Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

HongKong.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations
  4. >
  5. Canada - Hong Kong Relations

Commemorative Plaques in Hong Kong

As part of the Government of Canada's commemorative mandate, the Consulate General of Canada, in cooperation with the Hong Kong Government, installed three permanent plaques in December 2005 at strategic sites of action, as a lasting recognition of the Canadians who fought in defence of Hong Kong in 1941. 
 
These three plaques honour the memory of the brave Canadians who fought in the defence of Hong Kong: the members of the Brigade Headquarters Canadian "C" Force; the Winnipeg Grenadiers, and the Royal Rifles of Canada.  Two of these plaques are located on the Wong Nai Chung Gap Trail, a historical walk developed by the Hong Kong Tourism Board in 2005 to commemorate the heroes of the Second World War.  Click here for the location map.  The third plaque is located at the Gunpowder Factory in the Museum of Coastal Defence.
 
A fourth commemorative plaque was installed in April 2009 at St Stephen's College in Stanley to pay tribute to the sacrifice of soldiers who died at St.Stephen during the Second World War. 

Plaque at Lawson Bunker:

Inscription: "This plaque is dedicated to all members of Brigade Headquarters Canadian "C" Force."

On the morning of December 19, 1941, invading Japanese forces advanced on this strategic position where Canadian Brigadier John Lawson commanded the West Brigade from a bunker dug into the hillside. Attempts to reinforce the area failed. Refusing to withdraw, his bunker was overrun. His last words over the telephone to his Commanding Officer stated that he was ‘going outside to fight it out.' In doing so he lost his life, thereby earning the admiration of his comrades and the enemy for his heroic actions.

Plaque at Jardine's Lookout

Inscription: "This plaque is dedicated to all members of the Winnipeg Grenadiers of Canada."

In the early hours of December 19, 1941, "A" and D" Companies of the Winnipeg Grenadiers of Canada fought to stem the waves of Japanese troops attacking the strategic high ground on Mount Butler. After a vicious struggle the Canadians became divided. A group was driven downhill to Jardine's Lookout, where Company Sergeant Major John Osborn took charge of about 65 Grenadiers of "A" Company. Hand grenades were thrown at his group. Osborn responded by flinging these back at the enemy. One grenade was thrown which he could not pick up in time, and after shouting a warning he threw his body over it, thus saving the lives of several comrades. He was posthumously awarded the Victoria Cross, the highest award for military valour in the British Commonwealth.

Plaque at the Museum of Coastal Defense:


Robert "Flash" Clayton, Hong Kong veteran of the Royal Rifles of Canada

Inscription: "This plaque is dedicated to all members of the Royal Rifles of Canada."

Near this site, on the night of December 18, 1941, invading Japanese forces were engaged by "C" Company, Royal Rifles of Canada, commanded by Major Wells Bishop. Fierce attacks had earlier silenced the artillery batteries and anti-aircraft guns. Counterattacks ensued, and after inflicting heavy casualties on the numerically superior invading force, the Canadians were forced to retire rather than allow themselves to become encircled. Major Bishop was awarded the Distinguished Service Order for his bravery in this action.

Plaque at St Stephen's College:


C.P. LIN, President Emeritus of St Stephen's College (left) and Canadian Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway, the Hon. Stockwell Day (right) at the plaque unveiling ceremony

Inscription:

On Christmas Day 1941, this school building stood on the front line between the invading Japanese forces and those defending Stanley. It was, at that time, acting as an emergency hospital, and overflowing with medical personnel and wounded soldiers from Canada, Great Britain, Hong Kong and India. By the time the wave of war had passed through, many were dead.  An estimated 120 men and women were cremated on the lawn outside, and their ashes are buried where the St. Stephen's Memorial stands, in the Stanley Military Cemetery. Canadian soldiers who died in defence of Hong Kong are buried today, in the Sai Wan War Cemetery and Stanley Military Cemetery, where their sacrifice continues to be remembered.

This plaque is dedicated by the Government of Canada.  We will never forget.

Footer

Date Modified:
2009-09-29

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

HongKong.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales
  4. >
  5. Relations Canada-Hong Kong

Plaques commémoratives à Hong Kong

Dans le cadre de son mandat commémoratif, le gouvernement du Canada, en coopération avec le gouvernement de Hong Kong, a installé trois plaques permanentes en décembre 2005 à des sites stratégiques, théâtre de combats, en signe de reconnaissance permanente envers les Canadiens qui ont combattu pour défendre Hong Kong en 1941.

Ces plaques honorent la mémoire des braves Canadiens qui ont combattu pour défendre Hong Kong: les membres du Poste de commandement de la compagnie « C »  des forces canadiennes; les Winnipeg Grenadiers, et les Royal Rifles of Canada.  Deux des plaques sont situées sur le Wong Nai Chung Gap Trail, un sentier historique développée par le Bureau du Tourisme de Hong Kong en 2005 pour commémorer les héros de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.  Cliquez ici pour une carte indiquant la route menant aux sites.  La troisième plaque est située à l’usine de poudre à canon du Musée de la défense côtière.

Une quatrième plaque commémorative a été installée en avril 2009 au collège St.Stephen à Stanley, rendant hommage au sacrifice des soldats qui ont péri à St.Stephen pendant la deuxième guerre mondiale.

La plaque au bunker Lawson

Inscription :  Cette plaque est dédiée à tous les soldats du Poste de commandement de la Compagnie « C ».

Dans la matinée du 19 décembre 1941, les forces japonaises progressèrent vers cette position stratégique, à l'endroit même où le brigadier canadien John Lawson commandait la Brigade de l'ouest à partir d'un bunker creusé à flanc de coteau. Les tentatives de renforcer le secteur se révélèrent vaines. Le brigadier refusa malgré tout de se replier, jusqu'à ce que son bunker soit envahi. Ses dernières paroles, prononcées au téléphone à son commandant, furent les suivantes : « Je vais faire face à l'ennemi dehors. » Il y perdit la vie, et son geste héroïque lui valut l'admiration de ses camarades comme de l'ennemi.

La plaque à Jardine's Lookout

Inscription : Cette plaque est dédiée à tous les soldats du régiment Winnipeg Grenadiers of Canada.

Dans la nuit du 19 décembre 1941, les Compagnies « A » et « D » du Winnipeg Grenadiers of Canada combattirent pour repousser les troupes japonaises qui déferlaient sur le promontoire stratégique du mont Butler. Après une âpre lutte, les troupes canadiennes furent séparées. L'un des groupes se replia en aval, sur une colline appelée Jardine's Lookout, où le sergent-major de compagnie John Osborn prit le commandement de quelque 65 Grenadiers de la Compagnie « A ». Ses troupes furent assaillies de grenades. Osborn répliqua en renvoyant les projectiles à l'ennemi. Cependant, il en tomba un qu'il ne put attraper à temps. En criant un avertissement, Osborn se jeta sur la grenade au moment où elle explosait et donna ainsi sa vie pour ses camarades. Le sergent-major de compagnie Osborn se vit décerner à titre posthume la Croix de Victoria, la plus grande récompense qui soit accordée dans le Commonwealth britannique pour la bravoure militaire
.
La plaque au Musée de la défense côtière


Robert « Flash » Clayton, ancien combattant de la bataille de Hong Kong, Royal Rifles of Canada

Inscription : Cette plaque est dédiée à tous les membres du Royal Rifles of Canada.

Près de cet endroit, dans la nuit du 18 décembre 1941, la Compagnie « C » du Royal Rifles of Canada, sous les ordres du major Wells Bishop, engagea le combat avec les forces de l'envahisseur japonais. Après plusieurs attaques féroces lancées plus tôt, les batteries d'artillerie et les canons antiaériens avaient été réduits au silence. Les Canadiens contre-attaquèrent. Mais, après avoir fait un grand nombre de victimes chez les troupes plus nombreuses de l'envahisseur, ils se virent contraints de battre en retraite plutôt que de se faire encercler. Le major Bishop reçut l'Ordre du service distingué pour sa bravoure.

La plaque à St. Stephen's College


Le président émérite du collège St. Stephens, C.P. LIN (à gauche) et le ministre canadien du Commerce international et ministre pour la Porte Asie-Pacifique, l'honorable Stockwell Day (à droite), lors de la cérémonie de dévoilement de la plaque.

Inscription :

Le jour de Noël 1941, ce bâtiment scolaire se trouvait sur la ligne de front entre les forces de l’envahisseur japonais et les troupes défendant Stanley. Le bâtiment servait alors d’hôpital de fortune et était bondé de personnel médical et de soldats blessés du Canada, de Grande-Bretagne, de Hong Kong et d’Inde. Avant que ne se termine le déferlement de la vague guerrière, plusieurs ont péri.  On estime que 120 hommes et femmes ont été incinérés sur la pelouse extérieure. Leurs cendres sont enterrées là où le St. Stephen's Memorial est érigé, au Cimetière militaire de Stanley. Les soldats canadiens qui ont péri lors de la défense de Hong Kong sont maintenant enterrés au Cimetière de guerre de Sai Wan et au Cimetière militaire de Stanley, où l’on honore toujours leur sacrifice.
 
Cette plaque leur est dédiée par le gouvernement du Canada.  Nous n’oublierons jamais.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2009-09-29