Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Hungary.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Canada promotes reconciliation in Bosnia and Herzegovina

Bookmark and Share


Canada’s promotion of reconciliation and religious freedom was well-received by the local audience in Bosnia and Herzegovina.
   

Panelists engage in stimulating discussion on the need for interreligious dialogue for peacebuilding in the Balkans. From left to right: Prof. Ismet Bušatlić, Prof. Ahmet Alibašić, Prof. Enes Karić, Prof. Mato Zovkić, Ina Merdjanova, and Patrice Brodeur.
   

In his presentation, Canadian academic Patrice Brodeur called for recognition of the importance of dialogue, including interreligious and worldview dialogues.
   

Archpriest Darko Đogo (Dean of the Faculty of Orthodox Theology in Foča), Ina Merdjanova (Senior Researcher at Trinity College Dublin, Ireland) and Patrice Brodeur discuss inter-religious dialogue for peacebuilding.
   

Canada has long been involved in supporting peace, prosperity and good governance in Bosnia and Herzegovina.  Although significant progress has been made towards reconciliation, the country remains divided along ethnic and religious lines even two decades after the end of civil war.

As part of Canada’s commitment to religious freedom and tolerance, the Embassy of Canada to Hungary, Slovenia, and Bosnia and Herzegovina partnered with local academic institutions to host a three-day forum on inter-ethnic reconciliation. The program featured Canadian scholar Patrice Brodeur, who discussed the theme of Inter-religious Dialogue for Peacebuilding in the Balkans.

Dialogue for Peace

The theme “inter-religious dialogue for peacebuilding” refers to discussions between members of different ethnic or religious communities. Through constructive dialogue, these communities can address common problems, bridge inter-communal divides, and build relationships of mutual understanding and acceptance.

In Bosnia and Herzegovina, deep social divides tend to be passed down from generation to generation through social norms, ethnic identities, and a segregated education system. Inter-religious dialogue for peacebuilding can help end the pattern of ethnic and religious grievances in Bosnia and Herzegovina by promoting tolerance and reconciliation between communities.

Inter-Religious Dialogue in the Balkans

The Embassy, with support from local academic institutions, delivered a comprehensive three-day program in Sarajevo and Foca. These cities are home to important institutions of major religious groups, including Islamic, Catholic and Orthodox churches. The program was full and provided an important opportunity to highlight the benefits of inter-religious dialogue and several policy recommendations for engagement with religious communities.

Ultimately, dialogue is a way of life,” explains Patrice Brodeur. Brodeur is the Research Chair on Islam, Pluralism, and Globalization at the University of Montreal, and Director of Research at the KAICIID Dialogue Centre in Vienna.

In a panel discussion at the Faculty of Islamic Studies at the University of Sarajevo, Patrice Brodeur presented his research in the field of inter-religious dialogue for peacebuilding. His presentation to the panel and the audience of students, academics and media representatives, called for recognition of the importance of dialogue, including inter-religious and worldview dialogues.

The forum’s schedule also included a visit to Foca, home to the Orthodox Theological Seminary, in the Repubilka Srpska. In Foca, Brodeur engaged with students and professors in an in-depth discussion about the benefits of inter-religious dialogue for peacebuilding in the region.

Embracing mutual respect and acceptance is an essential component of a peaceful society. Canada will continue to work in partnership with Bosnia and Herzegovina and the international community to help build lasting ethnic and religious peace in the country.

Footer

Date Modified:
2015-07-16

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Hongrie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Le Canada favorise la réconciliation en Bosnie-Herzégovine

Partagez et faite un signet


Le public local de la Bosnie-Herzégovine a accueilli favorablement les efforts de promotion de la réconciliation et de la liberté de religion du Canada.
   

Des experts ont participé à des discussions stimulantes sur la nécessité du dialogue interreligieux pour la consolidation de la paix dans les Balkans. De gauche à droite : Prof. Ismet Bušatlić, Prof. Ahmet Alibašić, Prof. Enes Karić, Prof. Mato Zovkić, Ina Merdjanova et Patrice Brodeur.
   

Dans sa présentation, l’universitaire canadien Patrice Brodeur réclamait la reconnaissance de l’importance du dialogue, y compris des dialogues interreligieux et des dialogues axés sur les différentes visions du monde.
   

L’archiprêtre Darko Đogo (doyen de la Faculté de théologie orthodoxe à Foča), Ina Merdjanova (chercheuse principale au Trinity College, à Dublin, en Irlande) et Patrice Brodeur discutent du dialogue interreligieux pour la consolidation de la paix.
   

Le Canada s’attache depuis longtemps à favoriser la paix, la prospérité et la bonne gouvernance en Bosnie-Herzégovine. Bien que d’importants progrès aient été réalisés en matière de réconciliation, le pays demeure divisé par des clivages ethniques et religieux qui persistent malgré les vingtaines d’années qui se sont écoulées depuis la fin de la guerre civile.

Dans le cadre de l’engagement du Canada envers la liberté de religion et la tolérance, l’Ambassade du Canada en Hongrie, en Slovénie et en Bosnie-Herzégovine s’est associée à des institutions universitaires locales pour tenir un forum de trois jours sur la réconciliation interethnique. Le programme comprenait une présentation d’un chercheur canadien, Patrice Brodeur, qui a abordé le thème du dialogue interreligieux pour la consolidation de la paix dans les Balkans.

Dialogue pour la paix

Le thème du dialogue interreligieux pour la consolidation de la paix se définit par des discussions tenues entre des membres de différentes communautés ethniques et religieuses. Par l’entremise d’un dialogue constructif, ces communautés peuvent parvenir à résoudre des problèmes communs, à combler les clivages intercommunautaires et à établir des relations de compréhension et d’acceptation mutuelles.

En Bosnie-Herzégovine, les profondes divisions sociales ont tendance à se transmettre de génération à génération par le biais de normes sociales, d’identités ethniques et d’un système scolaire caractérisé par la ségrégation. Un dialogue interreligieux pour la consolidation de la paix qui fait la promotion de la tolérance et de la réconciliation entre les communautés peut aider à mettre fin aux griefs religieux et ethniques qui perdurent en Bosnie-Herzégovine.

Dialogue interreligieux dans les Balkans

L’Ambassade, avec l’appui des institutions universitaires locales, a offert un programme exhaustif de trois jours à Sarajevo et Foca, où se trouvent d’importants établissements de grands groupes religieux, notamment des mosquées, des églises catholiques et des églises orthodoxes. Le programme a connu une grande participation et a constitué une excellente occasion de mettre en évidence les avantages du dialogue interreligieux et des recommandations stratégiques sur le dialogue avec les communautés religieuses.  

« Au bout du compte, le dialogue est un mode de vie », explique Patrice Brodeur. M. Brodeur est titulaire de la Chaire de recherche sur l’Islam, le pluralisme et la globalisation à l’Université de Montréal, et directeur de recherche au KAICIID Dialogue Centre à Vienne.

Lors d’une discussion entre experts tenue à la Faculté des études islamiques de l’Université de Sarajevo, Patrice Brodeur a présenté sa recherche sur le terrain liée au dialogue interreligieux pour la consolidation de la paix. Sa présentation aux experts et au public composé d’étudiants, d’universitaires et de représentants des médias réclamait la reconnaissance de l’importance du dialogue, y compris des dialogues interreligieux et des dialogues axés sur les différentes visions du monde.

Le programme du forum comprenait également une visite à Foca, foyer du séminaire théologique orthodoxe, en Repubilka Srpska, où M. Brodeur a mené une profonde discussion avec les étudiants et les professeurs sur les avantages du dialogue interreligieux pour la consolidation de la paix dans la région.

Une société pacifique repose sur l’ouverture, la confiance mutuelle et l’acceptation. Le Canada continuera de collaborer avec la Bosnie-Herzégovine et la communauté internationale pour renforcer la paix ethnique et religieuse à long terme dans le pays.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2015-07-16