Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

india.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Saving Childhood: Supporting Child marriage prevention in India

Bookmark and Share

Canadian Deputy High Commissioner Jess Dutton and panel speakers at the Canada-India Seminar on preventing CEFM.
 

Deputy High Commissioner Dutton highlights Canada’s commitment to ending CEFM.
   

Lighting a candle for hope in the movement against CEFM.
   

Child, early and forced marriage (CEFM) deprives young girls of their potential, often by affecting their health and disrupting their education, forcing them to a life of poverty.

Canada believes that the protection and empowerment of women and girls is essential for peaceful, prosperous and stable societies. This is why Canada has made preventing CEFM a priority around the world.

As part of Canada’s commitment to end CEFM, the High Commission of Canada in India organized a seminar on CEFM prevention in association with the Indian non-governmental organization, Jagran Pehel, and the Patna Women’s College. The seminar took place in Bihar, a province in India, currently dealing with the issue.

Childhood not marriage

The High Commission’s seminar provided an important platform to help ensure that girls get the recognition they deserve as equal and powerful actors in society by raising awareness about the practice of CEFM.

The seminar’s panelists focused on mobilizing support towards ending CEFM by stressing, notably, the importance of empowering women economically as a means of shaping a more egalitarian society.

Notable speakers included Ms. Nisha Jha and Dr. Arun Verma from the Bihar Commission for Protection of Child Rights; Dr. N. Vijaya Lakshmi, from the Bihar Rural Livelihood Promotion Society; and Ms. Anjum Ara, from the Bihar State Women Commission.


Over 200 women & girls participated in the seminar.
 

In his panel address, Canadian Deputy High Commissioner Jess Dutton underscored the importance of global participation in the movement against CEFM.  He said, “although collaboration between governments can attract attention and allocate resources to an issue, I believe that the potential for achieving the goal of equality for all resides with individuals.

In an effort to end this practice, Canada is working is engaging with several government and non-government partners in India to strengthen efforts in dealing with the issue and to carving out a new and brighter future for girls and women. 

Read and share more stories about Canada’s activities around the world - follow Eyes Abroad.

Footer

Date Modified:
2015-11-16

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

inde.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Sauver l’enfance en soutenant la prévention des mariages d’enfants en Inde

Bookmark and Share

Le haut-commissaire adjoint du Canada Jess Dutton et des intervenants du groupe d’experts lors du séminaire canado-indien sur la prévention des MEPF.
 

Le haut-commissaire adjoint Dutton souligne l’engagement du Canada pour mettre fin aux MEPF.
   

Une bougie est allumée en signe d’espoir suscité par le mouvement contre les MEPF.
   

Les mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés (MEPF) dépossèdent les jeunes filles de leur potentiel, nuisent souvent à leur santé, interrompent leurs études et les forcent à vivre dans la pauvreté.

Convaincu que la protection et l’autonomisation des femmes et des filles sont des éléments essentiels à des sociétés pacifiques, prospères et stables, le Canada érige la prévention des MEPF au rang de priorité partout dans le monde.

Dans le cadre de cet engagement visant à mettre fin aux MEPF, le Haut-commissariat du Canada en Inde a organisé un séminaire sur la prévention des MEPF avec la collaboration d’organismes non gouvernementaux, Jagran Pehel et le Patna Women’s College. Le séminaire a eu lieu à Bihar, une province qui lutte contre ce problème à l’heure actuelle.

L’enfance, pas le mariage

En faisant mieux connaître la pratique des MEPF, le séminaire du Haut-commissariat a offert une tribune importante afin d’aider les filles à obtenir la reconnaissance qu’elles méritent pour le rôle considérable qu’elles jouent dans la société, au même titre que les hommes.

Les participants au séminaire ont insisté sur la mobilisation du soutien pour mettre fin aux MEPF en soulignant notamment l’importance d’autonomiser les femmes d’un point de vue économique comme moyen de façonner une société plus égalitaire.

Les intervenants de premier plan comprenaient notamment Mme Nisha Jha  et le Dr Arun Verma de la Bihar Commission for Protection of Child Rights, le Dr N. Vijaya Lakshmi de la Bihar Rural Livelihood Promotion Society et Mme Anjum Ara  de la Bihar State Women Commission.


Plus de 200 filles et femmes ont participé au séminaire.
 

Dans son discours au groupe d’experts, le haut-commissaire adjoint du Canada Jess Dutton a souligné l’importance d’une participation internationale au mouvement de lutte contre les MEPF.  « Bien que la collaboration entre les gouvernements puisse attirer l’attention et permettre d’affecter des ressources pour la résolution d’un problème, je crois que le potentiel nécessaire pour atteindre l’objectif d’égalité repose entre les mains de chaque personne », a-t-il déclaré.

En vue de mettre fin à cette pratique, le Canada travaille en collaboration avec plusieurs partenaires gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux de l’Inde afin d’ accroître les efforts déployés pour résoudre le problème et pour bâtir un avenir plus brillant pour les filles et les femmes. 

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2015-11-16