have strengthened ties and understanding.

Cultural and arts exchanges between Macao and Canada have manifested in several high-profile events. Canada enjoys a new prestigious venue in Macao with the opening of a permanent show by Montreal’s Cirque du Soleil.

Prominent figures in Macao's business, leadership and community circles have lived in or studied in Canada, including the former Chief Executive, Mr. Edmund Ho. The Macao Associated Canadian Alumni Union, operating since 1998, acts as a bridging organization by hosting business and social events that foster alumni relations and Canadian linkages. Canadians are increasingly visible and play an active role in Macanese society, notably through the 2002 establishment of the first and only international school in Macao, which follows the Alberta curriculum.

Trade in Macao benefits from that country’s recent and huge economic boom driven by the growth of the tourism industry. A Canadian Chamber of Commerce was set up in 2004 to promote and defend the trade interests of Macao’s burgeoning Canadian business community. As Macao develops into a full-fledged tourism and meeting, incentive, convention and exhibition (MICE) destination, large scale hotel chains, shopping malls, convention halls, exhibition facilities and entertainment venues are being built with a view to capitalize on the influx of tourists from China and East Asia.

March 2011


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page .

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-07-20

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

HongKong.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales

Relations Canada-Macao

À Macao, le Canada est représenté par le consulat général à Hong Kong. Ailleurs en Chine, le Canada est représenté par l'Ambassade du Canada à Beijing.

Macao est représenté au Canada par l’ambassade de la République populaire de Chine à Ottawa.

Les relations bilatérales avec Macao existent depuis 200 ans et reposent sur le commerce et l’immigration. Au cours des deux derniers siècles, la migration, la coopération bilatérale et le développement économique ont contribué à renforcer cette relation marquée par un soutien mutuel.

À l’heure actuelle, Macao continue d’être un marché prometteur pour les biens et services canadiens, un lieu d’échanges culturels et universitaires et une source de soutien réciproque dans le Sud de la Chine. Les divers liens entre Macao et le Canada se sont resserrés au cours des années et les deux entretiennent à l’heure actuelle des relations dynamiques qui se poursuivront à l’avenir.

Macao est devenue une région administrative spéciale de la République populaire de Chine en 1999. En vertu de l’approche «Un pays, deux systèmes», Macao a conservé son autonomie en ce qui a trait à ses principales structures politiques, économiques et juridiques. Alors qu’elle est responsable de l’exécution de ses pouvoirs exécutif, législatif et juridique, la défense et les affaires étrangères du territoire relèvent de la République populaire de Chine.

Le consulat général du Canada à Hong Kong a été accrédité auprès de Macao il y a plus d’un quart de siècle. Depuis 1980, le consul général en poste à HongKong est également consul général à Macao. Les liens diplomatiques sont renforcés par une participation commune aux organisations internationales, telles que l’Organisation mondiale du commerce. De plus, les associations culturelles et sociales dans le Canada et le Macao, telles que la Casa de Macao Vancouver, la Casa de Macao Toronto et la Macao Cultural Association of Western Canada, ont noué de solides liens et ont appris à se connaître.

Au fil du temps, plusieurs activités de prestige ont marqué les échanges culturels et artistiques entre Macao et le Canada. Le Canada profite d’une visibilité accrue à Macao avec le spectacle permanent du Cirque du Soleil de Montréal qui vient de débuter.

Des personnalités importantes des milieux politique, communautaire et des affaires de Macao ont demeuré ou étudié au Canada, notamment l'ancien sous-secrétaire d'État, M. Edmund Ho. La Macao Associated Canadian Alumni Union, qui existe depuis 1998, fait le pont entre diverses collectivités en organisant des activités commerciales et sociales pour favoriser l’établissement de relations entre d’anciens élèves de part et d’autre de l’océan.Les Canadiens sont de plus en plus présents à Macao et jouent un rôle actif dans la société macanéenne, notamment par l’établissement, en 2002, de la première et seule école internationale à Macao, laquelle applique le programme d'enseignement de l’Alberta.

Le commerce à Macao profite du récent grand boom économique que connaît le pays en raison de la croissance de l’industrie touristique. Une Chambre de commerce du Canada a été établie en 2004 pour promouvoir et défendre les intérêts commerciaux de la communauté d’affaires canadienne florissante de Macao. Au fur et à mesure que Macao devient, au plein sens du terme, une destination touristique où il est possible d’organiser des rencontres, des congrès et des expositions, on assiste à la construction d'hôtels de grandes chaînes, de centres commerciaux, de congrès et d'exposition et de lieux de divertissement dans le but de tirer profit de l’afflux de touristes venant de la Chine et de l'Est asiatique.

Mars 2011


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2014-07-07