Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Hungary.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Canada Fund for Local Initiatives

Call for proposals 2017 for Bosnia and Herzegovina

The Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI) is a program designed to fund small-scale bilateral projects in Official Development Assistance (ODA) eligible countries, which align with Global Affairs Canada’s thematic priority areas for engagement. The program is directed at projects conceived and designed by local entities. Projects are selected and approved by the relevant Canadian Embassy or High Commission. The CFLI also serves to support positive bilateral relations between Canada, recipient countries and their respective civil societies by deepening contacts and supporting local endeavours.

Thematic Priorities

All projects must align with at least one of the following thematic priorities:

  • Empowering women and girls and promoting gender equality
  • Championing human rights, inclusive and accountable governance, democracy, peaceful pluralism, and respect for diversity
  • Supporting inclusive and green economic growth
  • Promoting peace and security

Organizations eligible to apply for CFLI Funding

Within the context of eligible countries, eligible recipients include: 

  • local non-governmental, community and not-for-profit organizations,
  • local academic institutions working on local projects,
  • international, intergovernmental, multilateral and regional institutions, organizations and agencies working on local development activities,
  • municipal, regional or national government institutions or agencies of the recipient  country working on local projects, and
  • Canadian non-governmental and not-for-profit organizations that are working on local development activities.

The majority of CFLI funding is to be directed toward local civil society organizations (including non-governmental organizations) and other institutions working at the local level. Other entities, such as international, intergovernmental, multilateral and regional organizations can be eligible for a contribution, provided that they are working with local partners and on local projects that are consistent with the objectives of the CFLI. Similarly, municipal, regional or national government institutions may receive CFLI funding, provided that their projects are essentially local in nature. The CFLI is always looking to fund innovative projects, which deliver measurable results. 

Eligible Costs

The following costs are eligible within projects for CFLI funding:

  • administrative and overhead costs specifically related to the project
  • capital and/or operating expenditures related to the lease and/or purchase and/or building of infrastructure
  • installation, maintenance, shipping and/or transportation costs, including fuel, computers and communication devices
  • civic education costs
  • conference and event expenditures
  • hospitality costs, excluding alcoholic beverages
  • training and capacity building expenditures
  • costs of services received by recipients
  • outreach, communication and information dissemination costs
  • environmental assessment costs
  • advocacy and lobbying related costs
  • legal costs
  • accounting costs
  • medical costs
  • publishing costs
  • radio and television broadcast fees
  • facilities and equipment rental charges
  • research-related costs
  • salary costs relating to the project
  • security costs
  • translation and interpretation fees
  • travel expenses, using lowest fares possible but not exceeding full fare economy class (international travel expenses must receive prior approval from the CFLI Unit)
  • lease or rental of vehicles
  • vehicle and equipment operation, installation and/or maintenance
  • website development and related costs
  • miscellaneous expenses integral to the project 

The following costs are NOT eligible for CFLI funding:

  • nuclear technologies and facilities
  • assistance to military or paramilitary organizations
  • gifts
  • luxury goods
  • direct fiscal support to a government
  • core funding or recurrent costs of an organization
  • international travel (without prior approval from the CFLI Unit)
  • revolving funds, (that is, funds used to advance loans to individuals, i.e. microfinance)
  • expenses incurred prior to the signing of the CA, or after it expires

Project and funding limitations 

The contribution from the CFLI is limited to a minimum of CAD $15,000 (approx. BAM 20,000) and a maximum of CAD $45,000 (approx. BAM 58,000). The project duration should be a minimum of four (4) months and a maximum of six (6) months. Project activities funded by the CFLI must start no earlier than August 1, 2017 and be completedno later than February 15, 2018. 

Projects: Projects should be unique and not duplicate or correct other projects, or provide additional Canadian funding to projects already funded by the Government of Canada. Funds cannot be used to represent the recipient's contribution for the purpose of receiving funding from another group. Projects may be considered that form one component of a larger project led by another donor organization. 

Approval may be given for more than one project for the same recipient within the same fiscal year or in successive fiscal years, so long as the projects are distinct. Project splitting or creating a number of smaller projects is to be avoided. 

Funds: Project funds are to be spent in-country, and required materials and supplies are to be procured locally. The program is not intended to finance study tours, core funding or recurrent organizational costs, or to benefit privately owned firms or enterprises. CFLI is not to be used to fund Canadian experts, civil servants or private sector professionals to visit the host country for short-term work (seminars, technical cooperation, etc.). Feasibility studies are not eligible for CFLI funding. Funding for local participation in regional conferences or local training seminars is permitted, particularly if these are Canadian-sponsored. Project contributions must be used for the purposes intended. 

Sustainability: Preference will be given to projects with self-sustaining activities that continue after CFLI funding ends, as well as to projects which result in a genuine and concrete improvement in the circumstances or opportunities available to participants and others. 

Gender equality: Preference will be given to projects that promote the equal participation and integration of both genders at all stages. Projects with a direct benefit to the circumstances of women and which enable women to gain project experience are also encouraged, as are projects promoting the protection of women’s rights. 

Submitting a project proposal 

Applications must be presented using the Project Application for Funding Template. Project proposals must be submitted in either English or French. The template must be completed fully and accompanied by all requested supporting documentation. 

Incomplete applications (i.e. applications which are not presented on the template provided, fail to fully address all points in the application form, and/or which are not accompanied by the relevant documentation) will NOT be taken into consideration. 

The deadline for applications within this Call for Proposals is June 28, 2017. Proposals received after this deadline will not be taken into consideration. Please note that technical factors which may prevent receipt of a proposal before the given deadline will NOT be taken into consideration; it is strongly recommended that applications be submitted well in advance. 

Project proposals must be submitted electronically to coordinator@canadafundbih.org

The subject line of the application should read: ‘Application for Funding: (project title)’ 

Project selection 

Proposals are reviewed by the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives Selection Committee, and successful applicants will be invited to sign a contribution agreement. The agreement will specify the CFLI contribution in Canadian dollars (CAD); CFLI is not responsible for losses incurred by exchange rate fluctuation. The organisation must submit detailed financial and narrative reports to the Government of Canada at mid-point and project termination, and return any unused funds. Expenses incurred prior to the signing of the contribution agreement are NOT eligible for funding. 

To request application forms and additional information on the CFLI program, please contact: coordinator@canadafundbih.org . 

Project applications are kept on file at missions in accordance with Global Affairs Canada’s information management policies.

June 2017

Footer

Date Modified:
2017-06-20

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Hongrie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Le Fonds canadien d'initiatives locales

Appel de propositions 2017 pour le Bosnie-Herzégovine

Le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL) est un programme conçu pour financer les projets bilatéraux à petite échelle dans les pays admissibles à une aide publique au développement (APD), lesquels sont conformes aux domaines d'intervention prioritaires thématiques d'Affaires mondiales Canada. Ce programme est axé sur les projets conçus par des entités locales. Les projets sont sélectionnés et approuvés par l'ambassade ou le haut‑commissariat du Canada concerné. Le FCIL permet aussi d'appuyer les relations bilatérales positives entre le Canada, les pays bénéficiaires et leur société civile respective en renforçant les liens avec les personnes-ressources et en soutenant les initiatives locales.

Priorités thématiques

Tous les projets doivent être harmonisés au moins à l'une des priorités thématiques suivantes :

  • Autonomiser les femmes et les filles et promouvoir l'égalité entre les sexes.
  • Se faire le champion des droits de la personne, de la gouvernance inclusive et responsable, de la démocratie, du pluralisme pacifique ainsi que du respect de la diversité.
  • Soutenir la croissance économique inclusive et verte.
  • Promouvoir la paix et la sécurité.

Organisations admissibles à un financement du FCIL

Dans le contexte des pays admissibles, les bénéficiaires admissibles incluent :

  • des organisations non gouvernementales locales, communautaires et sans but lucratif;
  • des établissements d’enseignement locaux travaillant à des projets locaux;
  • des institutions, organisations et organismes internationaux, intergouvernementaux, multilatéraux et régionaux qui travaillent à la réalisation d'activités locales de développement;
  • des institutions ou organismes des administrations municipales, régionales ou nationales du pays bénéficiaire qui travaillent à la réalisation de projets locaux;
  • des organisations non gouvernementales et sans but lucratif canadiennes qui travaillent à la réalisation d'activités locales de développement.

La majorité du financement du FCIL est destinée à des organisations de la société civile locale (y compris des organisations non gouvernementales) et d'autres institutions qui travaillent à l'échelle locale. D'autres entités, comme les organismes internationaux, intergouvernementaux, multilatéraux et régionaux peuvent aussi être admissibles, à condition qu'elles collaborent avec des partenaires locaux à la réalisation de projets locaux qui cadrent avec les objectifs du FCIL. De même, les institutions gouvernementales à l’échelle municipale, régionale ou nationale peuvent aussi recevoir un financement dans le cadre du FCIL, pourvu que leurs projets soient essentiellement locaux. Le FCIL est toujours à la recherche de projets novateurs à financer, lesquels obtiennent des résultats mesurables.

Coûts admissibles

Les coûts suivants sont admissibles dans le cadre de projets financés par le FCIL :

  • Frais administratifs et généraux propres au projet
  • Dépenses d’investissement et de fonctionnement liées à la location, à l’acquisition et à la construction de l’infrastructure nécessaire
  • Frais d’installation, d’entretien, d’expédition et de transport, incluant le carburant, les ordinateurs et les appareils de communication
  • Coûts liés à l’éducation civique
  • Conférences et autres activités
  • Coûts liés à l’accueil, excluant les boissons alcoolisées
  • Formation et dépenses pour le renforcement des capacités
  • Services reçus par le bénéficiaire
  • Sensibilisation, communication et divulgation de l’information
  • Coûts de l’évaluation environnementale
  • Défense des intérêts et lobbying
  • Frais juridiques
  • Comptabilité
  • Frais médicaux
  • Frais d'édition
  • Frais de radiodiffusion et de télédiffusion
  • Location d’installations et d’équipement
  • Recherches
  • Salaires des employés
  • Coûts de la sécurité
  • Frais de traduction et d’interprétation
  • Frais de déplacement, en fonction du plus bas tarif disponible, et sans excéder la classe économique plein tarif (les frais de déplacement international doivent d'abord recevoir l'approbation de l'Unité du FCIL)
  • Prêt ou location de véhicules
  • Frais liés au fonctionnement, à l’installation et à l’entretien des véhicules et de l’équipement
  • Frais liés à la conception de sites Internet
  • Frais divers nécessaires au projet

Coûts NON admissibles au financement du FCIL

  • technologies et installations nucléaires
  • Aide aux organisations militaires ou paramilitaires
  • Cadeaux
  • Articles de luxe
  • Appui financier direct à un gouvernement
  • Financement des activités de base ou des frais récurrents d’une organisation
  • Les déplacements internationaux (sans approbation préalable de l'unité du FCIL)
  • Fonds renouvelables (c.-à-d. des fonds utilisés pour accorder des prêts, par exemple, par le microfinancement)
  • Dépenses engagées avant la signature d'un accord de contribution, ou après la fin de l'accord

Restrictions applicables aux projets et limites de la contribution

La contribution du FCIL est limitée à un minimum de CAD $15,000 (environ BAM 20,000) et un maximum de CAD $45,000 (environ BAM 58,000). Le projet doit comporter une durée minimum de quatre (4) mois et une durée maximum de six (6) mois. Le programme de mise en œuvre des activités financées par le FCIL ne doit pas commencer avant le 1er août 2017 et doit se terminer au plus tard le 15 février 2018.

Projets: Les projets doivent être uniques et ne devraient pas reproduire ou rectifier d’autres projets, ou fournir une contribution canadienne supplémentaire aux projets déjà financés par le Gouvernement du Canada. Les fonds ne doivent pas représenter le montant exigé d’un organisme bénéficiaire afin de recevoir des fonds d’un groupe tiers. Les projets qui forment une composante d’un projet plus étendu mené par une autre organisation donatrice peuvent cependant être pris en considération.

Plusieurs projets du même destinataire peuvent être approuvés dans le même cycle financier, ou dans le cycle financier suivant, à condition que ces projets soient distincts. La division du projet ou la création de plusieurs petits projets similaires est à éviter.

Contribution financière: Les contributions attribuées aux projets doivent être dépensées dans le pays même ; les matériaux et les fournitures nécessaires aux projets doivent être achetés sur le marché local. Le programme n’est pas destiné à fournir une subvention aux voyages d’étude, au financement de base ou aux coûts récurrents d’une association, ni à subventionner des entreprises ou des compagnies privées. Le FCIL ne doit pas être sollicité pour couvrir les frais des experts, des fonctionnaires ou des professionnels du secteur privé canadiens en visite dans le pays hôte pour un travail à courte durée (séminaires, enseignement, coopération technique, etc.). Le FCIL ne peut pas subventionner les études de faisabilité. Le financement d’une participation locale aux conférences régionales ou formations locales est admissible, en particulier si celles-ci sont appuyées par le Canada. Les contributions aux projets doivent être utilisées aux fins prévues.

Durabilité: La préférence sera donnée aux projets ayant une forte autosuffisance qui se prolongera au-delà de la fin du projet financé par le FCIL, ainsi qu’aux projets qui offrent une amélioration concrète et tangible des circonstances ou perspectives ouvertes aux participants ou aux autres.

Égalité entre les sexes: La préférence sera donnée aux projets qui favorisent à toutes les étapes la participation égale ainsi que l’intégration des deux sexes. Les projets qui apportent une amélioration directe des circonstances des femmes et qui permettent aux femmes d’acquérir de l’expérience de gestion de projet sont également encouragés, ainsi que les projets visant à promouvoir la protection des droits des femmes.

Comment présenter une demande de financement

Toute demande doit être présentée sur le formulaire de demande de financement de projet. Les demandes doivent être soumises soit en français soit en anglais. Tous les champs du formulaire doivent être remplis et tous les documents justificatifs attachés à la demande.

Les propositions incomplètes, c’est-à-dire les propositions qui ne sont pas présentées sur le formulaire fourni, qui ne contiennent pas toutes les informations exigées dans le formulaire de demande et/ou ne sont pas accompagnées par les documents requis, NE SERONT PAS prises en considération.

La date limite de réception des demandes d’admission dans le contexte de cet appel de propositions est fixée au 28 juin 2017. Les demandes reçues après cette date limite ne seront pas prises en considération. Veuillez noter qu’on ne tiendra pas compte des facteurs techniques qui peuvent empêcher la réception d’une demande avant la date limite indiquée. Il est fortement recommandé donc que les demandes soient soumises bien à l’avance.

Les demandes doivent être soumises par courriel à coordinator@canadafundbih.org

L’objet du message doit porter la mention : “Demande de financement : (nom du projet)”

Processus d’approbation de projet

Les propositions seront examinées par le Comité du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales. Les candidats retenus seront invités à signer un accord de contribution. Cet accord précisera la contribution FCIL, exprimé en dollars canadiens (CAD) ; le FCIL n’est pas responsable des pertes occasionnées par les fluctuations des taux de change. L’organisation doit soumettre des rapports financiers et narratifs détaillés à mi-parcours et à la fin du projet, en retournant les fonds non-utilisés. Les dépenses engagées avant la signature de l’accord de contribution NE SONT PAS admissibles au financement.

Pour obtenir le formulaire de demande de financement et des informations additionnelles sur le programme FCIL, veuillez contacter : coordinator@canadafundbih.org .

Les demandes de financement pour les projets sont conservées dans les dossiers des missions conformément aux politiques en matière de gestion de l'information d'Affaires mondiales Canada.

Juin 2017

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2017-06-20