Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

india.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Indian food channel features delectable Canadian cuisine

Ms. Bhatnagar and High Commissioner Beck on the set of Big Boss Brunch
The show’s wine tasting featured a delectable Pinot Noir.
   
Filming an episode of Big Boss Brunch
The High Commission of Canada to India recently collaborated with FoodFood TV
   
Cooking ingredients displayed on a table
The episode featured a variety of Canadian food products
   

FoodFood TV is the most delicious network in India, a 24-hour speciality channel that focuses exclusively on food. With the help of the High Commission of Canada, FoodFood viewers got a taste of Canadian cuisine that they won’t soon forget!

The High Commission of Canada to India recently collaborated with FoodFood TV, in a unique initiative featuring Canadian food—and a certain Canadian High Commissioner —on Big Boss Brunch, with host Deepti Bhatnagar.  

Ms. Bhatnagar is a popular Indian actress, model and former Miss India 1990. In addition to hosting Big Boss Brunch, Ms. Bhatnagar also writes for several consumer magazines including women’s interest publications on food, wine and travel.

During this episode of Big Boss Brunch, High Commissioner Stewart Beck conducted a Canadian wine tasting session with Ms. Bhatnagar, and also cooked up a barbeque with recipes featuring Canadian ingredients.

The barbeque menu featured maple grilled salmon, a selection of salads with pulse, lentils and flax seed, black bean veggie burgers, and the High Commissioner’s signature soy marinated chicken. Ending on a sweet note, the show showcased maple chocolate truffles for dessert. The wine tasting featured a delectable selection of ice wine and Pinot Noir.

In addition to taking a look at the many health benefits of various Canadian products, Ms. Bhatnagar and High Commissioner Beck discussed the suitability of canola oil for Indian cooking. Did you know that Canada is the largest source of imports for India for the pulses used to make dhal, which is a staple of the Indian diet? Big Boss Brunch shares knowledge just as readily as recipes!

The FoodFood channel is owned by popular Indian chef-entrepreneur Sanjeev Kapoor and Malaysia’s Astro All Asia Networks. Big Boss Brunch made the first foray into Canadian cuisine, but more delicious collaborations are in store.  

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-07-25

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

inde.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Une chaîne de cuisine indienne présente les délices de la cuisine canadienne

Mme Bhatnagar et le haut-commissaire Beck sur le plateau de l’émission Big Boss Brunch
Délicieux pinot noir présenté lors de la dégustation de vins à l’émission.
   
Tournage d’un épisode de l’émission Big Boss Brunch
Le haut-commissaire du Canada en Inde a récemment collaboré avec FoodFood TV
   
Ingrédients présentés sur la table
L’émission présentait une grande variété de produits alimentaires canadiens
   

FoodFood TV est la chaîne de télévision la plus délectable en Inde. En effet, cette chaîne spécialisée en continu est exclusivement consacrée à la nourriture. Avec l’aide du Haut-commissariat du Canada, les spectateurs de FoodFood ont eu un avant-goût de la cuisine canadienne qu’ils ne sont pas près d’oublier!

Le Haut-commissariat du Canada en Inde a récemment collaboré avec FoodFood TV dans le cadre d’une initiative unique visant à faire connaître la cuisine canadienne – avec l’aide d’un certain haut-commissaire canadien – à l’émission Big Boss Brunch animée par Deepti Bhatnagar.

Mme Bhatnagar est une actrice et une mannequin populaire en Inde qui a également été sacrée Miss Inde 1990. En plus d’animer l’émission Big Boss Brunch, Mme Bhatnagar écrit aussi pour plusieurs magazines d’intérêt général, y compris pour des publications féminines consacrées à la cuisine, au vin et aux voyages.

Dans le cadre de cet épisode de l’émission Big Boss Brunch, le haut-commissaire Stewart Beck a animé une séance de dégustation de vins avec Mme Bhatnagar et a également cuisiné sur barbecue des recettes composées de plusieurs ingrédients canadiens.

Le menu proposait un saumon grillé à l’érable, une sélection de salades de légumineuses, de lentilles et de graines de
lin, des hamburgers végétariens aux haricots noirs ainsi que la spécialité du haut-commissaire, le poulet mariné à la sauce soja. Pour terminer sur une note sucrée, l’émission a présenté en dessert des truffes au chocolat à l’érable. La dégustation de vins proposait une délicieuse sélection de vins de glace et de pinot noir.

En plus d’expliquer les nombreux avantages pour la santé des différents produits canadiens, Mme Bhatnagar et le haut-commissaire Beck ont discuté de la pertinence de l’huile de colza dans la cuisine indienne. Saviez-vous que le Canada est la principale source d’importation en Inde de légumineuses utilisées pour préparer le dhal, lequel constitue l’une des bases du régime indien? L’émission Big Boss Brunch partage ses connaissances aussi facilement que ses recettes!

La chaîne FoodFood appartient à Sanjeev Kapoor, populaire chef entrepreneur indien, et à l’entreprise malaisienne Astro All Asia Networks. Big Boss Brunch a effectué une première incursion dans la cuisine canadienne et prévoit d’autres délicieuses collaborations.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-07-25