Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Hungary.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Canada concerned with restrictive amendments to Hungary’s education law

May 4, 2017 - Budapest, Hungary - Embassy of Canada to Hungary

Isabelle Poupart, Canadian Ambassador to Hungary, Slovenia and Bosnia and Herzegovina, today issued the following statement regarding recent amendments to Hungary’s 2011 law on national higher education:

“Canada is seriously concerned by amendments that stand to endanger academic freedom in Hungary and the operations of the Central European University [CEU]. While we welcome the commitment of Hungarian leaders on Saturday to engage about amendments to the education law, we urge them to quickly move from words to meaningful action.

“In Hungary and abroad we have witnessed strong and sustained mobilization in support of academic freedom and the CEU. In Canada, academics and educational institutions such as the University of Alberta, University of Quebec in Montréal, University of Toronto, Western University, and the Canadian Association of University Teachers, have expressed their concern for the future of the CEU. As a long-time friend and ally of Hungary, Canada encourages a constructive dialogue that could pave the way for a timely and effective resolution of this issue.

“The CEU is an institution of great international repute and includes a number of Canadian students and faculty in its academic community, comprising people from 130 nations. Canada strongly supports the essential role that universities, NGOs and a free press play in fostering open, prosperous, inclusive and democratic societies.”

Contacts

Embassy of Canada to Hungary in Budapest
+36 1 392-3360
bpest@international.gc.ca
Follow us on Twitter: @CanadaHungary

Footer

Date Modified:
2017-05-04

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Hongrie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Le Canada est préoccupé par les modifications restrictives apportées à la loi sur l’éducation en Hongrie

Le 4 mai - Budapest, Hongrie - Ambassade du Canada en Hongrie

Isabelle Poupart, Ambassadrice du Canada en Hongrie, en Slovénie et en Bosnie-Herzégovine, a fait aujourd’hui la déclaration suivante au sujet des modifications récemment apportées par la Hongrie à sa loi de 2011 sur l’éducation supérieure nationale :

« Le Canada est très préoccupé par les modifications qui ont été apportées et qui risquent de mettre en danger la liberté universitaire en Hongrie ainsi que les activités de l’Université d’Europe centrale (CEU). Bien que nous accueillions favorablement l’engagement pris samedi par les dirigeants hongrois d’intervenir afin de faire modifier leur loi sur l’éducation, nous les prions instamment de passer rapidement de la parole à des actes concrets.

« En Hongrie et dans d’autres pays, nous avons constaté une mobilisation forte et soutenue en appui à la liberté universitaire et à la CEU. Au Canada, des universités et des établissements d’enseignement, tels que l’Université de l’Alberta, l’Université du Québec à Montréal, l’Université de Toronto, l’Université Western, et l’Association canadienne des professeures et professeurs d’université se sont dits préoccupés par l’avenir de la CEU. En tant qu’ami et allié de longue date de la Hongrie, le Canada l’invite à établir un dialogue constructif pouvant paver la voie à une résolution rapide et efficace de cette question.

« L’Université d’Europe centrale est un établissement qui jouit d’une excellente réputation internationale et accueille des étudiants et des enseignants canadiens au sein de sa communauté universitaire, dont les membres viennent de 130 pays. Le Canada appuie fermement le rôle essentiel joué par les universités, les ONG et la presse libre pour favoriser l’édification de sociétés ouvertes, prospères, inclusives et démocratiques. »

Contacts

Ambassade du Canada à Budapest
+36 1 392-3360
bpest@international.gc.ca
Suivez-nous sur Twitter : @CanadaHongrie

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2017-05-04