Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

HongKong.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations
  4. >
  5. Canada - Hong Kong Relations

Canadian War Graves in Hong Kong

Sai Wan Bay War Cemetery

Sai Wan Bay War Cemetery

 The Sai Wan Bay Memorial was erected at the Sai Wan Bay War Cemetery on the island of Hong Kong to honour those who died in its defence.  On this Memorial are inscribed the names of over 2,000 people, 228 of them Canadian, who died with no known grave.  Below the memorial, the Sai Wan Bay War Cemetery slopes towards the sea, with a panoramic view of the coastline and distant hills.  Here are  buried 283 soldiers of the Canadian Army, including 107 who were unidentified. These are among the 1,975 Canadians who sailed from Vancouver in October 1941, to commit to battle during the Second World War in the defence of Hong Kong.  The small brigade group consisting of the Winnipeg Grenadiers and the Royal Rifles of Canada found itself in action against the Japanese.  In total, more than 550 Canadians died in the campaign or in captivity.

Travel Directions to Sai Wan War Cemetery: 

Sai Wan War Cemetery is located on Cape Collinson Road in the Chai Wan district on Hong Kong island.  It can be reached by first taking the Hong Kong Island line on the Hong Kong Mass Transit Railway (MTR) to the Chai Wan terminus and from there, taking either the Public Light Bus (green minibus) 16M which runs from the Chai Wan MTR station to Stanley (request to stop at the Sai Wan cemetery) or alternatively by taxicab from the taxi rank located below the Chai Wan MTR station.
  
Inquiries:  Derek Cheung, Manager Hong Kong, Commonwealth War Graves Commission, tel:  (852) 2557 3498.

Here is a map to Sai Wan Bay War Cemetery.

Stanley Military Cemetery

Stanley Military Cemetery 

Situated just beyond Stanley Village in the southern part of Hong Kong island, the Stanley Military Cemetery was originally the military cemetery in which were buried members of the Hong Kong garrison and their families.  During the Japanese occupation, the Stanley jail and village were used as a prisoner-of-war camp and civilian internment camp, and the cemetery, which had not been used for more than 70 years, was re-opened for the burial of those who were executed by the Japanese or who died while prisoners of war.  Some of the graves in the older part are still marked by the original headstones erected by the prisoners of war, who collected the granite from the 100 years old fortifications and carved the inscriptions themselves.  The total number of burials in the cemetery is 663, with 20 Canadians buried here, including one unknown grave. Most of the Canadians buried here died during the last days of the Battle of Hong Kong.

Here is a map to Stanley Military Cemetery.

Footer

Date Modified:
2009-09-29

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

HongKong.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales
  4. >
  5. Relations Canada-Hong Kong

Sépultures de soldats canadiens à Hong Kong

Cimetière du guerre de Sai Wan

Cimetière de guerre de Sai Wan

Le Sai Wan War Memorial a été érigé au Cimetière de guerre de Sai Wan sur l’île de Hong Kong pour honorer la mémoire de ceux qui ont péri pour la défendre.  Sur ce monument sont gravés les noms de plus de 2,000 personnes, dont 228 Canadiens, n’ayant pas de tombe connue.  Sous le monument, le Cimetière de guerre de Sai Wan surplombe la mer, offrant une vue panoramique du littoral et des collines lointaines.  Ici sont enterrés 283 soldats de l’armée canadienne, y compris 107 qui n’ont jamais été identifiés. Ils faisaient partie des 1,975 Canadiens partis de Vancouver en octobre 1941, pour prendre part à la défense de Hong Kong durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.  La petite brigade formée des Winnipeg Grenadiers et des Royal Rifles du Canada s’est retrouvée au cœur de l’action contre les Japonais.  Au total, plus de 550 Canadiens sont morts au combat ou en captivité.

Comment se rendre au Cimetière de guerre de Sai Wan: 

Le Cimetière de guerre de Sai Wan est situé sur Cape Collinson Road dans le district de Chai Wan de l’île de Hong Kong.  On peut s’y rendre en prenant la ligne Hong Kong Island du Hong Kong Mass Transit Railway (MTR) jusqu’au terminus Chai Wan et de là, prendre soit le Public Light Bus (minibus vert) 16M qui part de la station Chai Wan MTR pour aller vers Stanley (demandez au chauffeur d’arrêter au Cimetière de Sai Wan) ou prendre un taxi au stationnement des taxis situé sous la station Chai Wan MTR. 
 
Pour de plus amples renseignements: Derek Cheung, directeur du Hong Kong Commonwealth War Graves Commission, tél.: (852) 2557 3498.

Veuillez cliquer ici pour une carte indiquant comment se rendre au Cimetière de guerre de Sai Wan.


Cimetière Militaire Stanley 
 
Cimetière militaire Stanley

Situé juste au delà du village Stanley dans la partie sud de l’île de Hong Kong, le Cimetière militaire Stanley est le cimetière militaire où les membres de la garnison de Hong Kong et leurs familles furent initialement enterrés.  Durant l’occupation japonaise, la prison et le village de Stanley furent utilisés comme camp de prisonniers de guerre et camp d’internement de civils, tandis que le cimetière, inutilisé depuis plus de 70 ans, fut réouvert pour enterrer ceux qui furent exécutés par les Japonais ou qui sont morts alors qu’ils étaient prisonniers de guerre.  Certaines tombes de la plus vieille section du cimetière sont toujours marquées par les pierres tombales originales érigées par les prisonniers de guerre, qui ont rassemblé le granite des fortifications vieilles de 100 ans et gravé les inscriptions eux-mêmes.  Au total 663 personnes sont enterrées dans le cimetière, y compris 20 Canadiens, dont un non identifié. La plupart des Canadiens enterrés ici sont morts durant les derniers jours de la Bataille de Hong Kong.

Veuillez cliquer ici pour une carte indiquant comment se rendre au Cimetière militaire Stanley.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2014-10-27