Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Hungary.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Message from the Ambassador

Ambassador Isabelle Poupart It is a great honour for me to head the Embassy of Canada to Hungary, Slovenia and Bosnia and Herzegovina, located in Budapest.

Canada has deep and historical connections with each of these three countries.  Our people-to-people linkages are at the core of our dynamic relations and serve as a foundation for our cooperation on bilateral and multilateral political issues, international trade and investment, and the promotion of shared democratic values.

Canada’s 150th anniversary, to be celebrated in 2017, offers an ideal opportunity to highlight joint achievements and the many contributions that talented Canadians with Hungarian, Slovenian and Bosnian roots have made throughout the history of our beautiful country.

During my tenure, I will seek to advance common goals, such as further developing bilateral relations, enhancing regional and world security, promoting stability in the Balkans, advancing human rights and democratic principles, and strengthening the economic bonds between our countries, including through progressive trade agreements such as CETA.

I am also committed to ensuring that my team provides quality and timely service to Canadians doing business, travelling, studying or living in Hungary, Slovenia or Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Our website outlines some of the areas in which we work, and I invite you to consult it regularly. I also invite you to follow us on Twitter to learn more about Canada’s priorities and our activities in our three countries of accreditation.

Best regards,

Isabelle Poupart
Ambassador to Hungary, Slovenia and Bosnia and Herzegovina

 

Biography - Ambassador Isabelle Poupart

Isabelle Poupart (LLB, University of Montréal, 1992; LLM [International Law], University of Montréal, 1994) joined the Quebec Bar in 1993 and worked as a lawyer prior to joining the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade in 1995. At Headquarters, she worked in the Legal Bureau and in the International Economic Relations and Summits and the Defence and Security Relations divisions. Her first assignment abroad was at the Permanent Mission of Canada to the United Nations in New York. She also worked for the Conflict Prevention Centre of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) in Vienna. She served twice at the Joint Delegation of Canada to NATO in Brussels—the second time as head of the Political Section. Upon her return to Ottawa, she worked as senior adviser to the assistant deputy minister for Global Issues, Strategic Policy and Europe. Most recently, she was ambassador and permanent representative of Canada to the OSCE. She is married to Reinhard Bettzuege, and they have a daughter.

Footer

Date Modified:
2017-03-03

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Hongrie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Message de l’Ambassadrice

Ambassadrice Isabelle Poupart C’est un grand honneur pour moi de diriger l’Ambassade du Canada en Hongrie, en Slovénie et en Bosnie-Herzégovine, située à Budapest.

Le Canada possède des relations historiques et profondes avec chacun de ces trois pays. Ce sont les liens de personne à personne qui sont au coeur de nos relations dynamiques et qui servent de fondement à notre coopération sur les questions politiques bilatérales et multilatérales, en matière de commerce et d’investissement international, et dans la promotion des valeurs démocratiques que nous partageons.

Le 150ème anniversaire du Canada, qui sera célébré en 2017, offre une occasion idéale de souligner nos réussites communes ainsi que les multiples contributions de talentueux Canadiens d’origine hongroise, slovène et bosnienne au cours de l’histoire de notre beau pays.

Pendant mon mandat, je vais promouvoir des objectifs mutuels, comme l’approfondissement des relations bilatérales, l’amélioration de la sécurité régionale et mondiale, la promotion de la stabilité dans les Balkans, le respect des droits de la personne et des principes démocratiques, et le renforcement des liens économiques entre nos pays, notamment par le biais d’accords commerciaux progressistes comme l’AECG.

Je m’engage de plus à tout mettre en œuvre pour que mon équipe fournisse des services de qualité et dans des délais raisonables aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens qui font des affaires, voyagent, travaillent ou étudient en Hongrie, en Slovénie ou en Bosnie-Herzégovine.

Notre site web couvre certains des domaines dans lesquels nous travaillons, et je vous invite à le consulter régulièrement.  Je vous invite également à nous suivre sur Twitter afin d’en apprendre d’avantage sur les priorités du Canada et sur nos activités dans nos trois pays d’accréditation.

Cordialement,

Isabelle Poupart
Ambassadrice en Hongrie, en Slovénie et en Bosnie-Herzégovine

 

Biographie - Ambassadrice Isabelle Poupart

Mme Isabelle Poupart (LL.B., Université de Montréal, 1992; LL.M. [droit international], Université de Montréal, 1994) a été admise au Barreau du Québec en 1993 et a pratiqué le droit avant d’entrer au ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international en 1995. À l’administration centrale, elle a travaillé au sein de la Direction générale des affaires juridiques, de la Direction des relations économiques internationales et des sommets et de la Direction des relations de défense et de sécurité. Mme Poupart a d’abord été affectée à l’étranger à la Mission permanente du Canada auprès des Nations Unies à New York. Elle a également travaillé pour le Centre de prévention des conflits de l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE), à Vienne. Elle a occupé des postes à deux reprises au sein de la Délégation conjointe du Canada à l’OTAN, à Bruxelles, la deuxième fois comme chef de la Section des affaires politiques. À son retour à Ottawa, Mme Poupart a été conseillère principale du sous-ministre adjoint, Enjeux mondiaux, Politique stratégique et Europe, avant d’être nommée ambassadrice et représentante permanente du Canada auprès de l’OSCE. Elle est mariée à M. Reinhard Bettzuege, et ils ont une fille.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2017-03-03