Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

HongKong.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations
  4. >
  5. Canada - Hong Kong Relations

Canada Remembers

Canadians in Hong Kong

 

The Government of Canada is mandated to keep the memory of the achievements and sacrifices of the men and women who served for Canada alive. The Canada Remembers Program endeavours to honour those who served Canada in times of war and peace; to engage communities in remembrance of these achievements and sacrifices; and, to promote an understanding of their significance in Canadian life as we know it today. [ more ...]

60TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE LIBERATION OF HONG KONG PRISONERS OF WAR

Liberation

One of the ways of fulfilling this commemorative mandate is by organizing pilgrimages to former battlefield sites to mark milestone anniversaries of significant wartime events in which Canada figured prominently. The veterans who take part in these pilgrimages represent the units and services which participated in the original event, or provided support to them. The delegates are nominated by their former regiments and the other veterans' organizations. By returning them to their former battlefields and the surrounding war cemeteries, Canada pays tribute to the participating veterans, focuses public attention on the experiences of all veterans of that wartime event and pays its respects to those who were left behind. Canada had a policy of burying its war dead near where they fell so these pilgrimages are one way of demonstrating that neither time nor distance shall lessen our remembrance.

In December 2005, six Second World War veterans returned to Hong Kong for a Veterans Affairs Canada pilgrimage to commemorate the 60th anniversary of the liberation of the Hong Kong Prisoners of War.  During the pilgrimage, the veterans, who participated in the Battle of Hong Kong, visited their former battlefields and the war cemeteries where hundreds of their comrades are buried or commemorated. The delegation participated in a number of commemorative events including three commemorative plaque dedication ceremonies and a Service of Remembrance at Sai Wan Bay War Cemetery.

Visit this site for photos of the pilgrimage.

MEMORIAL WALL  IN OTTAWA, CANADA  HONOURING VETERANS OF THE BATTLE OF HONG KONG

MEMORIAL WALL  IN OTTAWA, CANADA  HONOURING VETERANS OF THE BATTLE OF HONG KONG

The Hong Kong Memorial Wall, unveiled in Ottawa, Canada on August 15 2009, honours the Canadians who fought to defend Hong Kong during the Second World War .  The wall is located on National Capital Commission property at the corner of King Edward Avenue and Sussex Drive.  It is a six-metre granite wall, etched with the names of all the Canadians who fought in the Battle of Hong Kong.  On one side are the names of the 961 members of the Royal Rifles, and on the other side are the names of 911 Winnipeg Grenadiers.  The 106 members of brigade headquarters, including doctors, dentists and chaplins, are listed on either end of the memorial.  A complete list of the names can be found here.

The memorial is erected by the Hong Kong Veterans Commemorative Association (HKVCA ) following the fundraising campaign launched by the Association in 2007, and built on land made available by the National Capital Commission  (NCC) .  "The National Capital Commission is proud that this monument will stand in the heart of the Capital Region to tell Canadians and visitors the story of those who fought to defend Hong Kong and to ensure that we as a nation do not forget their efforts," said Marie Lemay,  the Chief Executive Officer of the NCC . "The NCC is pleased to have had the opportunity to work with the Hong Kong Veterans Commemorative Association of Canada to achieve this significant and meaningful monument."

More information about the Memorial Wall and the HKVCA efforts.
Details regarding the unveiling ceremony.

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-11-21

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

HongKong.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales
  4. >
  5. Relations Canada-Hong Kong

Le Canada se souvient

Canadiens à Hong Kong

 

Le gouvernement du Canada a notamment pour mandat de garder vivant le souvenir des réalisations et sacrifices des hommes et femmes qui ont servi le Canada.   Le programme Le Canada se souvient s'efforce de maintenir le souvenir des réalisations et des sacrifices consentis par ceux et celles qui ont servi le Canada en temps de guerre et de paix, d'amener les communautés à participer aux activités qui rendent hommage à ces réalisations et sacrifices et de promouvoir une compréhension de l'importance de ceux-ci dans la vie telle que nous la connaissons aujourd'hui au Canada. [Plus...]

60e ANNIVERSAIRE DE LA LIBÉRATION DES PRISONNIERS DE GUERRE DE HONG KONG

Libération

Une des façons de remplir ce volet commémoratif passe par l'organisation de pélerinages aux anciens champs de bataille pour souligner les anniversaires marquants des grands événements du temps de guerre dans lesquels le Canada s'est distingué.  Les anciens combattants qui prennent part à ces pèlerinages représentent les unités et les services qui ont participé à l'événement ou qui l'ont appuyé. Les délégués sont choisis par les associations de leurs régiments ou par d'autres organisations d'anciens combattants. En leur faisant visiter leur ancien champ de bataille et les cimetière de guerre avoisinants, le Canada rend hommage aux anciens combattants, attire l'attention du public sur les expériences de tous les anciens combattants qui ont participé à cet événement particulier en temps de guerre et se souvient de ceux qui sont restés là-bas.

En décembre 2005, six anciens combattants de la Seconde Guerre mondiale retournèrent à Hong Kong dans le cadre d'un pélerinage organisé par Anciens Combattants Canada afin de marquer le 60ième anniversaire de la libération des prisonniers de guerre de Hong Kong.  Au cours du pélerinage, les anciens combattants qui ont participé à la bataille de Hong Kong se rendirent sur les anciens champs de bataille et dans des cimetières de guerre dans lesquels sont enterrés ou commémorés des centaines de leurs camarades.  Ils participèrent en outre aux cérémonies de dévoilement de trois plaques commémoratives et à une cérémonie commémorative au Cimetière de guerre de Sai Wan.

Visitez ici pour les photos du pélerinage.

UN MUR COMMÉMORATIF HONORE LES ANCIENS COMBATTANTS DE LA BATAILLE DE HONG KONG À OTTAWA, CANADA 

UN MUR COMMÉMORATIF HONORE LES ANCIENS COMBATTANTS DE LA BATAILLE DE HONG KONG À OTTAWA, CANADA

Dévoilé le 15 août 2009 à Ottawa, le mur commémoratif de Hong Kong honore les Canadiens qui ont combattu pour défendre Hong Kong lors de la Seconde guerre mondiale. Le mur est situé sur un terrain appartenant à la Commission de la Capitale nationale au coin de l’avenue King Edward et de la promenade Sussex. Il s'agit d'un mur de granit de six mètres sur lequel sont gravés les noms de tous les Canadiens qui ont participé à la bataille de Hong Kong. D'un côté on trouve les noms des 961 membres du Royal Rifles, alors que de l'autre côté ce sont les noms des 911 membres du Winnipeg Grenadiers qui sont gravés. Les noms des 106 membres du quartier général de la brigade, parmi lesquels on retrouvait des médecins, des dentistes et des aumôniers, sont inscrits aux deux extrémités du monument commémoratif. La liste complète des noms est disponible ici.

Érigé par la Hong Kong Veterans Commemorative Association (HKVCA) suite à une campagne de collecte de fonds entreprise par l’association en 2007, le monument a été construit sur un terrain offert par la Commission de la Capitale nationale (CCN). « La Commission de la Capitale nationale est fière que ce monument ait été érigé au cœur de la région de la capitale pour relater aux Canadiens et aux visiteurs l'histoire de ceux qui se sont battus pour défendre Hong Kong et faire en sorte que nous, en tant que nation, n'oublions jamais leurs efforts, » a déclaré Marie Lemay, première dirigeante de la CCN. « La CCN est heureuse d'avoir pu travailler de concert avec la Hong Kong Veterans Commemorative Association of Canada pour réaliser cet important monument. »

De plus amples informations sur le mur commémoratif et les efforts de la HKVCA.(en anglais seulement)
Les détails concernant la cérémonie de dévoilement.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-11-21