Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Hungary.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Canada-Hungary Diplomatic Relations Celebrate 50 Years

Bookmark and Share

The hockey jersey bears the signatures of Canadian and Hungarian U18 national women hockey players and becomes a symbol of partnership between Canada and Hungary.
 

Canadian and Hungarian players sign a special hockey jersey designed to celebrate the 50th anniversary of Canada-Hungary diplomatic relations.
   

The talented Canadian pianist Lisa Yui enthralls her audience at the Embassy, highlighting Canadian excellence and the role of culture as a bridge between nations.
   

Celebrating Canadian-Hungarian business relations, Hungarian-born Linamar founder Frank Hasenfratz shares his views on success in the automotive industry with Gábor Lambert, editor-in-chief of the weekly Figyelő business magazine.
   

2014 marked the 50th anniversary of diplomatic relations between Canada and Hungary. Canada celebrated this important anniversary by highlighting the strong relationship enjoyed by our two countries in a wide range of areas, including business, government, culture and sport. Check out our gallery to see photos of key events organized by the Embassy marking this special anniversary:

Teamwork
In March 2014, the Embassy hosted a reception to honour the Canadian and Hungarian Under-18 National Women’s Hockey Teams, which competed in the 2014 World Championships in Budapest. Canadian Ambassador Lisa Helfand highlighted the importance of teamwork as a vital ingredient for success in both sports and diplomacy. Members of the local Canadian community and Embassy supporters were proud to see Canada’s national team emerge victorious at the Budapest World Championships. Ambassador Helfand presented the gold medals to the Canadian team, providing another opportunity to celebrate Canadian excellence and the bond we share with Hungary.

Excellence
In May 2014, the Embassy welcomed the remarkably talented Canadian pianist Lisa Yui to Budapest as part of key events, celebrating 50 years of achievement in diplomatic relations between Canada and Hungary. Lisa Yui’s piano recital, including compositions by Hungarian Franz Liszt and Canadian Francois Morel, was enjoyed by a packed audience at the Embassy, and provided an opportunity to celebrate Canadian excellence. The event was also a helpful opportunity for strengthening relations with government and business leaders.

Prosperity
In September 2014, the Embassy showcased a remarkable business success story, demonstrating the depth and breadth of economic relations between Canada and Hungary. Founder of Linamar, Canada’s second largest auto-parts manufacturer, Hungarian-born Frank Hasenfratz was the key speaker at the Embassy presentation of his own biography, “Driven to Succeed”, written by two distinguished Canadian authors. At his presentation, Mr Hasenfratz described how he arrived in Canada in 1956 as a penniless refugee, and succeeded in converting a small manufacturing enterprise in his basement into a global corporate enterprise, with sales of $3.6 billion in 2013. Linamar today has 15,000 employees in eight countries with 44 manufacturing facilities, and has major investments in Hungary since 1991. Shining the spotlight on this success story has raised awareness of the importance of Canada-Hungary business relations and the Canada-EU Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) by highlighting the mutual beneficial trade and investment relationship between the two countries.

Co-operation
In October 2014, a high-profile visit culminated efforts to mark the 50th anniversary of diplomatic relations between Canada and Hungary. Canadian Speaker of the Senate Noël Kinsella led a parliamentary delegation to Hungary to meet with senior Hungarian officials in Parliament, government, as well as business leaders and members of civil society. Following the September 26, 2014 Canada-EU summit, the Speaker’s visit was an important and timely opportunity to boost support for CETA and further strengthen relations between the two countries. The Speaker’s message was enthusiastically received, including at a dinner organized by the Canadian Chamber of Commerce in Hungary and at an Embassy reception for contacts from parliament, government and civil society.

Looking back on the year, it was filled with great memories of activities that helped in deepening relations between Canada and Hungary. Canada is proud to have Hungary as a friend and ally, and as a trade and investment partner in Europe. We look forward to building on the past 50 years of accomplishment and working together to deepen business ties and strengthen shared values of democracy and human rights.

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2015-02-12

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Hongrie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Le Canada et la Hongrie célèbrent 50 ans des relations diplomatiques

Partagez et faite un signet


Le chandail de hockey porte les signatures des joueuses de hockey féminin des équipes nationales des moins de 18 ans du Canada et de la Hongrie et devient un symbole du partenariat entre les deux pays.
 

Les joueuses canadiennes et hongroises autographient des chandails de hockey confectionnés spécialement pour le 50e anniversaire des relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et la Hongrie.
   

La très talentueuse pianiste canadienne Lisa Yui fascine son auditoire à l’Ambassade du Canada à Budapest, célébrant l’excellence canadienne et le rôle de la culture comme un pont entre les nations.
   

En célébrant les relations d’affaires canadiennes-hongroises, Frank Hasenfratz, d’origine hongroise et fondateur de la société Linamar partage ses vues sur le succès dans l’industrie automobile avec Gabor Lambert, rédacteur en chef du magazine économique hebdomadaire Figyelő.
   

L’année 2014 a marqué le 50e anniversaire des relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et la Hongrie. Canada a célébré cet anniversaire important en mettant en évidence la relation forte appréciée par nos deux pays dans un large éventail de domaines, dont les entreprises, le gouvernement, la culture et le sport. Découvrez notre galerie pour voir les photos des événements clés organisés par l’Ambassade pour marquer cet anniversaire spécial :

Travail d’équipe
En mars 2014, l’Ambassade a tenu une réception en l’honneur des équipes nationales du hockey féminin du Canada et de la Hongrie de moins de 18 qui ont participé au Championnat du monde 2014 organisé à Budapest. Ambassadrice du Canada, Mme Lisa Helfand a fait l’éloge du travail d’équipe, un ingrédient essentiel du succès aussi bien dans les sports que dans la diplomatie. Les membres de la communauté canadienne locale et les partisans de l’Ambassade étaient fiers de voir l’équipe nationale du Canada sortir victorieuse au Championnat du monde de Budapest. L’Ambassadrice Helfand a remis les médailles d’or aux joueuses canadiennes, ce qui a donné une nouvelle occasion de célébrer l’excellence canadienne et le lien que nous partageons avec la Hongrie.

Excellence
En mai 2014, l’ambassade a reçu à Budapest la remarquablement talentueuse pianiste canadienne Lisa Yui dans le cadre d’une série d’activités visant à célébrer les 50 années de réussite dans les relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et la Hongrie. Le récital de piano présenté par Lisa Yui, dont les compositions du Hongrois Franz Liszt et du Canadien François Morel, a été apprécié par une salle comble à l’ambassade, et a donné l’occasion de célébrer l’excellence canadienne. L’événement a également servi d’occasion utile pour renforcer les relations avec des dirigeants gouvernementaux et d’affaires.

Prospérité
En septembre 2014, l’ambassade du Canada à Budapest a présenté une histoire remarquable de la réussite d’entreprise démontrant la profondeur et l’étendue des relations économiques entre le Canada et la Hongrie. Frank Hasenfratz, d’origine hongroise et fondateur de la société Linamar, le deuxième plus grand fabricant de pièces d’automobile au Canada, était le conférencier principal lors de la présentation, à l’ambassade, de sa propre biographie, « Driven to Succeed » ou « Déterminé à réussir », écrite par deux auteurs canadiens de renom. Lors de cette présentation, M. Hasenfratz a décrit comment il était arrivé au Canada en 1956 comme un réfugié sans le sou, et a réussi à convertir une petite entreprise de fabrication installée dans son sous-sol en une entreprise globale, avec un chiffre d’affaires de 3,6 milliards de dollars réalisé en 2013. Linamar compte aujourd’hui 15 000 employés dans huit pays avec 44 sites de production, et a des investissements importants en Hongrie depuis 1991. Braquer les projecteurs sur cette histoire de réussite a fait prendre conscience de l’importance des relations commerciales entre le Canada et la Hongrie et de l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) conclu entre le Canada et l’UE en mettant en lumière les bénéfices mutuels des relations commerciales et d’investissement existantes entre les deux pays.

Coopération
En octobre 2014, une visite de haut profil a couronné les efforts entrepris pour marquer le 50e anniversaire des relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et la Hongrie. L’honorable Noël Kinsella, Président du Sénat du Canada a dirigé une délégation parlementaire qui s’est rendue en Hongrie pour rencontrer des hauts fonctionnaires hongrois au Parlement, des membres du gouvernement, ainsi que des chefs d’entreprise et des membres de la société civile. Après le sommet Canada–UE du 26 septembre 2014, la visite du Président était une occasion importante et opportune pour renforcer le soutien pour l’AECG et pour approfondir davantage les relations entre les deux pays. Le message du Président a été reçu avec enthousiasme, notamment lors d’un dîner organisé par la Chambre de commerce du Canada en Hongrie et lors d’une réception organisée à l’ambassade pour les contacts parlementaires, gouvernementaux et de la société civile.

En regardant en arrière sur l’année, elle a été remplie de remarquables moments d’activité qui ont tous contribué à l’approfondissement des relations entre le Canada et la Hongrie. Le Canada est fier de compter la Hongrie parmi ses amis et alliés, et parmi ses partenaires commerciaux et d’investissement en Europe. Nous sommes impatients de continuer à bâtir sur les réussites des 50 dernières années et de travailler ensemble pour approfondir les liens d’affaires et renforcer les valeurs communes de la démocratie et des droits humains.

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2015-02-12