Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Hungary.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations

Canada-Slovenia Relations

Bilateral Relations

Canada has excellent relations with Slovenia. Canada recognized Slovenian independence in January 1992, and established diplomatic relations a year later. There are approximately 37,000 Canadians of Slovenian origin. Slovenia has an Embassy in Ottawa, an Honorary Consulate General in Toronto and honorary consulates in Vancouver and Moncton. Canada's Ambassador to Slovenia is resident in Budapest. The Embassy is assisted by an honorary consul in Ljubljana, Slovenia's capital.

The Governor General of Canada, Michaëlle Jean, visited Slovenia in October 2009, paying visits to government officials as well as local artistic, cultural and youth groups. In 2010, separate visits were made to Slovenia by the then Minister of International Trade, Peter Van Loan, and the Minister of National Defence, Peter MacKay. Then Minister of State (Americas and Consular Affairs), Diane Ablonczy visited Slovenia in June 2012 followed by the visit of Minister of State (Foreign Affairs and Consular), Lynne Yelich, in September 2013.

Multilateral Cooperation

Canada and Slovenia often seek shared goals due to a common commitment to multilateralism and the rule of law. Slovenia joined NATO in 2004, and is also a member of the OSCE and OECD. Canada has contributed to Slovenia's International Trust Fund for demining projects.

Youth Mobility

A Youth Mobility Agreement between Canada and Slovenia was signed in October 2009, and was implemented on 1 July 2010. Under the agreement Slovenian and Canadian youths between 18 and 35 years old are able to learn about and explore each other’s country, languages, cultures and societies by living and working in their opposite country for a period of up to one year. Currently this program is open to 100 Slovenian and 100 Canadian youths annually.

Trade and Investment

Canada’s commercial interest has not been exploited to its potential in Slovenia. In 2012, bilateral merchandise trade between the two countries was $202.3 million Canadian dollars. Most Canadian exports are in high value-added products and services, particularly in the aerospace industry.

Last updated: February 2014


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Footer

Date Modified:
2014-03-26

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Hongrie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales

Relations Canada-Slovénie

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada entretient d’excellentes relations avec la Slovénie. Le Canada a reconnu l’indépendance slovène en janvier 1992, et les deux pays ont établi des relations diplomatiques un an plus tard. On compte environ 37 100 Canadiens d’origine slovène. La Slovénie a une ambassade à Ottawa ainsi qu’un Consulat honoraire général à Toronto et des consulats honoraires à Vancouver et à Moncton. L’ambassadeur du Canada en Slovénie réside à Budapest, et l’ambassade est secondée par un consul honoraire à Ljubljana, capitale de la Slovénie.

La gouverneure générale du Canada, Michaëlle Jean, s’est rendue en Slovénie en octobre 2009, où elle a rencontré des responsables du gouvernement ainsi que des groupes de jeunes et des représentants des milieux culturels et artistiques. En 2010, le ministre du commerce international de l’époque, M. Peter Van Loan, ainsi que le ministre de la défense nationale, M. Peter MacKay, y ont effectué des visites individuelles. Ministre d'état (Affaires étrangères et consulaires) Lynne Yelich  s'est rendue en Slovénie en septembre 2013.

Coopération multilatérale

Le Canada et la Slovénie poursuivent souvent des buts communs en raison d’un engagement partagé à l’égard du multilatéralisme et de la primauté du droit. La Slovénie a joint les rangs de l’OTAN en 2004 et est également membre de l’OSCE et de l’OCDE. Le Canada a contribué au Fonds d’affectation spéciale international de la Slovénie pour des projets de déminage.

Mobilité des jeunes

Un Accord entre le Canada et la Slovénie sur la mobilité des jeunes, signé en octobre 2009, est entré en vigueur le 1er juillet 2010. Aux termes de cet accord, de jeunes Slovènes et de jeunes Canadiens âgés de 18 à 35 ans ont la possibilité de découvrir et d’explorer l’un ou l’autre pays, ses langues, sa culture et sa société en y effectuant un séjour de travail d’une durée pouvant atteindre un an. Actuellement, ce programme est ouvert à 100 jeunes Slovènes et à 100 jeunes Canadiens chaque année.

Commerce et investissement

Les intérêts commerciaux du Canada ne sont pas exploités à leur plein potentiel en Slovénie. En 2012, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre les deux pays a atteint 202,3 millions de dollars canadiens. Les exportations canadiennes sont surtout constituées de produits et de services à forte valeur ajoutée, particulièrement dans le secteur de l’aérospatiale.

Dernière mise-à-jour : février 2014


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2014-08-19