Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada


  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations

Canada-India Relations

In India, Canada is represented by the High Commission of Canada in New Delhi. Canada also has Consulates General in Bengaluru, Chandigarh and Mumbai; and trade offices in Ahmedabad, Chennai, Hyderabad and Kolkata.

India is represented in Canada by a High Commission in Ottawa, and by consulates in Toronto and Vancouver.

Canada and India have longstanding bilateral relations, built upon shared traditions of democracy, pluralism and strong interpersonal connections with an Indian diaspora of more than one million in Canada. 

Development Assistance

After 55 years of bilateral programming in India totalling C$2.39 billion, Canada’s bilateral development assistance program came to an end in 2006 following a change in Indian government policy regarding aid.   However, Global Affairs Canada continues to provide assistance to India through partnerships between Indian and Canadian NGOs and multilateral programs. In addition, the Canadian High Commission in New Delhi manages the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, to support local projects in India focusing on gender equality, human rights, and good governance.  For further details see the “Development Cooperation” link on the left hand side of this page.

Canada Fund For Local Initiatives
For over three decades, Canada has funded modest development assistance projects in developing countries through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI).  The CFLI is a program that supports small projects proposed and implemented by local NGOs and other grassroots organizations such as village councils, cooperatives and women’s groups. This enables Canada to respond to local needs by working at the community level. Equally important, the CFLI serves to strengthen Canada’s relationships with civil society and local communities and to build networks of contacts in countries around the world. The staff at the Canadian Mission look forward to working with you to implement an initiative you may have to contribute to your community’s development.

January 2013

* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.


Date Modified:

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

inde.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales

Relations Canada-Inde

En Inde, le Canada est représenté par le haut-commissariat du Canada à New Delhi. Le Canada compte également Consulats généraux à Chandigarh, Bengaluru et Mumbai; et des bureaux commerciaux à Ahmedabad, Chennai, Hyderabad et Kolkata.

L’Inde est représentée au Canada par un haut-commissariat à Ottawa et par des consulats à Toronto et Vancouver.

Le Canada et l’Inde entretiennent des relations bilatérales de longue date, lesquelles se fondent sur une tradition commune de démocratie et de pluralisme et sur de solides liens interpersonnels entre les peuples des deux pays. On compte au Canada plus d’un million de Canadiens d’origine indienne.

Aide au développement

Après 55 ans de programme bilatéral en Inde d'un total de 2,39 milliards $ CAN, le programme canadien d'assistance bilatérale au développement s'est achevé en 2006 à la suite d'un changement de la politique du gouvernement indien en ce qui concerne l'aide. Cependant, Affaires mondiales Canada continue de fournir une assistance à l'Inde par le biais de partenariats entre ONG indiennes et canadiennes et de programmes multilatéraux. De surcroît, le Haut-commissariat du Canada à New Delhi gère le Fonds canadien pour les initiatives locales, qui soutient des projets locaux en Inde centrés sur l'égalité des sexes, les droits de l'homme et la bonne gouvernance. Pour de plus amples détails, consulter le lien « Developpement Cooperation » (« Coopération pour le développement ») sur la gauche de cette page.

Fonds canadien d'initiatives locales
 
Depuis plus de trente ans, le Canada finance des projets d’aide au développement modestes dans des pays en développement par l’intermédiaire du Fonds canadien d'initiatives locales (FCIL). Le FCIL est un programme qui soutient des petits projets proposés et mis en œuvre par des ONG locales et d’autres organismes communautaires comme les conseils de village, les coopératives et les groupes de femmes. Il permet au Canada de répondre aux besoins locaux en travaillant au niveau communautaire. Fait tout aussi important, le FCIL permet de renforcer les relations du Canada avec la société civile et les collectivités locales et de créer des réseaux de contacts partout dans le monde. Le personnel de la mission canadienne se réjouit à l’idée de travailler avec vous à mettre en place une initiative à laquelle vous devrez peut-être participer dans le cadre du développement de votre collectivité.

Janvier 2013


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-03-24