Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

HongKong.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Message from the Consul General

Jeff Nankivell
Jeff Nankivell
   

Welcome!

On behalf of the entire team at the Consulate General of Canada in Hong Kong and Macao, it is my pleasure and privilege to welcome you to our web site. I hope that the information provide here will help you learn more about the services offered by my colleagues and Canada’s close partnership with the Hong Kong and Macao Special Administrative Regions.

As many of you know, Hong Kong boasts one of the largest Canadian communities abroad, estimated at 300,000.  Along with 165,000 Canadian-educated Hong Kong residents and 500,000 people of Hong Kong descent living in Canada, Canadians are playing an increasingly important role towards enhancing our bilateral ties; locally and regionally.

One of the main foundations of this relationship is the commitment made by close to 2,000 Canadian soldiers in 1941 during the Battle of Hong Kong, which continues to inspire us. 

I feel strongly that Canada’s friendship with Hong Kong is underpinned by our shared Commonwealth heritage and firm commitment to a number of values, including upholding the rule of law, an independent judiciary and freedom of expression.  Good governance and the ‘One Country, Two Systems’ model are both essential for Hong Kong’s continued stability and prosperity.

The Government of Canada is working relentlessly to further Canada’s prosperity and strengthen our economic and political relations with Asia.  Hong Kong and Macao are key partners in Canada’s overall strategy in Asia.  Hong Kong, in particular, plays a strategic role as an effective and efficient super connector for Canadian companies looking to expand in mainland China and elsewhere in Asia.

Canada takes full advantage of the trade and investment opportunities in Hong Kong and Macao.  

For example, in 2014, Canada’s merchandise exports to Hong Kong totalled C$4.6 billion. This makes Hong Kong, Canada’s 6th largest merchandise export market, larger than Germany, France, South Korea, Brazil, India and Australia.

These growing commercial ties are largely because of the vibrant Canadian business communities in Hong Kong and Macao, which continue to grow.  In particular, the Canadian Chamber of Commerce in Hong Kong, with its over 1,000 members, is one of the largest Canadian chambers outside of Canada.  It provides support for Canadian companies that are looking to expand their business in this part of the world. There is also a smaller but active Canadian Chamber of Commerce in Macao.

From email to web to social media platforms, the advancement in technology over the past 20 years has transformed the way that we promote Canada as a dynamic country with a rich culture and strong economy. Canada is active in digital diplomacy and we have enhanced our connections online. LinkedIn, Facebook and Twitter allow us to provide real time updates on Canadian culture and commercial successes in Hong Kong and Macao, and to provide important notices to the community.  Instagram enables us to share interesting photos with a much wider audience. And we highlight Canadian food and culinary delights in Hong Kong through our Canadafood.hk website. Join us at these social media sites and start exploring Canada in Hong Kong!

Yours most sincerely,

Jeff Nankivell
Consul General of Canada in Hong Kong and Macao


Biography

Mr. Jeff Nankivell succeeded Mr. J. Ian Burchett as Consul General of Canada in Hong Kong and Macao in August 2016.

Since 2011, Jeff Nankivell has served as Director General and was responsible for Canada’s official development assistance in Asia, with the Canadian International Development Agency and then with Global Affairs Canada. After joining the Foreign Service in 1988, he served in various capacities with CIDA: as a project team leader with the China Program; at the Canadian Embassy in Beijing, for two postings (1991 to 1995 and 2000 to 2004); as Country Analyst with the Russia Program; as Senior Program Manager for the World Bank Group, Multilateral Programs Branch; as Director, Strategic Policy in the Agency’s Policy Branch, and as Director, China and Northeast Asia. From 2008 to 2011, he was posted again to the Canadian Embassy in Beijing, as Minister and Deputy Head of Mission. He has also worked at the Ontario Legislature and at South-The Third World Newsmagazine. He holds a BA in International Relations from the University of Toronto, an MSc in Political Sociology from the London School of Economics, and a Certificate (one-year program) in Chinese Language and Culture from the Chinese University of Hong Kong.

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-08-25

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

HongKong.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Message du consul général

Jeff Nankivell
Jeff Nankivell
   

Bienvenue!

Au nom de toute l’équipe du Consulat général du Canada à Hong Kong et Macao, j’ai le plaisir et le privilège de vous accueillir sur notre site Web. J’espère que les informations communiquées ici vous permettront d’en apprendre davantage sur les services offerts par mes collègues et sur le partenariat étroit entre le Canada et les régions administratives spéciales de Hong Kong et Macao.

Comme plusieurs d’entre vous le savent, Hong Kong compte l’une des plus grandes communautés canadiennes à l’étranger, estimée à 300,000 personnes. Avec 165,000 résidents de Hong Kong formés au Canada et 500,000 habitants de descendance hongkongaise vivant au Canada, les Canadiens jouent un rôle de plus en plus important dans le renforcement de nos relations bilatérales; localement et régionalement.

L’un des principaux fondements de cette relation est l’engagement pris par près de 2,000 soldats canadiens de défendre Hong Kong contre les forces japonaises en 1941. La bataille de Hong Kong continue de nous inspirer encore aujourd’hui.

Je crois fermement que l’amitié entre le Canada et Hong Kong s’appuie sur notre patrimoine commun au sein du Commonwealth et un engagement ferme envers certaines valeurs, dont le respect de la primauté du droit, l’indépendance du système judiciaire et la liberté d’expression. La bonne gouvernance et le modèle d’«un pays, deux systèmes » constituent deux éléments essentiels à la stabilité et la prospérité de Hong Kong.

Le gouvernement du Canada travaille sans relâche à promouvoir la prospérité du Canada et renforcer nos relations économiques et politiques avec l’Asie. Hong Kong et Macao sont des partenaires clés dans la stratégie globale du Canada en Asie. Hong Kong, en particulier, joue un rôle stratégique à titre d’intermédiare extraordinairement efficace pour les entreprises canadiennes qui souhaitent étendre leurs activités en Chine continentale et ailleurs en Asie.

Le Canada tire pleinement parti des possibilités de commerce et d’investissement à Hong Kong et Macao.

Par exemple, en 2014, les exportations de marchandises canadiennes vers Hong Kong s’élevaient à 4,6 milliards $CA. Cela fait de Hong Kong le 6e principal débouché pour les exportations de marchandises canadiennes, devant l’Allemagne, la France, la Corée du Sud, le Brésil, l’Inde et l’Australie.

Ces liens commerciaux croissants sont en grande partie attribuables au dynamisme des milieux d’affaires canadiens à Hong Kong et Macao qui continuent de voir leurs rangs grossir. En particulier, la Chambre de commerce canadienne à Hong Kong, qui compte plus de 1,000 membres, est l’une des plus grandes chambres canadiennes à l’extérieur du Canada. Elle fournit un soutien aux entreprises canadiennes qui cherchent à étendre leurs activités dans cette partie du monde. Il y a également une Chambre de commerce canadienne à Macao,  qui est plus petite, mais qui est très active.

Des courriels au Web en passant par les plateformes de médias sociaux, l’avancement technologique des 20 dernières années a transformé la façon dont nous faisons la promotion du Canada comme pays dynamique doté d’une culture riche et d’une économie forte. Le Canada est actif dans la diplomatie numérique et nous avons amélioré nos connexions en ligne. LinkedIn, Facebook et Twitter nous permettent d’offrir des mises à jour en temps réel sur la culture canadienne et les succès commerciaux à Hong Kong et Macao, ainsi que de fournir des informations importantes pour la communauté. Instagram nous permet de partager des photos intéressantes avec un public beaucoup plus large. Nous soulignons également les délices alimentaires et culinaires canadiens à Hong Kong sur notre site Canadafood.hk. Rejoignez-nous sur ces sites de médias sociaux et commencez à explorer le Canada à Hong Kong!

Cordialement,

Jeff Nankivell
Consul général du Canada à Hong Kong et Macao


Biographie

M. Nankivell succède à M. J. Ian Burchett comme Consul général du Canada à Hong Kong et Macao en août 2016.

Jeff Nankivell est le Directeur général d’Affaires mondiales Canada (auparavant Agence canadienne de développement international – ACDI), responsable de l’aide au développement officielle du Canada en Asie depuis 2011. Après avoir joint le service extérieur en 1988, il a occupé différents postes pour l’ACDI : comme chef d’équipe de projet avec le programme de la Chine; à l’Ambassade du Canada à Beijing pour deux affectations (1991 à 1995, et 2000 à 2004); comme analyste de pays avec le programme de la Russie, comme gestionnaire principal de programme pour le groupe de la Banque mondiale, et comme directeur, Chine et Asie du nord-est. De 2008 à 2011, il a été de nouveau affecté à l’Ambassade du Canada à Beijing comme Ministre et Chef de mission adjoint. Jeff a aussi travaillé à l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario et pour le magazine South – The Third World Newsmagazine. Il détient un B.A. en relations internationales de l’Université de Toronto, un M.Sc. en sociologie politique de la London School of Economics, et un certificat (programme d’un an) en langue et culture chinoise de l’Université chinoise de Hong Kong.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-08-25